Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gant Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 664 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

55 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 30, 2013

My child is currently at the 1st grade GATE program and the teacher is absolutely wonderful. My child is doing very well in the class and loves the teacher. Their class curriculum is geared towards GATE objectives and I strongly disagree with the comments made by the previous parent about the GATE program and the 1st grade GATE teacher. We are experiencing a wonderful school year here at Minnie GANT as we did last year with the great kindergarten programs and teachers at GANT. Go GANT GATORS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

Be careful what you wish for. Want a school w/ decent test scores and high parent involvement? Who doesn't? But the politics run very thick at this school and a lot of "involved" parents are pretty insecure and hyper-competitive. The GATE program is broken. The woman who ran the 1st grade GATE program is possibly the most inappropriate teacher I have ever run across...and she has been in that role for many years. I must say that many of the teachers we had were fantastic. But the overall environment there is, in my opinion, somewhat unhealthy for students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

Our family has had an excellent experience at Minnie Gant. Responsible and approachable leadership along with a high level of parent participation makes this school top notch! My daughter is a proud Gator and cheers everytime we drive by her school during Summer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Gant is a wonderful school. Between our kids, we've been at Gant for 11 years. We have had amazing teachers, we've had good teachers, and we've had okay teachers. We have experienced four principals during our time at Gant, the current principal is our favorite. Almost all of our experiences at Gant have been positive. Parent involvement is huge, but not in an unhealthy way. The only thing that we would change if we could, would be to increase teacher involvement in programming and activities. Your child would be lucky to attend Minnie Gant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

My son attends Minnie Gant Elementary. I am involved in PTA and I couldn't be more happy with the education they have received and the work that the teachers, parents, and PTA have put into the school to keep Gant Great! Gant has so many great programs and activities that both my sons have participated in over the years. I still have one more that will be attending Gant in the future and we look forward to it. The teachers and administrative staff are incredible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Minnie Gant is a neighborhood school here in Long Beach, California. I graduated from Minnie Gant Elementary in 1990. While I was there I had teachers who took the time to work with their students and be very hands on. The PTA at Gant has always been one of the best in Long Beach always going above and beyond to make Gant great. Gant is the kind of school that teachers do not leave and where previous students aim to own homes in the surrounding neighborhood so their children can go there. I am one of those Gant alumni. My oldest daughter is going into the 1st grade at Gant in the fall and previously attended Kindergarten where we were lucky enough for her to have MY first grade teacher as her Kinder teacher. Like I said, teachers don't leave Gant. From community support, great parent classroom participation, awesome PTA, phenomenal teachers, outstanding principal, and gracious staff these are the things that make Gant GREAT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2012

My children will be in 5th and 2nd grade this fall, both have been at Gant since K-garten. We love this school! The teachers are wonderful and have always challenged my children to their max. Mr.Wood, our principal is very involved and approachable. My children love that he always says hello to them by their name. Our PTA is one of the strongest, and although it does seem as though it's "ran" by the same circle of parents every year, MOST parents are extremely active in the classrooms and are willing to volunteer at the big events (jog-a-thon, book fair, carnival, etc). Having an excellent public school that motivates students scholastically and creatively is essential to all communities. We are proud to be a part of one of the very best in Long Beach!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

This school is better than almost all the private schools that I have physically visited. I could not more proud of the standard by which this school strives to obtain. This is obtained by a combined effort of the Principal, Teachers and the "EXTREMELY" active parents. As many of the teachers are extraordinary, a special thanks to Mr. Wood and Mr. K, for your "Over the Top" commitment to the children! Michael Blosser
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2011

It is my first time reading this website and I found it very interesting reading all the reviews about my children's school. Some of the reviews were very accurate and I absolutely agree that some of the parents, who unfortunately cannot afford private education, feel the need to be a little obnoxious and push their kids extra hard because of that insecurity. I have always believed that is why some people use their "volunteer" platform at public schools to be a little overbearing because of lack of success in their personal lives. However, all the teachers my children have had so far have been outstanding. I would strongly recommend this school to any parent. Your children will receive a wonderful foundation and a lifetime love of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

My daughter went to Gant k-5.Every one of here teachers was outstanding! We are very sorry she is leaving (off to middle school). I have been a substitute teacher in the district and want to comment that there seems to be more diversity at Gant than at many other schools in the district. I have been to many schools where the entire student population is Hispanic. That is not diversity. Gant has a nice mix of ethnicity. Students learn about other cultures. It is a fantastic school all around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2011

My son just finished Kindergarten at Gant and had an excellent experience. The teachers are extremely skilled. The Principal seems to work well with both teachers and parents. The parent involvement is unbelievable. Fortunately, parents and teachers have strong, healthy relationships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

This year will be the last at Gant since my 5th grader will be promoted on to middle school next month. Both my kids have gone here and in my opinion, have gotten a quality education (I am a teacher myself). Both my husband and I have positive experiences with the teachers, staff, students, and parents. The new principal is very approachable and will listen and act on issues. Most teachers are very supportive, professional, and know the curriculum. All students have access to the numerous and varied programs and activities (performing and visual arts, jog-a-thon, carnival, access to literacy, before/afterschool care, etc.). An added bonus is having the university right across the street...a daily reminder that higher education is right at your doorstep. I believe the success of this school lies in the heart of the families that go there and care about the welfare of the whole community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

This school, where both my children went to elementary schools, has always had the very best in teachers and principals. It deserves to keep the reputation it has always had and so richly deserves!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

I attended this elementary school about 10 years ago, My experience here was great. They always say you remember High School more but I can honestly say that my years in this school were not forgotten my trips across the street to CSULB were inspirational to me to one day go there. I am now a third year student at CSULB, Gant gave me hope to one day attend here with there constant involvment with this school. The staff and teachers were amazing, each taught me everything I needed to know and more. This school was so much fun, I remember the carnivals, from 1st grade to 5th I could still name my teachers. This is a great school for your children take it from me, I went there. I still remember my time here and the staff is very friendly and VERY EQUIPED!!!!!!


Posted September 22, 2010

It has great teachers and staff that really help the children succeed.


Posted September 20, 2010

Love Gant! I have two daughters that go to Gant and have been blessed with their teachers. Gant is ranked 10 which is a high honor and a California Distinguished School. Great staff along with a great PTA support. Go Gant Gators!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2010

I am also baffled by the May 20 post. If I read it correctly your child attended Gant until first grade? I'm confused then, how you feel you are equipped to speak to the overall level of teaching? I have four children, three have gone all the way through Gant including my autistic son. Sure as in all schools, there are some rotten apples in the bunch but what a lesson to teach your kids? All experiences might not perfect and in your control, that's life. We mostly had teachers that loved to teach which in turn made my kids love to learn. Spoiled and obnoxious? As in any group, maybe so, but there are many parents out there fighting for your kids and mine. While sadly, I might have to agree with you on the level of competency in our administration, our experience at Gant has been fabulous!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2010

That last review had me scratching my head. Over inflated sense of ego...and the children too? Spoiled and obnoxious? Woefully ill-equiped special needs teacher? Sounds like someone with an axe to grind. My son attends the school and loves it. Teachers, parents, and playground supervisors, as well as other administrators are wonderful. Teachers have more experience than most schools, with quite a few having been at Gant for 10 years or more. They have a great special needs program, and have had that program in place since I was a child(I attended Gant as well). Teachers work with the children, and with their pupil to teacher ratio, no child gets left behind. Teachers at Gant make learning fun, they challenge the kids everyday. As for the previous review, I have to ask the parent. Could it be your child?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Although there are several fantastic teachers at this school, one of which my child had in kindergarten, this "above average" school with great test scores and a very involved PTA, this Gant School may not be for everybody. The administrative leadership (principal) at the school site is absolutely clueless on so many levels in my opinion. The PTA is very involved; you might say that a select group of parents practically run the school. Although, not in the wealthiest area of Long Beach, many parents who send their children to this school have an over inflated sense of entitlement, that is then passed on to their children. Spoiled and obnoxious might work well to describe many of the students and their parents. My child has special needs and recently attended Gant School. The first grade experience was a horrible experience for our family. Although my child is very intelligent, the team of teachers who worked with my student were woefully ill-equipped unable to meet the needs of this special child. And they had no interest in doing so either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

Minnie Gant has a wonderful Kindergarten, after that it's hit or miss. There are some wonderful teachers and others just resting on their laurels. The community luckily is very generous and supportive with time and finances so the children can thrive. Mrs Lambert does not seem to have the skills to access the teachers or discipline students when needed. It's hard to lead a school with just a smile.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

939

Change from
2012 to 2013

-10

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

939

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-10

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Females83%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state61%

Math

All Students86%
Females92%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Females85%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)93%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students92%
Females92%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Females91%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students88%
Females90%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate96%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Females93%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state73%

Math

All Students88%
Females93%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state56%

Science

All Students90%
Females88%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 27%
Hispanic 21% 51%
Asian 12% 11%
Black 6% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Jeffrey Wood
Fax number
  • (562) 431-6091

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1854 Britton Drive
Long Beach, CA 90815
Phone: (562) 430-3384

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Nazarene Christian
Long Beach, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT