Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hamilton Middle School 3

Posted September 06, 2014
- a community member
I've been here since 6 now I'm in 8th grade I have lots of problems in this school to many students distract you while your learning they bully yes but I try to ignore them the staffs are pretty helpful if you tell them what's the problem but I don't really think it's a good school it's okay and because kids are to rude

Hamilton Middle School 3

Posted November 18, 2013
- a community member
This school...isn't honestly the greatest. I say yes to the education. The teachers try hard to educate us & give us the best. The education here is awesome. The students although...need more JESUS IN THEIR LIVES!!! Kids smoke and drink here yet the staff & most teachers don't know. If you send your child to this school, they will 95% of the chance change. How do I know? By experience. I went here in 6th grade. And honestly, I changed a lot. But it was for a good reason. I understood how to handle the world more. The kids here taught me to be tough. But I got suspended here since I fought with a kid..so now I'm in private school. Great punishment, huh? I'm just going to be here in 7th grade, might transfer back to Hamilton in 8th. But also, a lot of the 'innocent' 6th graders turned bad. If you come out of that school still good, you just got lucky. Kids there either turn bad by drinking, smoking, cursing, joining gangs, or all of the above. For me it was cursing...I over all actually was one of the good kids. I know I said I curse & got suspended but I don't curse anymore & I got suspended because I was stupid..I learned from my mistakes. Most likely, this school might change you.


Hamilton Middle School 1

Posted December 05, 2012
- a parent
My child and other children are being bullied at this school,by one student.They are not doing enough to protect our children.It is so bad,that the little girl threatened me and cursed at me.Shes been suspended once.Just got back today and back at it again.They need to kick her out and use her as an example.My daughter is having a hard time as it is,being a 6th grader.Since the last incident,her grades have dropped and also her confidence has too.Im not going to allow this to continue.I may just transfer her out.They cannot do enough for these children.They should not be scared to attend school.
1 person found this helpful

Hamilton Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 05, 2010
- a parent
Can't recommend although my daughter was forced to attend here due to demographics. I think they need more activities for the kids so they don't get in so much trouble and feel a sense of pride in their school. The kids who attend come from very low income families and probably don't have alot of parental involvement. My daughter is only a 6th grader and has already been threatened to be gang-jumped!

Hamilton Middle School 3

Posted January 24, 2010
- a student
I was a student at Hamilton Middle School, the teachers where kind of good to me, but some students where very mean to me. They throw papers (students esp.) to other students They didn't let me do my work in peace esp. the students, I got easily distracted, they called me a lot of names, but there where some good students that don't mess around too much.


Hamilton Middle School 5

Posted January 12, 2010
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Hamilton Middle School 5

Posted July 07, 2009
- a student
this a wonder school that has made some amazing goals

Hamilton Middle School 0
no rating

Posted June 19, 2009
- a community member
Outstanding school - I am so impressed how much this school empowers their students. This is definitely a whole child approach. Very impressive


Hamilton Middle School 5

Posted May 31, 2009
- a student
This school is very ghetto. But who cares it's very close to Compton so what do you expect. but who cares i've had so much fun in this school. :) Jack n the crck

Hamilton Middle School 2

Posted March 05, 2009
- a parent
I had no idea my son was doing bad in school until they wanted to kick him out of his accelerated classes. Once I was notified that my son wasnt turning in his work, he brought all of his grades up to at least a B. However, now that I know about the schoolloop website, I can keep track of him myself without waiting for the teachers to contact me. It shows his grades and assignments every week.


Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hamilton Middle School
1060 East 70th Street, Long Beach, CA  90805
(562) 602-0302
Last modified Hamilton Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hamilton Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top