Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Newcomb Academy

Public | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Long Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $425,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 15 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

75 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2014

I am a parent and have my 3 daughter, niece and nephew at this school and I am so blessed to have them attend Newcomb academy. The teachers, staff, programs and activities are amazing. My children have learned so much and cannot imagine leaving. One of my daughter's graduated 8th and another 5th. I hope my son can get accepted for 1st grade this coming school year since I know first hand the academic advancement my daughter's receive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2014

Good school, good teachers overall and lots of programs not in other long beach schools due to the strong support of the newcomb foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

My son transferred to this school in 6th grade and he is now in 7th grade. We were very nervous about the transfer. However, he has done very well with the transistion. He has made new friends and has done well in his classes. He also likes all of the elective options that are available, from band, chorus, Avid, photography, etc. We are glad that we made the move to Newcomb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

Newcomb is a great school. My oldest was accepted to Poly Pace and hit the ground running. The academics have been outstanding, with the highest standardized math scores in the District. Having Math+Music in elementary school has helped. The school is truly a community of involved parents who share a value of education and step forward to contribute. It may appear cliquish and pushy to those who aren't familiar, but newcomers are always welcomed. The PTSA and Foundation are strong, an provide opportunities to get involved and improve the children's educational experience. The principal is very approachable and knowledgeable. Our family has made lifelong friendships with other Newcomb families. Most of the teachers have been excellent. A few in particular are very passionate, competent and engaged with their teaching. Most are challenging, but nurturing. Not all meet this high standard, but from the experience of my kids, most do. Our family chose Newcomb as a school of choice and are quite happy with our decision. We are grateful for the great education and wonderful experiences our kids have had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2013

This school has been mixed, the new principle seems on top of things but boy does she have her work cut out for her. There is a huge divide and definitely NOT equal opportunity if your child is not in the accelerated or GATE(3rd and up)/PALS - (2nd Grade). The opportunities given to the gate kids' include participation in plays, extended science learning, introduction to more advanced concepts, in music they have opportunity to play instruments not available to the other students until later grades... it goes on. It's not pleasant to stand by and think how you are going to supplement your childs' education at home so they don't fall behind with the mediocrity they are receiving with a burned out mediocre non-gate identified class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

want to go to this school next year I am 6th grade and my mom says it is a good school I wish I could because it has a good rating


Posted November 14, 2012

I wish I had never sent my children to Newcomb. There are a few very good teachers, but more of the teachers are horrible. They humiliate the students and don't inspire the love of learning. The whole atmosphere at the school is of conformity and competition. We switched our kids into the Los Alamitos schools and our kids couldn't be happier. I wish I would have made the switch sooner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2012

Newcomb stinks! I completely regret sending my daughter there from K-2 grades. The teachers are rude and insensitive, The administration is argumentative and useless. We have been through many unpleasant situations! Please do not send your kids there. The whole staff should be fired and they should begin again. My daughter is going elsewhere in the fall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2012

Newcomb Academy is an outstanding school. My child has received an excellent education. Has every teacher been great -- no. However, the overwheming majority have been excellent. I considered transferring my daughter to Los Al for middle school and am so glad I didn't make that choice. After having talked to parents that did, I have heard mixed reviews. No school is perfect but Newcomb is as close as I have found.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2011

Newcomb was a soul crushing experience for my sons, particularly for one who had a mild learning disability in written language (only). Since the staff there is used to children who are "easy" to teach (GATE is a huge population) they had no idea how to help him and ended up setting him up for both academic and social failures. He was stuck at a back table for reading instruction being poked by an aide (even though he was advanced on the STAR every year!) and allowed to be bullied and ridiculed by his peers daily because of his teachers ignorance. We transferred to Los Alamitos (Oak) where he thrived under their excellent and current instructional techniques. They use encouragement and actually teach the kids instead of sending them home with reports for the parents to write or teach. In Los Al, he earned a perfect score on the Social Studies STAR in 8th, and advanced in LA & Science because of their skills. Go the extra mile (literally) to Los Al. It is one of the best decisions I have ever made. It was a life changing experience for us since he is now in high school, LOVES school, is very active and has many wonderful friends. Save your child and family years of anguish!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

My daughter finished Kindergarten and will be entering the first grade in September. I have had nothing but good experiences at Newcomb and am looking forward to having a new principal. The teachers are caring and get involved and the PTA is constantly looking for ways to improve the school. Do I think the school is perfect? No, but I don't think any school is. I do believe my daughter is getting a solid education and that's what is important to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

My kids and I are very happy at Newcomb Academy. My children have attended this school since Kindergarten and are staying through 8th grade. We have had a positive experience with every teacher and when a problem arose, we sat down and discussed how to solve it. Of all the K-5th grade teachers, I have only been unhappy with one that teaches Third grade and that was due to the lack of Language Arts in her class. The office staff is short staffed due to budget cuts but parent volunteers help out by answering phones and attending to the front counter. I think we have a great thing going with a decent administration, great teachers, parent participation and the Foundation. I believe those who have problems at Newcomb may have problems wherever they attend. I know first hand that many of the students that leave for middle school do so for guaranteed admittance to Los Alamitos High School since it is around the corner. I am looking forward to another year here and the new principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

My daughter has had a wonderful experience at Newcomb. She has gotten Wonderful scores on her STAR Testing each year. Transferring to Newcomb wad the best thing for her. The office staff has been pleasant however could use a little polishing with their customer service skills. If you want your child to get a great education and be prepared for high school. Newcombe is the place for your child. With a new Principal this year I see an even brighter future at Newcomb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2011

I agree with a previous post that Newcomb is a harsh environment (prying parents is true also), so if you are looking for a positive experience, don t take a chance on sending your children here or worse, purchasing a house to go here like we did. Newcomb is my neighborhood school and unfortunately I felt forced to pull my kids out and send them to nearby Los Alamitos schools (along with literally dozens other families from this neighborhood). Some of the teachers are wonderful and caring educators; however, another group of teachers at Newcomb are so proud of being considered witches that they decorated the teachers lounge with a banner labeled Coven along with their pictures decorated with witches hats, etc (it was up for months not for Halloween). This is a crystal clear example of a broken administration which allows a hostile environment for families, students, and those poor other good teachers who have to work there. I understand that a new principal is coming good luck to him/her for the sake of all the parties affected by this hostility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

During the process of selecting my two toddler's kindergarden school I contacted Newcomb Academy School and spoke with the Administrative Staff who, were absolutely rude. The staff had no interests in answering any of my questions. Rather, I was immediately asked my home zip code (I live in between Wardlow & Stevely Ave/zip 90808); and I was immediately cut off and told that Newcomb was not part of my school district. Who are we kidding? I am very well aware that Newcomb buses children who, belong to other school districts. After receiving the treatment I did over the phone by the Administrative Staff; and reading the negative reviews, I now have asolutely no interest in enrolling my children in Newcomb Academy. Good impressions towards a school begin at the Office Administrative level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

After a horrid experience this year at Newcomb, I had no choice but to pull my two children from this school. We live in the Newcomb neighborhood, however, my children will now attend the Los Alamitos School district. The bullying that is allowed at this school because the administration is too weak to address the parents of the bullies is beyond ridiculous. I informed the district about this situation and they did absolutely nothing. The office is run by "volunteer" PTA members who listen to private student matters and later discuss them in depth with their colleagues outside of school. Some of the teachers just ramble into school and feel they are above addressing parents concerns. The good teachers are far and few between. I stopped volunteering because I could not tolerate watching how lazy the teachers are interacting with the students. Your child deserves more...please send them somewhere else where they will get the attention, kindness, education and direction they deserve!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

Newcomb has a great Middle School staff! The teachers genuinely care! They communicate well with each other .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2011

I am very happy with Newcomb's music department. Newcomb is continuing to expand their music program. Kindergarten - third grade take piano keyboarding lessons. 3rd -5th grade learn string and band instruments. Over 75% of middle school students continue their music studies. Mrs. Shea adn Mrs Ohl are amazing music teachers. Ms Fuchs is an amazing piano teacher. It is amazing to see the kinders learn to play the piano so easily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2011

This school is great, I can't be happier. Communication between teachers and parents is great, I always receive some kind of feedback on how my daugther is doing at school either verbal from her teacher beacuse I inquire about or via the in class work or homework that is sent home everyday. I have received calls from the principal to inform us of major family events taking place at school, she is friendly and always out in the school campus keeping an eye on the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2011

Newcomb has a fantastic staff and great teachers and is all brought together by a principal who takes great strides in creating a warm, respectable and responsible school and surroundings. The many activities keep the parents involved and up to date. My daughter had her pick of schools for middle school and chose to stay at Newcomb where she has been since grade K.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

914

Change from
2012 to 2013

-6

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

914

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-6

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
88%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
29%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females68%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state71%

Math

All Students86%
Females82%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females83%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state67%

Math

All Students88%
Females92%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Females100%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Non-economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability98%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)95%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students95%
Females96%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)90%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Females87%
Males78%
African American73%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state82%

Math

All Students83%
Females76%
Males89%
African American82%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state82%

Science

All Students79%
Females76%
Males82%
African American73%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Females84%
Males85%
African American81%
Asian69%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females76%
Males81%
African American63%
Asian69%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disability50%
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Females91%
Males82%
African American81%
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state86%

Math

All Students78%
Females82%
Males72%
African American57%
Asian88%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students93%
Females93%
Males91%
African American76%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Females93%
Males77%
African American83%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students17%
Females18%
Males15%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino17%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged0%
Non-economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability19%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only19%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students84%
Females82%
Males85%
African American78%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students90%
Females90%
Males91%
African American91%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate80%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 26%
Hispanic 26% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 11%
Black 11% 6%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Wendy Sowinski
Fax number
  • (562) 430-2359

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7020 E. Brittain Street
Long Beach, CA 90808
Phone: (562) 421-8851

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hawaiian Elementary School
Hawaiian Gardens, CA


Seat of Wisdom Academy
Long Beach, CA


Aslan Academy
Cypress, CA


Keller Elementary
Long Beach, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT