Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jefferson Leadership Academies School 5

Posted March 21, 2014
- a community member
awesome LOVE this school teachers are really cool and nice also its not that far away from starbucks

Jefferson Leadership Academies School 1

Posted December 03, 2013
- a parent
Jefferson It could improve by Having better funraisers.They should have school get to geteher in the atourtoriem for every funraiser they want people to go to


Jefferson Leadership Academies School 4

Posted September 02, 2013
- a teacher
Jefferson is an extraordinary school. Since some of those last postings our scores have increased dramatically, and continue to rise. Additionally, student and staff/teacher rapport have improved and there is much more involvement by students, parents and staff in all school activities since the implementation of JLA's PTO in 2012-2013. That's not all... Jefferson has made a huge stride in becoming a Green Long Beach School, cultivating a lot of Jefferson Pride from the entire Jefferson community. This empowers students. This builds leaders. This also develops problem-solving skills that they CHOOSE to take part in and can't be measured by any exam. Although there is still a lot of work to do, with parent involvement and a continuation of students choosing to meet goals we will get there! Welcome to Jefferson... things are truly looking up!

Jefferson Leadership Academies School 5

Posted September 02, 2013
- a parent
A year ago, when I found out my son was going to be going to Jefferson, I hated the idea. I had heard many things about the school, and non were positive. I didn't want my child to go to such a terrible school and tried my hardest to switch. After one year at Jefferson, I LOVE this school. They have a grant to have small class sizes, self contained 6th graders, awesome teachers and staff. All the teachers I have had experience with are all willing to go above and beyond to help their students. Parent involvement needs to make an improvement, but its easy for parents to get involved and over all the school is a great place for kids to learn.

Jefferson Leadership Academies School 4

Posted April 26, 2012
- a parent
My child has been going to this school for 2 years and the teachers that she has and have had are very involved. The teachers work with the parents and help the students strive to the best of there ability. My daughter is in honors classes and i must say she is challenged everyday.


Jefferson Leadership Academies School 3

Posted June 03, 2011
- a community member
The only supportive teacher throughout this school was Deborah Sowells a 7th grade Language Art teacher. I went from Basic to Advance when I had her. [: Besides JLA having a 3 for me, I give her a 10 out of 5 because she's that amazing.

Jefferson Leadership Academies School 5

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
my kid goes to jefferson and i think it is a very advanced school

Jefferson Leadership Academies School
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a student
i go to jefferson and i think it is fun and it teaches you a lot


Jefferson Leadership Academies School 5

Posted June 05, 2008
- a community member
its a safe and nice school for young adults

Jefferson Leadership Academies School 5

Posted May 27, 2008
- a student
I am a student at Jefferson and I think it is a great school. Teachers and staff are very supportive and treat students with respect. This school has great programs like A.V.I.D which gets students motivated to attend college and obtain a career. Academic wise, Jefferson offers an outstanding learning environment as a result of its single gender configuration. The professional and dedicated staff and teachers at Jefferson are always willing to help students out with any extra help they may need. Overall, staff tries their best to maintain the school campus clean and safe for students. Jefferson is not a school for dummies as some parents think; it is an excellent school that offers a great education for those students that take advantage of it. Personally, I am very proud to be part of the student body at Jefferson.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jefferson Leadership Academies School
750 Euclid Avenue, Long Beach, CA  90804-5228
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (562) 438-9904
Last modified Jefferson Leadership Academies School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top