Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Millikan High School 5

Posted July 29, 2016
- a parent
As the parent of a student who started at Millikan as a freshman in 2015-2016 I cannot say enough about how wonderful this school is. Though the student population is sizable, the many S.L.C.s they offer make this school the best of both worlds! Not only do students get the experience of a large high school with lots of clubs and activities, they also have the experience to be a part of small learning communities geared toward their personal interests and with specific teams of teachers dedicated to their community of choice. This gives Millikan an intimate feel where otherwise students might get lost in the mix. The teachers are great! The administrators are some of the best and most beloved in Long Beach! There is a friendly environment that doesn't seem to include much/if any of the fighting and goings on I have heard about from parents with children at other local schools. Not to mention, if your student is into the arts, Ms. Atwell runs an absolutely AMAZING drama department and Mr. York rocks the choral department. I would not want my student anywhere else! GO C.O.M.P.A.S.S.! GO RAMS!

Millikan High School 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a student
I liked hanging out with Friends and meeting new friends. And when i was getting ready for the big shot in history i was looking around the big gym and the students where happy that i made the big shot hear all over the school and i sure wish i could go back for to see all of the staff again real soon.


Millikan High School 5

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
My daughter graduated newcomb and decided to come to Millikan. It was a big step since my baby was no longer a baby and was heading high school. However as she comes close to finalizing her 9th grade I am glad to have chose Millikan high school. The teachers always helped her. Explained this to her and even gave her extra credit when needed. Thank you Millikan teachers and staff.

Millikan High School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
Millikan is an outstanding high school. My daughter completed her freshman year in the QUEST program and loved it! Faculty is accessible and there are many opportunities for parental involvement. I strongly recommend MHS!

Millikan High School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
I was very concerned about sending my son to such a large high school but Millikan has been amazing. Millikan and all of LB high schools deal with the huge student body with small learning communities which allow a student to be part of a smaller group. Students take classes within these groups and teachers are assigned to teach within these groups. My son is in QUEST - the high achieving/GATE program and he has just blossomed. I feel that his teachers know him and that his councilor knows him. This is true even with a student body of over 4000. I also must commend the SPED department. He is both gifted and disabled and they have been extremely supportive. I highly reccomend Millikan for any child who needs a strong academic program as well as a child who needs support. Great job Millikan. Can't wait to send son number 2 in a few years.


Millikan High School 3

Posted October 22, 2012
- a parent
The school is great BUT WAIT... Charging my child $2 everyday or every time they forget their student ID? NO NO NO NO This is a public school and my child does not have to pay even a dime for any school materials a law that was established back in 1879. BUT WAIT if my child forgets their book in one of their classes it is known that my child has to pay the teacher who is paid a salary $0.25 to rent a book in order to join that class, Well I am here to stop all these charges by a free public school in a free public school system. A child in a California Public School charged any such fees violates the California Constitution, which has provided for "free school" since 1879. Any school requiring students and families to pay for instructional materials is in violation of the free school guarantee! CHANGE YOUR POLICY TODAY OR THE ACLU WILL BE SEEING YOU IN LITIGATION.

Millikan High School 5

Posted October 22, 2012
- a parent
Strong academic programs, particularly QUEST. Great administrative leadership and excellent faculty. Safe and secure school with high expectations of its students.

Millikan High School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
The Compass program is great! Very creative teachers encourage my ninth and tenth grade students to be thoughtful and innovative in finding ways to serve the community.


Millikan High School 5

Posted July 17, 2011
- a community member
Teachers and staff are very helpfull. My PE Teacher Mr. Petkovic is the best. You never rest in his class. Just work, work, work, but results are there. Thanx for all the help!

Millikan High School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
We joined Millikan last year and the staff had been very welcoming and kind. After a great tragedy in my family this year, every one there treated my sons with the honor they deserved at that time. The staff has been working with my teens to get them headed in the right education path..which is college! Thanks everyone for all you have done and all you will do.

Nearby schools

Millikan High School
2800 Snowden Avenue, Long Beach, CA  90815-1436
(562) 425-7441
Last modified Millikan High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top