Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
285 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Barnabas Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
I would like to thank my son's first grade teacher, Miss E. I could not have asked for a better teacher for my son. She ensures that the kids have a wonderful experience in all that they do, while remaining their teacher. She is kind, she is smart and above all, she is enthusiastic about teaching!

St. Barnabas Elementary School 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
St. Barnabas is the best choice I have ever made for my boys! The school has a family feel to it. The staff is wonderful and really do care about the kids! The principal is enthusiastic, dedicated and always has time for you! All in all, it is a wonderful school!


St. Barnabas Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
My daughters LOVE St. Barnabas School and all that it offers them. We are so happy they will be students there for 9 years and are grateful for the wonderful foundation they provide.

St. Barnabas Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
St. Barnabas School is a wonderful community of teachers and leaders. The students are academically challenged and giving the opportunity and tools to become better citizens. As a faith based school, all the kids are expected to support and contribute to the well being of their fellow students.

St. Barnabas Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
Mrs Kellam, the Principal, does an amazing job. She makes everybody feel welcome especially the children. As a parent, I feel grateful for all that she does for the school, her dedication and enthusiasm is what characterizes her. I also feel thankful for teaching the kids the faith and to be great in all that they do.


St. Barnabas Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
Great school and faith oriented. One of my kids graduated from this school and had a wonderful experience. My other kid is still attending and feels happy to be surrounded of good friends. The teachers are great and dedicated. The principal does an amazing job.

St. Barnabas Elementary School 5

Posted June 27, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school and well worth it!! Three of my four children graduated St. Barnabas School with one more child still there. If parents care about their kids, then this school fosters that environment. If you do your research you will find that the tuition is comparable to many other Catholic Schools in the area.The service hours are very reasonable with several options on how to fulfill just 30 hours during the entire school year. Since this school is a non-profit there are community building events that raise the funds to offset costs. My children have been involved in the sports programs, altar serving, lectoring at mass, dance, drama, BeeNetwork News, and the Jr High Academic Decathlon in Los Angeles in which we competed one year against 100 Catholic schools and Placed 1st in Science, 6th in Literature, 10th in Religion! Many of these students have gone on to St. John Bosco, St. Josephs, Loyola, Rosary, St. Anthony, Mater Dei,CAMS, and Poly Pace/CIC, just to name a few. The academic excellence along with the meaningful spiritual education at St. Barnabas School is a testament to the wonderful teachers and staff lead by a dynamic principal who inspires us all! Thank you!!

St. Barnabas Elementary School 1

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
This school is not worth it.The required service hours have separate activities you must work or else u pay.The overpriced Barnafest & the Overly priced auction/dinner/play which is the Spring event.Academically,I do not think this school is worth the money & the extra hours of hard work you are going to give.Because the teachers are not going to get out of their way &out of their job descriptions to help those students who are having a hard time,it will not happen unless you pay them.Academic competitions and their graduates acceptance to good highschool programs will prove this point.Facilitywise,their library was operated by a volunteer parent who came regularly every week,whose child has already graduated.so, they have no librarian who is there on a weekly basis.The computer room relies also on volunteer parents.Safety wise,I have realised that this school relies heavily on parents who have the time to watch these kids.This school seemed to be a never ending fundraising.The PTA is there to shoulder the school & the parish burden &push/encourage the parents to give, give, &give some more.This school charges so much more than other Catholic schools,&I find that it is NOTworth it.


St. Barnabas Elementary School 5

Posted June 14, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school, both of my daughters are currently attending (one in 4th grade and my youngest in the new transitional Kinder program). The faculty are caring and dedicated and has a strong parent involvement and community. Academically, they challenge your child to learn more than what textbooks now days teach you, i also like how they integrated the Meet The Master Artist program and their music program teaching students a variety of artist/musicians from Michael Jackson, Queen, The Beatles to Mozart to name of few. It's a small school with a strong family feeling and would highly recommend this school if you are looking for an alternative to public schools.

St. Barnabas Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2013
- a parent
Fantastic school! Teachers are truly genuine and care very deeply about your child, both academically and socially. It has been a great fit for both of my children. Teachers are able to teach to the various needs of the class. Highly supportive staff and administration. Your needs and concerns will be addressed immediately. They have a computer lab that the students use more than 2x a week, a library, an art program, p.e weekly and music in the classroom. Small school with a wonderful family feeling!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Barnabas Elementary School
3980 North Marron Avenue, Long Beach, CA  90807
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (562) 424-7476
Last modified St. Barnabas Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top