Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dooley Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2014

This is my son's 3rd year at Dooley elementary. He is in the excel program this year, and I have been less than pleased. Although many of my issues are with state budget cuts I feel the school could to a bit more to ease us through this difficult time. We need to get parents involved and have better communication between families, students and teachers. The office staff is less than helpful, never able to answer a question such as an email address request and many other simple inquiries. In understand that this school is located in an economically disadvantaged area, and often encounter inappropriate behavior. All the more reason to ensure teachers and staff our on their A game. Needless to say, we are moving in the next two months and I couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

I transferred my child out of Dooley Elementary after making several attempts to contact the Principal Ms.Childs about a abusive teacher. When I finally got the opportunity to share my concerns with Ms. Childs she dismissed my concerns and flat out said "there's nothing I can do for you". I am a very present parent, volunteering every chance I can get, and over the years I have seen some very questionable behavior from both the teachers and upper staff at Dooley Elementary. Frankly, all the teachers and upper staff need to be carefully reevaluated both professionally and mentally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

I HAVE TWO KIDS IN THIS SCHOOL.AM BY FAR BEYOND DISAPPOINTED. THE FRONT OFFICE ARE VERY RUDE AND THE PRINCIPLE IS ALSO DISCRIMINATORY..SMH..THINKING OF TRANSFERRING MY KIDS TO ANOTHER SCHOOL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

whoever does the shcool schedule has no common sence! I have a son that starts at 9:00 am . then I get to come back at 10:30 to drop off my Daughter at 10:45 for her class then I get to wait at the school for an extra half hour to pick up my son !! great schedule if you have no job!! oh yeah this year my son in the 5th grade gets to share his class and teacher time with 4th graders!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My children are in the excel program and they have had really great teachers. The teachers are always helpful and they always make time to talk with me.The office people are rude and we tell the principal he doesn't do anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

Office staff is very unfriendly , rude , unprofessional and lazy. I try to avoid going or calling the office if I need any information I have to ask or call the teacher directly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

My son is in third grade and has been attending since kindergarten. He has always had wonderful teachers, and the principal is wonderful, providing great direction for the school. I appreciate that the homework enhancing their classroom instruction but is not unnecessarily rigorous. I wish they would keep their website updated though, it would help because often flyers don't make it home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2013

I have first grade excel student. This is our second year at dooley and I feel that he has learned and mature a lot. I really like his teacher she is very dedicated and is always available to talked to parents. I feel that many parents expect the school to do all the teaching but I strongly believe that parents should get involved in their kids education as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2012

my son just came into this school about week ago, He came from jane adams, since he started this school i began to notice how little the homework was here at dooley compared to jane addams the other day my son came home with 10 spelling words that he had to write 5 times each and read 20 min a day for his homework that was it at jane addams he was required to read 30 min a day with vocab, spelling and math facts along with a piece of reading material he had to read daily to exercise fluency i spoke to his teacher she said it was not a requirement for all that extra homework that the 10 spelling words and reading was sufficient, are they just doing the bare minimum here???
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2011

I am a parent of a K student. So far I am unhappy with the way this school runs. The schedule this year (2011-2012) is horrible. The K students didn't get any real teaching until they figured out which students needed transitional kindergarten. It took two weeks for the students to settle with their permanent teachers. I do say that my daughter's teacher is very nice and I like her. But the staff is very unfriendly, Cafeteria staff and the schedule is unorganized, and the principal does not listen to the teachers needs according to my daughters teacher. Everyday since the 1st day of school has been frustration after frustration and I am considering a district transfer or private school. This is a brand new school so that is a plus with air conditioning and new desks and rooms but that does not make up for the school staff and the school rules that are in place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

My children attended Sutter and they moved to Dooley the new school two years ago. My three children were in the EXCEL program. The teachers were great. The school is brand new and state of the art. The teachers all know how to deliver the new technology. I feel that my children are receiving an outstanding education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

802

Change from
2012 to 2013

-4

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

802

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-4

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
15%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females55%
Males46%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state45%

Math

All Students65%
Females70%
Males61%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disability67%
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner56%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate57%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students28%
Females37%
Males17%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability29%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only39%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate28%
Parent education - high school graduate22%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate28%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state23%

Math

All Students58%
Females65%
Males51%
African American52%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner43%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate52%
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)96%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females64%
Males45%
African American63%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state52%

Math

All Students73%
Females77%
Males69%
African American77%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disability46%
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner59%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate74%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females54%
Males51%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disability23%
Students with no reported disability55%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduate40%
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state50%

Math

All Students74%
Females77%
Males71%
African American71%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disability31%
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner70%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate83%
Parent education - high school graduate70%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state63%

Science

All Students36%
Females34%
Males38%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability39%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 70%
Black 16%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 2%
White 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/AN/A
English language learners 38%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Nicole Howton-Chiles
Fax number
  • (562) 428-6010

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5075 Long Beach Boulevard
Long Beach, CA 90805
Phone: (562) 428-7274

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT