Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Long Beach, CA

4 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Millikan High School 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a student
I liked hanging out with Friends and meeting new friends. And when i was getting ready for the big shot in history i was looking around the big gym and the students where happy that i made the big shot hear all over the school and i sure wish i could go back for to see all of the staff again real soon.
1 person found this helpful

Millikan High School 5

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
My daughter graduated newcomb and decided to come to Millikan. It was a big step since my baby was no longer a baby and was heading high school. However as she comes close to finalizing her 9th grade I am glad to have chose Millikan high school. The teachers always helped her. Explained this to her and even gave her extra credit when needed. Thank you Millikan teachers and staff.


Millikan High School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
Millikan is an outstanding high school. My daughter completed her freshman year in the QUEST program and loved it! Faculty is accessible and there are many opportunities for parental involvement. I strongly recommend MHS!

Millikan High School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
I was very concerned about sending my son to such a large high school but Millikan has been amazing. Millikan and all of LB high schools deal with the huge student body with small learning communities which allow a student to be part of a smaller group. Students take classes within these groups and teachers are assigned to teach within these groups. My son is in QUEST - the high achieving/GATE program and he has just blossomed. I feel that his teachers know him and that his councilor knows him. This is true even with a student body of over 4000. I also must commend the SPED department. He is both gifted and disabled and they have been extremely supportive. I highly reccomend Millikan for any child who needs a strong academic program as well as a child who needs support. Great job Millikan. Can't wait to send son number 2 in a few years.

Millikan High School 3

Posted October 22, 2012
- a parent
The school is great BUT WAIT... Charging my child $2 everyday or every time they forget their student ID? NO NO NO NO This is a public school and my child does not have to pay even a dime for any school materials a law that was established back in 1879. BUT WAIT if my child forgets their book in one of their classes it is known that my child has to pay the teacher who is paid a salary $0.25 to rent a book in order to join that class, Well I am here to stop all these charges by a free public school in a free public school system. A child in a California Public School charged any such fees violates the California Constitution, which has provided for "free school" since 1879. Any school requiring students and families to pay for instructional materials is in violation of the free school guarantee! CHANGE YOUR POLICY TODAY OR THE ACLU WILL BE SEEING YOU IN LITIGATION.


Millikan High School 5

Posted October 22, 2012
- a parent
Strong academic programs, particularly QUEST. Great administrative leadership and excellent faculty. Safe and secure school with high expectations of its students.

Millikan High School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
The Compass program is great! Very creative teachers encourage my ninth and tenth grade students to be thoughtful and innovative in finding ways to serve the community.

Millikan High School 5

Posted July 17, 2011
- a community member
Teachers and staff are very helpfull. My PE Teacher Mr. Petkovic is the best. You never rest in his class. Just work, work, work, but results are there. Thanx for all the help!


Millikan High School 5

Posted November 21, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Millikan High School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
We joined Millikan last year and the staff had been very welcoming and kind. After a great tragedy in my family this year, every one there treated my sons with the honor they deserved at that time. The staff has been working with my teens to get them headed in the right education path..which is college! Thanks everyone for all you have done and all you will do.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Millikan High School
2800 Snowden Avenue, Long Beach, CA  90815
(562) 425-7441
Last modified Millikan High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Millikan High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top