Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Naples Elementary School 5

Posted January 01, 2013
- a parent
My son turned 5 after California's Kindergarten cut-off date, but he was a perfect candidate for TK. I started researching schools as soon as our family moved to Long Beach and applied through the school of choice at Naples as soon as I could for the 2012-2013 school year. The staff was very helpful with ensuring I got all paperwork in on time and even remembered who I was when I would call and ask questions. I was so ecstatic that he was chosen. The TK teacher is absolutely wonderful and dedicated 110% to ensuring success for her students. I feel very blessed to be a part of such a wonderful school community.

Naples Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2012
- a parent
Naples is an excellent school with great, caring staff and teachers with different teaching styles. I don't agree with parents that call our teachers MILITANT...I know military being a vet myself. What we have are teachers that teach responsibility and discipline that will follow them for the rest of their lives. Our teachers love our children and show them love an respect. My daughter had both so-called MILITANT teachers and she absolutely loves them! Sadly one has retired and will be missed. My son has the priviledge of being with the other teacher this year and he loves her too! Don't coddle your children...let them flourish under the guidance of these wonderful teachers. By the way...this teacher is the only teacher in Naples that has a program that visits the senior center on a regular basis. The children love it and so do the seniors.


Naples Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
This is a fantastic school with so many teachers, staff and parents highly committed to our childrens education experience. I would like to add to the comment on 2 teachers that are militant, etc. My child was in this classroom and she loves this teacher. There are many many kids that love this teacher. As I spent time in the classroom there were always,, repeat always, visits from former students saying Hi. There were also kids from high school coming back to say thanks for being so hard on me it's really helped me through school. I think it's a good blend, to prepare our children for the real world, life can be tough so the tough get going.

Naples Elementary School 4

Posted May 10, 2012
- a parent
The school is really cute. With two classes per grade it is small and cozy. I have never felt unwelcome or put off by the high socio-economic background of most families. The class size is low in comparison to a lot of Long Beach schools. My one major complaint is that they keep on staff 2 teachers that parents have tried to kick out of the school. They are teachers that academically capable, treat the children militantly. I've seen the children cower in fear and be treated harshly by one such teacher. This teacher does not even allow parents in the classroom. Which is a clear sign something is terribly wrong. Yet the school keeps them on staff. 1 fortunately is retiring this year. If it weren't for this the school would rate 5 stars. Keeping a teacher that terrorizes and intimidates children is horrendous. Tenure should be eliminated. It's a bad situation when you have children crying over stress and harsh, overly critical teaching. I don't expect all teacher to be Mary Poppins. I've never seen children treated this unkind though. These teachers need to retire or find a new line of work. The school should be protecting the children, not the teachers.

Naples Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2011
- a community member
This is the best school ever!!!!!! We got the highest star testing scores last year!!!! This is the right school for your kids to go!!!


Naples Elementary School 5

Posted December 28, 2010
- a community member
BEST SCHOOL EVER!!!!!!!! CANT GET A BETTER ONE! I LOVE IT!!! i have sooooo much fun here being a student. iam sooooo inpressed by how thne teachers make a lesson more fun, and easier to understand. (yet we get in trouble if our phones go off!)

Naples Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2010
- a parent
I absolutely love this school. My daughter just turned 5 in October, she is the youngest in her Kindergarten class. I have seen such an awesome progression in only 5 months. Mrs. Allen and Mrs. K are phenomenal with the kids. Mrs. Prince shows love to them all. This is an awesome school. I was sold when my daughter started learning how to speak in front of the class and answe in complete sentences.

Naples Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Naples is an all around great school. The teaching is exceptional and the principal couldn't be better.


Naples Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
I love Naples because the teachers love our kids!

Naples Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
Very good school for Leadership and Teachers. Great local school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Naples Elementary School
5537 The Toledo, Long Beach, CA  90803
(562) 433-0489
Last modified Naples Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Naples Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top