Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Long Beach, CA
Students enrolled: 3,589
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jordan High School 1

Posted October 31, 2011
- a community member
Its good to hear that the school has improved over the years. When outcast, Gary Graves, became vice principal at that school, it began to go downhill. In fact, the regular school principle was every bit as wimpy as he looked which meant they didn't care about having a professional staff overall.

Jordan High School 5

Posted April 14, 2011
- a parent
Jordan High School of Long Beach has so much to offer all students - don't listen to the "hype". Rumors of violence and safety issues are COMPLETELY FALSE. The environment is nothing short of perfection... students really CAN learn in their "own" comfort zone. At Jordan, students are praised for their efforts and achievements, motivated for higher learning. J-Town, (as Jordan is fondly referred to) is # 1, and so is the lady who makes it all happen - Principal Rosalind Morgan.
1 person found this helpful


Jordan High School
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a teacher
Great students who really want to learn and be treated with the respect they deserve.

Jordan High School 5

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
I am a parent of a senior and I have to admit I was one of those going crazy when my daughter didn't get accepted to any other high school.in my mind there was no way my daughter was going to Jordan! I had heard so many bad coments & not a single good thing about it. I did everything I could to get a transfer and put her on every waiting list but it was impossible. Well to make things short, Jordan is not any diferent from any other school it actually has less violence then the so called good schools and academicly offers very good programs. The students succed if they want to and if the parents are involved if not it doesn't matter what school they go to. I'm now proud to say my daughter goes to J-Town and it is not ghetto!!! It's the real world!
2 people found this helpful

Jordan High School 5

Posted November 14, 2009
- a student
I am a senior at Jordan, and I have to say that my 4 years at Jordan have been great!!! Jordan offers an awesome international program called International Baccalureate, which I am a part of. It is widely respected by top universities, and many countries offer this program at their schools!!!
3 people found this helpful


Jordan High School 3

Posted November 18, 2007
- a student
im a student attending jordan and i am proud to say that im going to jordan. i can really care less what other people think. jordan has very good academic programs for there students for instance AIMS and IB. The people in this programs can tell you that they learn a lot that to the teacher and even though they don't like things they have to do they still do it and benefit from it and learn a lot. and the students in aims get to go to a real hospital and work as an intern and learn a lot from the hospital.
1 person found this helpful

Jordan High School
no rating

Posted August 18, 2007
- a parent
I am a former student class of 2004.If your looking for a school with choices i would choose j-town.Rather it be academic, athletic, or even entertainment this is the place to be. There's no need to shelter your children from the real world because there's nothing different going on here than outside your home. If your looking to teach your kid how to make it in the real world jordan is the place to be. Miss Miller you rock and everyone knows good job and continue to give your blessings to generations to come!
1 person found this helpful

Jordan High School 3

Posted April 20, 2007
- a parent
Quality begets quality. This school has great potential to deliver quality education to students. However, security elects to let many things go that shouldn't and most of the parent involvement is a pathetic farce. Only four of 220 parents show up at Open house for each teacher. The teachers are dedicated and passionate about meeting the student needs, but are undermined by administration and security by not addressing behavior issues that interrupt teaching/learning. Students (and some teachers) who don't care and end up multiplying the problems are destroying the morale of the many students trying desperately to learn. Unfortunately, much time is taken from the teaching to address behavior, and high-scoring students who graduate with honors still lack competent literacy and critical thinking skills. JHS teachers need support and involvement from parents, administration, and security before burning out. Parents get involved!
1 person found this helpful


Jordan High School 4

Posted February 01, 2006
- a student
I went to Jordan for 4 years and I didn't have any problems. No school is perfect. Every school has its flaws. I graduated with honors from Jordan and am proud to say I graduated from this school. There are some things that I would change. As for the neighborhood for the people who complimented on it. have you ever lived in our neighborhood? Do you know what its really like? Probably not. So please only say something if you know facts. But of course everyone's entitled to their opinion.

Jordan High School 4

Posted October 20, 2004
- a teacher
Jordan is a very diverse school that works at improving the education of all students who attend. It is a very large school with over 4000 students. The Freshman Academy is a great place for 9th graders to start high school. The school has a very dedicated staff who are constantly trying to find new ways to improve instruction for their students. The AIMS and IB magnet programs are top notch. Both programs provide students excellent post high school opportunities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jordan High School
6500 Atlantic Avenue, Long Beach, CA  90805
(562) 423-1471
Last modified Jordan High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jordan High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top