Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Longfellow Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 1077 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 2, 2009

Longfellow has high API scores because they teach to test. Students get state guided lesson plans with plenty of worksheets year after year. The school has not fostered a love of learning in my child because the learning environment is rote and unimaginative. The school is inefficient in dealing with students with learning differences-Lf is fine if your kid is a high achiever already. It's a mix bag with teachers some are really mediocre-especially in the 3rd grade
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2009

A tradition of Excellence. A principal who cares. A proud and hardworking student body. A great PTA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

Part of the perceived quality of Longfellow depends on the teacher you get. Some grades are very weak while others are very strong. The PTA is very strong at Longfellow and raises a lot of money so that there can be extra programs for the kids. While we have had some disappointments, I am pleased witht he quality of the school overall and will continue to have both of my children compelte their elementary education there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

this is the best school ever, especially Mrs. Hagen. She's awesome. Love her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2007

My daughter has gone to Longfellow since Kindergarten (almost 5 years). The involvement by parents, teachers, and the children is immediately recognizable. Coming from a small rural town, you look for certain things, little details. Longfellow has proven to be that home away from home. Everyone on campus is very friendly, they smile and say hello. Longfellow also acquired a new principal this year. He has had a positive impact on the school in such a short time period, making little changes to help improve quality of an already outstanding school. The only negative is the dwindling Arts Program. California overall needs to beef up this area of study. Art program aside, the school has been given several awards for Outstanding Acheivements, such as the 'California Distinguished School' award and 'Blue Ribbon School' award. These awards only begin to tell of what Longfellow has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

My daughter came from a private school with challenging academics at the tender age of 6. I had high hopes that this public school would not be like so many others you hear about. It was not! Longfellow has a challenging curriculum and caring teachers. I appreciate the mix of cultures in the school as it mirrors our society and helps prepare my child for that mix. I am very pleased with Longfellow and do see why it is rated so much higher than other schools in the vicinity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

My son declared he would be a 'kindergarten drop out' during a torturous year at our Catholic school. Wanting only the best for him, who had already been tested and accepted into the GATE program, we opted for the city's only private school. Again, it was a challenging year, but for different reasons. With options decreasing, we entered the GATE program at Longfellow. Glory Hallelujah! We finally entered the realm of learning with different strokes for different folks. It was amazing. Experienced and higher educated staff and parents, mix and mingle with all cultures, races, religions and education levels. We had arrived! Two thumbs up for Longfellow! My only ongoing concern was the amount of students on the playground before school, during lunchtime and afterschool, as compared with the amount of playground aides and teachers on duty. Often, this is when trouble does and did start. The ratio was not satisfactory.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

My son was in Kindergarten at Longfellow this year. He had a great experience with a knowledgable and caring teacher that was able to meet the needs of each child. The rate of learning and academic standards were excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2005

The academics at Longfellow are standard based, students involving and oarent inviting. Students and teachers work hard for the various academic programs they have and we achieve high scores on oue state tests. We have extra curriuclar activivities like music, art, knitting, spanish, drama, reflections, student council, scouts, and definitely a PE program. Parent are so much invloved, a wonderful group of PTA, so dedicated and work hard to ensure that Longfellow is a great place and it is.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted November 25, 2004

This is a community school with high levels of parent involvement. There is a substantial influence from children brought into the school from outside the area. The teachers don't turn over very much, which is both good and bad! The GATE program is 'immersion' with tenured teachers at the 3, 4, and 5 levels. This is challenging for the program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2004

Longfellow is an excellent school with teachers that have been around a while to provide great leadership. The teachers really care and they provide very good extracurricular activities for the kids to improve their skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

I love it! My daughter has attended this school since Kindergarden and my son attended at 5th grade. My son thanked me for sending him to Longfellow. My daughter loves school and has really loved all of her teachers. I am proud to say that my daughter looks forward to waking up and going to school. My children have said it all! I don't have to motivate my child to want to go to school, she tells me to hurry up I don't want to be late for school. My child is very bright and Longfellow teachers and staff supports students creativity. This school is so well organized that you as a parent will feel as if your child is in a private school. The level of excellency is much more than I could imagine. If your child is lucky to experience Longfellow Elementary you won't regret that experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

I started my child in a local private school thinking that would offer her a better advancement among public school. Once attending Longfellow to our suprise, we found her advancement behind. Longfellow has helped to bring her level up to speed without all the additional cost private school offers. I am now a big believer in the Long Beach public school district and feel truly blessed to be able to have my child attend such a prestigious positive school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2004

We have 3 children who have or are going through the Longfellow experience. I have always told people that the concerns about public schools do not apply to Longfellow. It is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2003

My daughter has been attending this school for 3 years and has a great learning experience with each and every teacher, you see and feel alot of parent involvment. My daughters SAT scores have improved quite a bit since she has been at Longfellow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I grew up in this neighborhood and life here hasn't changed much. I'm now a parent to Longfellow students. I love Longfellow because it has that small town feeling even though it's in a large community. The parents are very hands on, the teachers maintain a working personal relationship with the parents, and the neighborhood has everything you could possibly want to offer your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2003

I am a teacher in another district and I found that I was extremely fortunate to have my daughter at this wonderful school in comparison to the one I teach at. I talk about her school all the time and people wonder if my daughter goes to a private school due to all the wonderful things that they do.


Posted June 19, 2003

With my child coming from a priviate school, I found the quality of teaching much higher. I heard all the stories about public school but found them not to be true in regards to Longfellow. The teachers seem to go out of their way for the kids sake and as a parent I truly apprrciate that. I feel very blessed to live in the district and know my child is getting the best education.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

876

Change from
2012 to 2013

-21

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

876

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-21

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females72%
Males55%
African American50%
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate30%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to state61%

Math

All Students76%
Females76%
Males76%
African American67%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disability73%
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner67%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to state76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females57%
Males46%
African American32%
Asian62%
Filipino67%
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate23%
Parent education - high school graduate32%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate71%
Parent education - declined to state48%

Math

All Students71%
Females68%
Males74%
African American61%
Asian78%
Filipino93%
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner41%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate68%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to state56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females81%
Males70%
African American65%
Asian81%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate39%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to state78%

Math

All Students80%
Females85%
Males77%
African American74%
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner57%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate82%
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to state83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females80%
Males75%
African American70%
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students78%
Females79%
Males77%
African American68%
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students78%
Females77%
Males80%
African American67%
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 33%
White 22%
Black 17%
Asian 13%
Two or more races 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/AN/A
English language learners 10%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Laurie Murrin
Fax number
  • (562) 424-3991

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3800 Olive Avenue
Long Beach, CA 90807
Phone: (562) 595-0308

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oakwood Academy
Long Beach, CA



Grace Christian School
Long Beach, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT