Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Prisk Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
Though there are a few bright shining stars at the school, many of the teachers do you not have high quality instruction in their classrooms.

Prisk Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
Teachers assign at home projects. Don't they know that parents are the ones who usually complete those projects?


Prisk Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
When students are being taught at such a low levels, how could they develop persistence, grit, and determination?

Prisk Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
I know that the school does have character education programs, but I am not aware of any other programs.

Prisk Elementary School 2

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
Prisk used to be the school that everyone wanted their child to go to. In recent years, the rigor of academics has dropped dramatically. Though there still are a few standout teachers, the majority is not up to par with nearby schools.


Prisk Elementary School 5

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
We came to Prisk for the strong STEAM focus (2 science, 2 engineering, 2 computer labs, 2 art studios), but we love this school for much more than that. Prisk has so much more to offer than its amazing 21st century curriculum. Aside from excellent, caring teachers, Prisk also has a very warm and welcoming community. This school feels like home and new friends feel like family. My first grader looks forward to school everyday. My incoming kinder asks almost daily if it's time for him to become a pioneer. Prisk is the place to be if you are looking for a whole education for your child.

Prisk Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2014
- a parent
We love this school! We have an excellent PTA, upper and lower grade science and computer labs as well as a new engineering lab.

Prisk Elementary School 4

Posted January 27, 2013
- a community member
As a retired teacher and grandparent of two students at Prisk, I would not quite agree with the outstanding reviews posted. The first grade level needs to look more closely at the staff and perhaps a replacement is called for at least one of the classrooms. Kindergarten and second grade are outstanding, as has been 3rd - 5th for our older grandson. He will be sad to leave the individual academic attention he has received.


Prisk Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2013
- a parent
My son is in Kindergarten at Prisk and he is LOVING it there. Prisk's staff is top-notch, and our experience with Mrs. Rodriguez and Mrs. Stanton have left us very impressed. Principal Young cares about her students very much - one shining example that sticks out in my mind was when my son was being honored with an award and the school assembly was starting, and our son was having a hard time getting there, pretending he was sick. Mrs. Young came and personally comforted him and escorted him to the assembly, at which he was beaming when he got his award. Mrs. Young has always been there for our son, and I'm sure most parents at the school feel the same way. Mrs. Stanton has been exceptional this year, as was Mrs. Rodriguez last year....our son is sad to go home because he has such a good time in his class! There is also a great PTA program at this school. There are always opportunities for involved parents to help out,. I am very grateful that my son is getting his first exposure to primary education here, as I'm sure they are giving him a love for learning that will last for the next 12-16 years (and on)!

Prisk Elementary School 5

Posted December 26, 2012
- a parent
Extremely happy with Prisk elementary. Mrs. Young (principal) is involved and caring, not only with her staff but with students and parents! She is a hustler and a go getter - My son is now in 1st grade with Mrs. Koerner ... wonderful teacher! ... the 2 years we have been there have been nothing but pleasant. We are looking forward to the following years!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Prisk Elementary School
2375 Fanwood Avenue, Long Beach, CA  90815-2114
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (562) 598-9601
Last modified Prisk Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top