Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Long Beach, CA
Students enrolled: 744
 

4 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

25 reviews of this school


Lowell Elementary School 3

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
Great school! Parents are very involved but very prejudice towards parents that look different or are not as involved as they are. Sorry, I have a job.

Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2012
- a parent
A really good school. So much so, that I'm planning our next move to keep us within school boundaries. My daughter has a attended since midway through Kindergarten, and is now in 2nd grade. The overall feel is very VERY parent-involved, which is great, but for those who are unable (like myself- single parent, work full-time), I do get the impression that I'm judged as not being as involved as I 'should be'. Most of these kids have at least one parent who stays home full or most of the time. I know my daughter wishes that I could help in the class (so do I) like her friend's parents do, which can be hard for her to grasp.


Lowell Elementary School 4

Posted November 29, 2010
- a parent
Too much emphasis on teaching the test. One the plus side, the school staff is wonderful and the parents are very involved. Too bad the kids spend most of their day sitting at a desk learing by rote.

Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2010
- a parent
Execellent teaching and support staff. Great to be at a school where everybody - teachers, parents, administrators, etc. wants children to LEARN. This is not the school for faint hearted parents, that only want a school that is just day care center. Lowell expects full participation of parents in the education of our children.

Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a community member
small town feeling, parent involvment


Lowell Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The principal, teachers, professional staff and parents provide a healthy, enriching, positive and fulfilling learning community.

Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted December 04, 2008
- a parent
Quality school based on focus on reading, writing, math from beginning of school year using multi-sensory approach. Different areas of class use computers, earphones, visual displays, etc. for varied learning strengths. Glad I didn't have to go to a private school.

Lowell Elementary School 4

Posted September 22, 2008
- a parent
My son loves Lowell and I have to say I'm very pleased with the teachers and staff. The parents are a different story. Such elitist and is most likely due to the affluent community. Small price to pay in my opinion. I was planning on sending my son for kindergarten only then to a private school but changed my mind when I saw how invested his teachers were.


Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2008
- a parent
I have 2 children at lowell and I love it. Excellent school, very impressed. My children are very happy and are learning so much- spanish, computors, dance, art, math, science, reading. The families and the teachers are super.

Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted April 01, 2008
- a parent
Lowell is excellent! As a educator myself, this school is amazing. Has totally helped our son who transferred in from private school and was behind! Thank you, Lowell!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lowell Elementary School
5201 East Broadway, Long Beach, CA  90803
(562) 433-6757
Last modified Lowell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lowell Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top