Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Long Beach, CA
Students enrolled: 3,589
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


41 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jordan High School 1

Posted October 31, 2011
- a community member
Its good to hear that the school has improved over the years. When outcast, Gary Graves, became vice principal at that school, it began to go downhill. In fact, the regular school principle was every bit as wimpy as he looked which meant they didn't care about having a professional staff overall.

Jordan High School 5

Posted April 14, 2011
- a parent
Jordan High School of Long Beach has so much to offer all students - don't listen to the "hype". Rumors of violence and safety issues are COMPLETELY FALSE. The environment is nothing short of perfection... students really CAN learn in their "own" comfort zone. At Jordan, students are praised for their efforts and achievements, motivated for higher learning. J-Town, (as Jordan is fondly referred to) is # 1, and so is the lady who makes it all happen - Principal Rosalind Morgan.
1 person found this helpful


Jordan High School 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a teacher
Great students who really want to learn and be treated with the respect they deserve.

Jordan High School 5

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
I am a parent of a senior and I have to admit I was one of those going crazy when my daughter didn't get accepted to any other high school.in my mind there was no way my daughter was going to Jordan! I had heard so many bad coments & not a single good thing about it. I did everything I could to get a transfer and put her on every waiting list but it was impossible. Well to make things short, Jordan is not any diferent from any other school it actually has less violence then the so called good schools and academicly offers very good programs. The students succed if they want to and if the parents are involved if not it doesn't matter what school they go to. I'm now proud to say my daughter goes to J-Town and it is not ghetto!!! It's the real world!
2 people found this helpful

Jordan High School 5

Posted November 14, 2009
- a student
I am a senior at Jordan, and I have to say that my 4 years at Jordan have been great!!! Jordan offers an awesome international program called International Baccalureate, which I am a part of. It is widely respected by top universities, and many countries offer this program at their schools!!!
1 person found this helpful


Jordan High School 4

Posted November 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Jordan High School 5

Posted November 05, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Jordan High School 4

Posted December 17, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Jordan High School 2

Posted January 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Jordan High School 2

Posted December 28, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jordan High School
6500 Atlantic Avenue, Long Beach, CA  90805
(562) 423-1471
Last modified Jordan High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jordan High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top