Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Please take a moment to rate our awesome school. You can also learn more about our school and our efforts to build a new accessible play structure at CarverPlayground.com
May 23, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Carver Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 28, 2016
- a parent
Each and every teacher at Carver each and every teacher at Carver has high standards for their classroom. The principal is in the classrooms regularly.

Carver Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 28, 2016
- a parent
Carver teachers and staff promote honesty, integrity, and fairness and its students through the school's Safe and Civil program.


Carver Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2016
- a parent
Carver is a hidden gem in Long Beach Unified School District. We are so thankful to have the opportunity to have our children at Carver. The teachers at Carver are amazing, having a standard of excellence in their classrooms. My husband and I have had the opportunity to visit nearby schools and compared to Carver, we were unimpressed.

Carver Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to all of the teachers at Carver, who give 110% for our children.

Carver Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
Administration and faculty work together for the good of the students and family involvement with the school


Teacher effectiveness:
SCHOOL LEADER
The PTA supports classrooms by helping to fund field trips. Teachers are regularly attending staff meetings and other educational training.
Posted May 23, 2016

Amount of homework:
SCHOOL LEADER
Teachers, school staff and parents all partner in a child's after-hours education. The PTA also helps with purchasing homework folders.
Posted May 23, 2016

Develops grit:
SCHOOL LEADER
Our school works hard at promoting better attendance, anti-bullying and higher test scoring. We have some outstanding parents that work hard to help us achieve this goal.
Posted May 23, 2016


Develops respect:
SCHOOL LEADER
Respect is leaned in both the classroom, and on the playground. The Classroom part is handled well by our fantastic teachers. The parents and the PTA are working on the playground part. For more info visit www.CarverPlayground.com
Posted May 23, 2016

Develops empathy:
SCHOOL LEADER
When 10% of a student body is made up of kids with physical disabilities, kids seem to automatically learn empathy, compassion and caring for others. It is not a rare sight to see wheelchairs buzzing around. It's not anything that seems "different" on our campus. We have some fantastic Special Ed teachers and some awesome "student helpers" that assist the physically challenged kids who are merged into General Education classes.
Posted May 23, 2016

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carver Elementary School
5335 East Pavo Street, Long Beach, CA  90808-3599
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (562) 420-2697
Last modified Carver Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top