Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bixby Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 576 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2014

Most of the staff members are ok, if not pretty good. We've had one stinker per kid. Things should be good this year, but the new principal! Oh My Gosh! Yeah, we want to put our kids in a different school. Its only been 3 days and, already, she ignores what you say, talks down to you, and acted like you offended her when you talk about problems about the school. We were just telling about what its like at the school, not offending her personally, She doesn't even know what the school is like. She just started. She didn't listen to anything, and just kept trying to find ways to make us feel stupid for bringing stuff up, not to talk about our real problems, or anything. It was so weird. We Googled her, and read her reviews from her past teachers that she was in charge of. It seems like they (the teachers) were treated like us. Like they didn't feel safe talking to her, she wasn't fair about discipline, and you can't trust her. We also felt like she was distracted (like thinking about something else) while we were talking to her. Pretty weird. We don't know what we want to do. The teachers are good, but if she isn't going to be fair, or blabs about what we talk about, then its not ok.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2014

Bixby is an amazing school. My son has learned so much! He is currently in the PALS program and I couldn't be happier. Communication is amazing among parents, teachers and all staff. They have an abundance of after school clubs that students can choose from. As with any school, be involved. Your school is what you make of it. Mrs. Jones sadly is leaving this year to pursue another career path and I can only hope that the new principal is just as amazing as she was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2014

I love this school!!! Both my GATE kids love this school!! This is the number one school in Long Beach Unified with heart and soul. Every school teaches your kids... We just like the friendly way Bixby does it. It is a caring , relatively small school, that get the job done. Supportive, caring, highly trained teachers that educate your child and make learning fun. Go Bixby...This is our 10th year at Bixby!! And regrettably our last. Onward Stanford.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Okay, where do I start -- With the caring teachers? The spirited staff? The awesome groundskeepers? The great students? The involved and active volunteer parents?? It's all added up to an absolutely fantastic school experience for my kids. Through the challenges of budget, staff and curriculum changes, everyone has still managed to remember the importance of teamwork. Great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

Bixby rocks! Every year we have been here it seems as though the parents get more and more involved and really pull the school community together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

I love the small community is Bixby Elementary. The teachers and staff are excellent. We have a great PTA with involved parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

Bixby School is a special place that not only values student achievement but is a true community of students, parents, teachers, and classified staff, working together to address the needs of every child.


Posted October 27, 2012

After our home school was closed our son was sent to Bixby. It has been a great experience, the community feel of this school made us feel welcome. The teachers my son has had (Stamper) and now has (Wilkerson) are excellent. The WRAP program is excellent, my son doesn't mind having to go and that takes away some of my guilt that he is at school from 8 to 5:15.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2012

First and foremost, Bixby has been a great school for both of my sons. One has moved on to Stanford and the other is in accelerated classes at Bixby and I have been very pleased with his 3rd grade teacher Mr. Yaffee. I have to admit he did not feel challenged enough but I think the instruction was adequate for his age. PARENTS reinforce what your kids are learning at school at home and PARTICIPATE in the PTA. This is where a lot of decisions are made about what type of equipment your children have available in their classroom and extra activities that enhance their learning like Authors day, Meet the Masters, etc. Volunteer in the classroom, this makes your child proud to be at school. I work, but I take the time to participate on both PTAs and volunteer at both schools occassionally. Most importantly Bixby is a safe school and the staff is professional and friendly. You will only get out of education what you put in it so help your kids with their homework and enhance their learning with outside activities...museums, travel, etc. I like Bixby and so do my kids and that is more important at this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2012

My son entered Kinder last year and I really should of taken him out of the class after the orientation. Its a bad sign when a teacher announces to the parents that she was a 4th grade teacher and then was "stuck" in Kinder for this year. Needless to say, it was not a great year for my son. As a result, I have had to put him in extra tutoring to catch up and so have the other parents in the class. I am also constantly assuring him that school is fun....which it should be. My score is solely based on this one teacher. I hear the other teachers are good. I hope this is true for the sake of the other kids. But I think we are going to pass on this school for the coming year. Best of luck to all that remain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2012

Bixby Beavers are High Achievers!!! Teachers and Staff at this school are committed to making sure the students get the best Elementary Education and Experience. My sons attend Bixby and their teachers are always supportive and caring. Even the Afterschool Program, Kids Club is on point. The staff at KC are helpful with homework and creative activities for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2011

Absolutely hands down the best school in Long Beach! Wonderful teachers, staff, principal and parents. The parent involment is phenomenal! Never for a second do I doubt that this is the perfect place to be for my girls. So proud to be part of the Bixby family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

Great school. My daughter loves Bixby. Alot of parent/teacher interaction and they seem to genuinely care for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

It is an inclusive, student centered, environment with staff and parents teaming up to to make school challenging and fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Bixby is a wonderful school with caring teachers and staff. My 3 children have all attended Bixby in the accelerated program and have moved on to Middle School and High School in advanced/gate classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Our family loves Bixby because of the great staff and teachers that support it. They truly exemplify what a great school should be like. Everyone's first class spirit shines through in the daily interaction they have with our kids. They truly are the best and should be recognized as such. They're our favorite school and should be 'America's Favorite School' too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

I love Bixby because we are a community of good people who all get along and want to be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Great School. My Son is in the pre-K autism class with Ms. Willis and she is worth 10 times her weight in gold. The class para's are also #1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Bixby is a small school with a family community and caring teachers!! We are lucky to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

i love bixby because my daughter has a fun time learning & the lessons are not only learned in school but in field trips...
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

828

Change from
2012 to 2013

-22

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

828

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-22

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Females61%
Males48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disability15%
Students with no reported disability62%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate21%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)39%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students57%
Females61%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disability23%
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate21%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Females53%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate72%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females79%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females79%
Males58%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students68%
Females79%
Males56%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Females65%
Males68%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students71%
Females63%
Males77%
African American68%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students71%
Females68%
Males73%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 40%
White 24%
Black 11%
Asian 10%
Two or more races 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/AN/A
English language learners 10%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Stephanie Jones
Fax number
  • (562) 498-1711

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5251 East Stearns Street
Long Beach, CA 90815
Phone: (562) 498-3794

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Our Lady Of Refuge
Long Beach, CA


Nazarene Christian
Long Beach, CA





Buffum Elementary
Long Beach, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT