Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 56 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


59 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Polytechnic High School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a community member
I dont know i am foriegner here and want to take admission here lets see how cooperative this school is hope for the best

Polytechnic High School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a teacher
Many opportunities, some great teachers. Large campus. Great Athletics. Great AP program Great music program


Polytechnic High School 1

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
hate this new methid of core teaching. students are cluless and dont learn any thing, Lazy teachers (geometry teacher for CIC) even get lazier and dont even teach, they put everything on kids to figure out (assuming they are college kid). it is a absoulte disaster at school. and nobody cares.

Polytechnic High School 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
Poly is an amazing high school. I've had two children (one is still there) go through the PACE program is academically rigorous and provides an excellent preparation for college. The teachers are phenomenal and take a genuine interest in their students. The sports and music programs are incredible. The diversity at Poly is provides a real world experience. Some people might be nervous about sending their kids to Poly because of the area. Neither of my children have ever had any issue with other students or anyone in the area. I drive 32 miles a day to get my son to and from school and I live half a block from a different high school. I wouldn't have it any other way. There is nothing like Poly pride!
1 person found this helpful

Polytechnic High School 5

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
My son is just completing his freshman year in Poly's Pace Program. He has had a wonderful year, both academically and socially. His teachers challenge him, and he rises to the challenge. We love the diversity and cohesiveness that is found at Poly, all the kids bleed green and gold. Go Jackrabbits!!
1 person found this helpful


Polytechnic High School 5

Posted May 29, 2011
- a community member
I love Poly, my father, and sister went there as well. It is one of the more successful schools (certainly one of the biggest) in the nation. The size of the school and it's location in the inner city could certainly be a concern or mitigating factor. If my children went to Poly, it would certainly be as a participant in one of the magnet programs, e.g. PACE or CIC. If you want your kid to grow up with a diversity of ideas, awesome sports program and national class magnet curriculum- don't be afraid, check it out.
1 person found this helpful

Polytechnic High School 5

Posted May 22, 2011
- a community member
this school is terrific good job lbusd im proud of this school even though it has a reputation

Polytechnic High School 4

Posted May 21, 2011
- a parent
Poly in a huge inner city school. Racially diverse, although lacking caucasians. Ultra advanced PACE program est. in 1975 to encourage caucasian participation in the school and raise school test scores, only top 10% of the school district is even elegible and must competitively apply. Overall excellent sports programs, though facillities aging and inadequate. Students cannot utilize book lockers @ school because of administrations concern over weapons and drugs. Most restrooms locked and no restroom ussage for weekend & summer sports pracices (see reason for no book lockers) which creates akward situations to say the least. Over 30 AP offerings, many foreign languages offered, two years of calculus offered, Exceptional music programs. Lacks adequate parking. School always locked down w/ steel bars, I.D. required...similar to minimum security prison. School spirit is exceptional. School is over 100 years old. School colors Gold & Green. School sports programs funded by parents, private donations w/ small coaching stipeds paid by school only. Approx. 5000 students (largest high school in southern section of C.I.F.). Mascot : Jackrabbit.
1 person found this helpful


Polytechnic High School 3

Posted January 23, 2011
- a student
Poly High School was a good school to attend. I was very happy with the teachers and staff.

Polytechnic High School 3

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
My son goes there and the school is very large. They could use the money.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Polytechnic High School
1600 Atlantic Avenue, Long Beach, CA  90813
(562) 591-0581
Last modified Polytechnic High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Polytechnic High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. Top