Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

22 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Giant Steps Children's Center 5

Posted August 18, 2014
- a community member
Giant Steps is an absolutely marvelous school! Teachers are sweet to the children, but will be firm when needed . Students come out as great learned ready for the big campus of elementary school! The teachers are sweet and take time to talk to the parents! The little thing children get in trouble for will soon turn to big situations if children aren't addressed appropriately! That's why the teachers address it to the kiddos and the parents so they can learn from it! I don't get why there are bad reviews. I use to be a student here and everything was fabulous! I am going to send my kids to this school for sure! ~An old student

Giant Steps Children's Center 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
I'm the parent who posted a review on sept 24 2013 and meant to put a 5 star. My daughters been there for almost 4 years and I couldn't be any happier with the attention my daughter and son recive!


Giant Steps Children's Center 1

Posted June 03, 2013
- a teacher
worst school possible because of the teacher turnover and the children dont even get acknolwledged by the staff

Giant Steps Children's Center 1

Posted May 29, 2012
- a parent
This school has the worst staff and director that do not know how to treat children i found one of the teachers pulling on my son hand almost draging him to the floor. They don't pay attention to them.Teachers here tend to complaint about the smallest issues. i think they forget that parent pay for them to take care of their children. Some of their punishments to the children is unethical. They don't give the parents any credit for educating the child. In addition they are very negative when it comes to child and parent raising them.PLEASE DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS CENTER

Giant Steps Children's Center 1

Posted May 29, 2012
- a parent
I do not recommend anyone to take their children to this school.They sit the students in time-out for an extensive amount of time. i was constantly getting called in the directors office for lame excuses that my child wasn't listening he's 3 yr what do they expect. this place was like BABY BOOT CAMP. we had a horrible experiece.:0( :0( the worst staff and director. the teachers just want easy $$$$ they do not put any attention to the kids.


Giant Steps Children's Center 1

Posted December 07, 2011
- a parent
I do not recommend anyone to take their children to this school. This school has the worst staff and director that do not know how to treat children. They don't pay attention to them. Last week I was observing them for half an hour and all the staff did was stand around and talk to each other and was expecting the children to behave while they had their conversation. I also obseved them during supper time and they were serving them water instead of juice or milk. This is a horrible school to take your children to.

Giant Steps Children's Center 1

Posted November 02, 2011
- a community member
I do NOT recommend you bring your child to this school. There are only 2 good teacher's at that school , the rest of them are just there for nothing , my child always gets a green card , YET they complain " oh he was doing bad but once I put him/her in time out he/she behaved very well ". I was in the observation room the other time and all I saw was a child who didnt do anything that bad , was pulled by the arm and sat in a chair . Whats wrong with that is , the teacher USED FORCE on the child , the children there are very nice & loyal . I JUST DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL FOR YOUR CHILD !

Giant Steps Children's Center 1

Posted July 28, 2011
- a parent
Teachers here tend to complaint about the smallest issues. i think they forget that parent pay for them to take care of their children. Some of their punishments to the children is unethical. They don't give the parents any credit for educating the child. In addition they are very negative when it comes to child and parent raising them.


Giant Steps Children's Center 5

Posted February 10, 2011
- a parent
I am an educator and I needed to write this review. I do not work for Giant Steps. This is a great school. They are doing everything right instructionally. The phonological foundation they are creating is developmentally appropriate and is necessary for future reading skills. My child loves this school, he races in each day. I have dropped by at different times and observed unannounced from the observation rooms they have in every classroom. My child behaves each day and gets a green card, however, I have heard them correct his behavior and that of others on the play ground they are firm, and fair. I have reccommended this school to all of my friends for theri preschoolers. They provide an excellent environment. They are affordable and that is just a bonus, I would pay twice the fee if I had to to keep my child at this school. Thank you Giant Steps.

Giant Steps Children's Center 5

Posted June 15, 2010
- a parent
I normally don't post reviews but I just had to. Our Family has had a wonderful school experience at Giant Steps. I would like to thank the director and staff for taking care of our children, teaching them so much and helping them become strong and caring individuals. ... Director JIM is a very good person. He showed many children discipline including my 4 year old thats getting ready for Kindergarten. School staff are all very concerned about childrens well-being and safety.Academics are excellent and staff is attentive and very helpful to children.The teachers teach more than a curriculum at this school. Very clean and they show you step by step on what they do for the children. I am very happy with this school and will be enrolling my 1 year old as soon as he turns 2! GREAT!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Giant Steps Children's Center
6951 Obispo Avenue, Long Beach, CA  90805
(562) 633-5700
Last modified Giant Steps Children's Center is a Private school that serves grade K
Giant Steps Children's Center Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top