Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lowell Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
Thanks to Mrs. Spicer, First Grade teacher. She is a beautiful soul who loves to teach. She is caring and she knows how to infuse a good energy in her class. I went twice to share some dance and Spanish to children and I could see how they respect her and love her. She doesn't need to raise her voice and stays calm all the time. My daughter didn't know how to speak English when she entered to First Grade and Mrs Spicer was able to give her enough confidence to teach some Spanish to their friends and make her feel like she has an advantage instead of a "handicap". Thank you Mrs. Spicer for a wonderful year teaching my daughter how to be responsible, caring, and the best she can be!

Lowell Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
Maybe it's just that my daughter is first grader, but I feel their homework is just a 5-minute homework and that's it. Sometimes I think is great, but I remember her homework was a way more difficult when she was at pre school in another country :) I will say is just right because it's 1st grade, and I imagine they are going to increase the amount in the following years... hopefully not too much!


Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has been here for one year so far and it's been a great experience for her (1st grade) Her teacher is a bless! I was welcomed to teach some Spanish for kids a couple of days and could see how great their teacher is :) I don't think there is a prejudice for parents who work full time, I was working and studying grad school and I felt support from other parents and school. Kids Club (after school program) is good, although I think they could do more different kind of activities thank just crafts, playground and movies (you can sign your child to do homework too)

Lowell Elementary School 3

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
Great school! Parents are very involved but very prejudice towards parents that look different or are not as involved as they are. Sorry, I have a job.

Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2012
- a parent
A really good school. So much so, that I'm planning our next move to keep us within school boundaries. My daughter has a attended since midway through Kindergarten, and is now in 2nd grade. The overall feel is very VERY parent-involved, which is great, but for those who are unable (like myself- single parent, work full-time), I do get the impression that I'm judged as not being as involved as I 'should be'. Most of these kids have at least one parent who stays home full or most of the time. I know my daughter wishes that I could help in the class (so do I) like her friend's parents do, which can be hard for her to grasp.


Lowell Elementary School 4

Posted November 29, 2010
- a parent
Too much emphasis on teaching the test. One the plus side, the school staff is wonderful and the parents are very involved. Too bad the kids spend most of their day sitting at a desk learing by rote.

Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2010
- a parent
Execellent teaching and support staff. Great to be at a school where everybody - teachers, parents, administrators, etc. wants children to LEARN. This is not the school for faint hearted parents, that only want a school that is just day care center. Lowell expects full participation of parents in the education of our children.

Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a community member
small town feeling, parent involvment


Lowell Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The principal, teachers, professional staff and parents provide a healthy, enriching, positive and fulfilling learning community.

Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted December 04, 2008
- a parent
Quality school based on focus on reading, writing, math from beginning of school year using multi-sensory approach. Different areas of class use computers, earphones, visual displays, etc. for varied learning strengths. Glad I didn't have to go to a private school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lowell Elementary School
5201 East Broadway, Long Beach, CA  90803-1803
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (562) 433-6757
Last modified Lowell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top