Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Dear Parent Who Posted Several Times on September 6, 2015: Thank you for taking the time to review our school. Being new to Bixby this year (although with over 20 years in education), I would very much welcome the opportunity to meet with you and discuss your concerns. While, according to our 2014-2015 CORE Survey Data (provided by students families and staff), 83% of parents said they feel welcome to participate at Bixby, and 80% of parents stated that Bixby provides high quality instruction to their child, there is always room for improvement. Should you desire to meet with me, my door is open, my phone is available, and my email is answered promptly. Thank you for your consideration and your active participation in your child's education. Sincerely, Sam Platis Principal, Bixby Elementary School splatis@lbschools.net
September 29, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 67 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Develops honesty:
SCHOOL LEADER
Dear Parent Who Posted Several Times on September 6, 2015: Thank you for taking the time to review our school. Being new to Bixby this year (although with over 20 years in education), I would very much welcome the opportunity to meet with you and discuss your concerns. While, according to our 2014-2015 CORE Survey Data (provided by students families and staff), 83% of parents said they feel welcome to participate at Bixby, and 80% of parents stated that Bixby provides high quality instruction to their child, there is always room for improvement. Should you desire to meet with me, my door is open, my phone is available, and my email is answered promptly. Thank you for your consideration and your active participation in your child's education. Sincerely, Sam Platis Principal, Bixby Elementary School splatis@lbschools.net
Posted September 29, 2015

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Dear Parent Who Posted Several Times on September 6, 2015: Thank you for taking the time to review our school. Being new to Bixby this year (although with over 20 years in education), I would very much welcome the opportunity to meet with you and discuss your concerns. While, according to our 2014-2015 CORE Survey Data (provided by students families and staff), 83% of parents said they feel welcome to participate at Bixby, and 80% of parents stated that Bixby provides high quality instruction to their child, there is always room for improvement. Should you desire to meet with me, my door is open, my phone is available, and my email is answered promptly. Thank you for your consideration and your active participation in your child's education. Sincerely, Sam Platis Principal, Bixby Elementary School splatis@lbschools.net
Posted September 29, 2015


Bixby Elementary School 1

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
It's a fine school, if your child doesn't have any learning issues, or social problems. Some staff members get it, and make simple accommodations to help the child, but most won't. Feeble communication, no follow through, giving up on a child, not following the IEP, and allowing bullying while providing lip service is rampant at Bixby. If you have a fully included child with special needs, you will be sending your child to hell everyday, not to school.

Bixby Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
Some are more effective than others. Some care and try, and communicate, and some don't.

Bixby Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
The teachers refuse to use School Loop to communicate with the parents. Parents do not know what assessments are coming up without going in and speaking directly with the teacher, and most parents both work, so this is impossible for most parents.


Bixby Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
What?! Grit? It's not a John Wayne movie. How about compassion, honesty, and group building?

Bixby Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
There is no comprehensive anti-bullying program, and no supervision to help those who are bullied.

Bixby Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
They give lip service to anti-bullying, but do not have any program that thoroughly explains what not to do, and they do not look out for those who get bullied.


Bixby Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
They have no comprehensive anti-bullying program and do not in any way protect those who are bullied.

Bixby Elementary School 2

Posted September 09, 2014
- a parent
Hello school. Please tell me why 4 days onto school the kindergarten watched a movie?

Nearby schools

Bixby Elementary School
5251 East Stearns Street, Long Beach, CA  90815-2902
(562) 498-3794
Last modified Bixby Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top