Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Naples Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Living in Long Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $590,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,540.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 1, 2013

My son turned 5 after California's Kindergarten cut-off date, but he was a perfect candidate for TK. I started researching schools as soon as our family moved to Long Beach and applied through the school of choice at Naples as soon as I could for the 2012-2013 school year. The staff was very helpful with ensuring I got all paperwork in on time and even remembered who I was when I would call and ask questions. I was so ecstatic that he was chosen. The TK teacher is absolutely wonderful and dedicated 110% to ensuring success for her students. I feel very blessed to be a part of such a wonderful school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2012

Naples is an excellent school with great, caring staff and teachers with different teaching styles. I don't agree with parents that call our teachers MILITANT...I know military being a vet myself. What we have are teachers that teach responsibility and discipline that will follow them for the rest of their lives. Our teachers love our children and show them love an respect. My daughter had both so-called MILITANT teachers and she absolutely loves them! Sadly one has retired and will be missed. My son has the priviledge of being with the other teacher this year and he loves her too! Don't coddle your children...let them flourish under the guidance of these wonderful teachers. By the way...this teacher is the only teacher in Naples that has a program that visits the senior center on a regular basis. The children love it and so do the seniors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

This is a fantastic school with so many teachers, staff and parents highly committed to our childrens education experience. I would like to add to the comment on 2 teachers that are militant, etc. My child was in this classroom and she loves this teacher. There are many many kids that love this teacher. As I spent time in the classroom there were always,, repeat always, visits from former students saying Hi. There were also kids from high school coming back to say thanks for being so hard on me it's really helped me through school. I think it's a good blend, to prepare our children for the real world, life can be tough so the tough get going.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

The school is really cute. With two classes per grade it is small and cozy. I have never felt unwelcome or put off by the high socio-economic background of most families. The class size is low in comparison to a lot of Long Beach schools. My one major complaint is that they keep on staff 2 teachers that parents have tried to kick out of the school. They are teachers that academically capable, treat the children militantly. I've seen the children cower in fear and be treated harshly by one such teacher. This teacher does not even allow parents in the classroom. Which is a clear sign something is terribly wrong. Yet the school keeps them on staff. 1 fortunately is retiring this year. If it weren't for this the school would rate 5 stars. Keeping a teacher that terrorizes and intimidates children is horrendous. Tenure should be eliminated. It's a bad situation when you have children crying over stress and harsh, overly critical teaching. I don't expect all teacher to be Mary Poppins. I've never seen children treated this unkind though. These teachers need to retire or find a new line of work. The school should be protecting the children, not the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

This is the best school ever!!!!!! We got the highest star testing scores last year!!!! This is the right school for your kids to go!!!


Posted December 28, 2010

BEST SCHOOL EVER!!!!!!!! CANT GET A BETTER ONE! I LOVE IT!!! i have sooooo much fun here being a student. iam sooooo inpressed by how thne teachers make a lesson more fun, and easier to understand. (yet we get in trouble if our phones go off!)


Posted February 4, 2010

I absolutely love this school. My daughter just turned 5 in October, she is the youngest in her Kindergarten class. I have seen such an awesome progression in only 5 months. Mrs. Allen and Mrs. K are phenomenal with the kids. Mrs. Prince shows love to them all. This is an awesome school. I was sold when my daughter started learning how to speak in front of the class and answe in complete sentences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Naples is an all around great school. The teaching is exceptional and the principal couldn't be better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I love Naples because the teachers love our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Very good school for Leadership and Teachers. Great local school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

My child have is having a wonderful experiences at Naples - learning not just practical life lessons but also mathematics, writing and reading. I'd be hard-pressed to send her to any other public school at this point. We moved to this part of Long Beach to have are child attend a great school. I have a family of three and we could only live in a very small apartment for over a year because of the high rent in this part of town it has been so worth it! Invest now to get her in the right frame of mind for higher education later. At the rate all the kids at Naples are excelling I'm sure we can expect some scholarship opportunities later. Great teachers, staff and setting!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

The only possible criticism of Naples is, as others have pointed out, the focus on teaching to the state tests. On the other hand, both of my children are very happy there and are both learning much more than I did at that age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

I have two children at Naples. We love the involvement. The teachers are involved, the parents are involved and the principal is an absolute 10. We enjoy the small size as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

School looks good as a whole,but there are many problems internally that are not addressed. Children are primped for test scores but not general education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

I have 2 children at this school. We don't fit in the typical stereotype because we aren't blonde, gorgeous or rich, but nonetheless, the school is welcoming. The principals that have worked here since we came to the school five years ago all knew my children's names and their abilities. The teachers are kind. What you don't get in afterschool activities you do get in a small, sheltered school that almost seems like a private learning facility. Parents are heavily involved in the school and round up money at the drop of a hat to provide all sorts of activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2007

Excellent kindergarten program. Principal and Leadership Currently is good ,Teacher Quality is out standing ,Parent Involvement get A+ Safety and Discipline is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2007

There are some organization issues.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 21, 2006

Outstanding school. We recently moved here from out of state and had heard all the negative stories about the California public school system. However, what I found is that Naples is far more advanced academically than the school my child came from. The parental involvement and the quality of teachers here is exceptional. I give this school the highest marks possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2004

My son attended this school two years ago, but I removed him due to the unfairness of the staff and their critical treatment towards my son! I do not recommend this school nor will I ever recommend this school! Too many occurrances are swept under the rug and are made to seem unimportant or are overreactions by the child and the parent. This school has no recommendations by me, not now, not ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2004

My daughter was a student here from kindergaten to 5th grade. I found this school to be excellent. The teachers were all wonderful. I always felt my daughter's teachers cared and worked hard. The parents were all very involved and the school was very open to parental involvement. The after school program was very nice, too. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

947

Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

947

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Females97%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability98%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate87%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students97%
Females93%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only98%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate87%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females82%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate78%
Parent education - declined to state33%

Math

All Students84%
Females86%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Females96%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students95%
Females100%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability98%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Females87%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students83%
Females83%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students83%
Females83%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 26%
Two or more races 16% 3%
Hispanic 9% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 11%
Black 4% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5537 The Toledo
Long Beach, CA 90803
Phone: (562) 433-0489

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bay Shore School
Long Beach, CA




Maple Village School
Long Beach, CA



Mann Elementary School
Long Beach, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT