Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Barnabas Elementary School 5

Posted June 27, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school and well worth it!! Three of my four children graduated St. Barnabas School with one more child still there. If parents care about their kids, then this school fosters that environment. If you do your research you will find that the tuition is comparable to many other Catholic Schools in the area.The service hours are very reasonable with several options on how to fulfill just 30 hours during the entire school year. Since this school is a non-profit there are community building events that raise the funds to offset costs. My children have been involved in the sports programs, altar serving, lectoring at mass, dance, drama, BeeNetwork News, and the Jr High Academic Decathlon in Los Angeles in which we competed one year against 100 Catholic schools and Placed 1st in Science, 6th in Literature, 10th in Religion! Many of these students have gone on to St. John Bosco, St. Josephs, Loyola, Rosary, St. Anthony, Mater Dei,CAMS, and Poly Pace/CIC, just to name a few. The academic excellence along with the meaningful spiritual education at St. Barnabas School is a testament to the wonderful teachers and staff lead by a dynamic principal who inspires us all! Thank you!!

St. Barnabas Elementary School 1

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
This school is not worth it.The required service hours have separate activities you must work or else u pay.The overpriced Barnafest & the Overly priced auction/dinner/play which is the Spring event.Academically,I do not think this school is worth the money & the extra hours of hard work you are going to give.Because the teachers are not going to get out of their way &out of their job descriptions to help those students who are having a hard time,it will not happen unless you pay them.Academic competitions and their graduates acceptance to good highschool programs will prove this point.Facilitywise,their library was operated by a volunteer parent who came regularly every week,whose child has already graduated.so, they have no librarian who is there on a weekly basis.The computer room relies also on volunteer parents.Safety wise,I have realised that this school relies heavily on parents who have the time to watch these kids.This school seemed to be a never ending fundraising.The PTA is there to shoulder the school & the parish burden &push/encourage the parents to give, give, &give some more.This school charges so much more than other Catholic schools,&I find that it is NOTworth it.


St. Barnabas Elementary School 5

Posted June 14, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school, both of my daughters are currently attending (one in 4th grade and my youngest in the new transitional Kinder program). The faculty are caring and dedicated and has a strong parent involvement and community. Academically, they challenge your child to learn more than what textbooks now days teach you, i also like how they integrated the Meet The Master Artist program and their music program teaching students a variety of artist/musicians from Michael Jackson, Queen, The Beatles to Mozart to name of few. It's a small school with a strong family feeling and would highly recommend this school if you are looking for an alternative to public schools.

St. Barnabas Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2013
- a parent
Fantastic school! Teachers are truly genuine and care very deeply about your child, both academically and socially. It has been a great fit for both of my children. Teachers are able to teach to the various needs of the class. Highly supportive staff and administration. Your needs and concerns will be addressed immediately. They have a computer lab that the students use more than 2x a week, a library, an art program, p.e weekly and music in the classroom. Small school with a wonderful family feeling!

St. Barnabas Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2013
- a parent
St. Barnabas has been a great fit for my kids and for our family as a whole. The combined focus on academic performance and social development has had a very positive impact on my kids (who are in Kindergarten and 2nd Grade). We've also found a community of caring and involved parents who really go the extra mile to help out the school. One of the things that is surprising for such a small school is that there are so many enrichment activities. In addition to dance, sports and boy/girl scouts, there is also a robotics club, Academic Decathlon, a school 'news' show that is produced internally and after school Spanish classes. If you are looking for an alternative to the local public schools it is well worth looking at St. Barnabas.


St. Barnabas Elementary School 4

Posted August 21, 2012
- a community member
I attended St. Barnabas from 2003-2006 for junior high. It is a great school and the perfect environment for a new student to be in, I had just moved to Long Beach in 6th grade and with in my first few weeks at St. Barnabas I made life long friends. The teachers were excellent! They really payed attention to the things I excelled and struggled with. The only improvement 9and they may have changed this already) that I could recommend is altering their uniform policy. They used to make us buy our uniforms form Normans, Normas is not only exspensive, but it's material is very uncomfortable. Most schools that require a uniform dont care where you buy the uniform from, as long as it has the school logo on it and are the right colors. Other than that I would recommend St. Barnabas to anyone new to the Long Beach area with a 5th-8th grader.

St. Barnabas Elementary School 5

Posted June 06, 2010
- a parent
What an excellent school our daughter is part of. Thank you for making every effort possible to excel children for a positive and prosperous children future by providing excellent teachers and support staff network in the school.

St. Barnabas Elementary School 4

Posted March 01, 2010
- a student
i just went to this school this year in 7th grade.it's a good school for the most part. the teachers are awesome and the students are so nice and welcoming if your new. although it could use a little improvment on communication between the school and parents.


St. Barnabas Elementary School 5

Posted January 28, 2009
- a community member
I love this school, and everyone there cares about each other. Very very nice there.

St. Barnabas Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Barnabas Elementary School
3980 North Marron Avenue, Long Beach, CA  90807
(562) 424-7476
Last modified St. Barnabas Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Barnabas Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top