Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mann Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Long Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $590,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,540.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2014

Mann is a great small school. My older daughter was struggling and when I decided to move to Mann, I noticed a huge difference. Mann has a great principal, Awesome teachers, and the best most caring staff. Parent involvement is getting better and better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2014

Everyone's experience is different but from mine, bringing my child here was a mistake. The last reviewer who must be a expert on Mann Elementrys principle and other people's opions I do not agree with. As a pro active patent I'm very involved in everything that goes on with this school and I have other children in my childs class come up to me and tell that the bullying problems never get resolved and that the teachers don't care if they don't understand what's being taught. I have other parents come up to me and say the exact same thing s, have teachers that actually want to teach and make a difference. Not teachers who are just there for a paycheck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

As a former elementary school teacher now staying home with my kids, I can tell you Mann is not a terrible school as the last reviewer posted. Mann is a good school that is getting better, the principal is highly experienced and contrary to the previous post, bullying, poor behavior, and character development are her top priority. However, every school in our state is undergoing a HUGE amount of transition and upheaval due to Common Core. This year in particular has been very stressful for all teaching staff. Mann is growing its PTA and hopefully will see more parent involvement. It is being improved on the inside as well as the outside. The best way to improve this neighborhood school is to support it and participate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

I agree with the last reviewer. Mann is a cozy school with great spirit and heart. It is truly a neighborhood school. My boys attend Mann, and are happy and well adjusted. They excel in their studies. I have spent time in their classrooms, and see the caring nature and quality of the teachers. The staff are people who know every kids name and genuinely care about them. My son's 4th grade class did a musical play this year - the production value was fantastic. I was excited to find that Mann has a Chess Club and Boy Scouts after school. Some of my neighbors refuse to send their kids to Mann because the API scores are slightly lower than the 'best' schools in Long Beach - but there is also an unspoken 'fear of diversity' that is just sad. For the next few years, I will enjoy walking my boys to our wonderful school in our historic neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

Horace Mann Elementary is a small school in a cozy neighborhood with great spirit. The staff is friendly and truly care. It is a very diverse bunch. My children attend there and I have volunteered there for a few years now. This is truly a place where "everybody knows everybody's names" and I wouldn't want my children to be anywhere else. The principal is knowledgable and involved, the secretary - one of the sweetest women I know. The recreation team is made of women who truly cares about the children and try to make their experience a memorable one. If you are the sort of parent who is mostly concerned about test scores and stats: my child is an honor student and the work there is challenging enough for him. But what I love most is that my children are known and cared for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

My grandson sean has grown so much while attending this school.. we are so proud of him.. with the help of councelors, speech teacher his classroom teacher, whom are have been great... we are so happy with his progress.. thank you Pam Wolslau...


Posted May 12, 2008

My son had some speech delay and also needed to be in a school with a firm struture and this is just the school. I love how they were focused on getting him the additonal help with a speech therapist and I love how they have a no tolerance for goofing off. The teachers are ownderful and have been teachers there for years. My son is reading at a higher level and doing math. He is much more advanced than others in his same grade I see from other schools. I love that it is a smaller school and there is much more focus on each student. I love how the teachers also keep you updated on a regular basis with your childs learning and behavior capabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

Our family has some special needs and we transferred to this area last year. The principal and the teachers have all been very focused on helping our needs and the education, involvement and overall support has been outstanding. Thank you for going above and beyond with our kids. There seems to be a lot of parental support and activity here as well which really helps the school and the kids. Because it is smaller in size, the kids seem to be pretty bonded with each other and the teachers. I see most of the teachers going above and beyond with their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2005

Fantasic school all the way around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2005

My son is entering 1st grade this fall (05/06) last year his kindergarden teacher Mr. Taylor was wonderful. Although Kindergarden is tough (homework every night, spelling test every Friday)students are expected to be at 1st grade level, my son is sounding out words/reading and is at 1st grade level math. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

Dedicated staff coupled with high parent involvement. Emphasis on education, music, science, the 3 R's. All around its been a joy for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

793

Change from
2012 to 2013

-22

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

793

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-22

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students38%
Females45%
Males30%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability39%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only43%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate27%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)33%
Parent education - college graduate47%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students61%
Females66%
Males57%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner58%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students28%
Females33%
Males23%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino22%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged22%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability27%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only36%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate13%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)15%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students54%
Females50%
Males57%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females74%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students66%
Females61%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students61%
Females55%
Males65%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students64%
Females65%
Males63%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students55%
Females50%
Males58%
African American69%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 55%
Black 25%
White 13%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 2%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/AN/A
English language learners 22%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Wanda Oliver
Fax number
  • (562) 439-8046

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

257 Coronado Avenue
Long Beach, CA 90803
Phone: (562) 439-6897

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ubm School
Anaheim, CA




Maple Village School
Long Beach, CA



City Christian School
Long Beach, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT