Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rogers Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 875 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 22, 2014

I am currently an 8th grader at Rogers Middle School and honestly im really sad to be leaving this year. This has been the best 3 years if my life, I have made so many new friends and i just absolutly love it. The teachers and staff are absoulutely amazing they are all so helpful and caring. Personally i have never really had any problems with any teachers and i have learned so much from them all. If you are looking to send your children here i highly reccomend it, its a great school.


Posted January 29, 2014

My son is in the 5th grade and I am fervently looking for a great middle school with great teacher and staff. The office staff at any school carrys the tone for the whole school experience. After reader the comment from Roger's office requesting that a parent take there child out of the school, my opinion on Roger's as a choice school has dropped. Just because Roger's has a list doesn't mean it is a Great school. It doent even have the diversity students need to experience in life... Those budget cuts have created segregation in our schools. So...office staff thanks for being honest and showing your true colors. God Bless
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

While I know that test scores only tell part of the story, RMS test scores are the highest of any middle school in LBUSD. Our principal is very involved, and I cannot say enough about our amazing teachers and staff. We frequently have more teachers that parents at our monthly PTA meetings! The instrumental music program at Rogers is the best. We have been at Rogers for four years, will be here for four more and wouldn't want our boys anywhere else. Go Mustangs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

My daughter is entering 8th grade at Rogers and I have a son entering 6th grade this year. Our first year had it's ups and downs and I felt "out of the loop" until I started getting involved. Attending the PTA meetings is vital as many of the teachers attend and it's a good time to get to know them and their viewpoints. The new principal is fantastic and involved with the kids. She is definitely on top of things and looking to continue the success of the school. The music program is incredible and the best in the district, by far. There is a reason this school has the highest test scores in the district. The teachers hold the kids to high expectations and the students rise to those expectations. There are lots of opportunities outside of the classroom for school involvement (sports, drama, clubs etc.). I'm very happy that my children are attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2013

My child's first year at Rogers was very good, but her second year has been a real problem. She has been in accelerated classes which means a great deal of homework and complicated, long term projects in all of the subjects. I find that while the teachers are experienced in their subjects, few of them are experienced in children. Middle school is a difficult time for children who are transitioning from babyhood to teen and to have teachers with attitudes that clearly say, "just do the work, I don't care if you're changing or not" has been a disappointment. I thought that being a "Great School" meant that the teachers also understood child development; meaning "the whole child." Additionally, they don't call or write to let you know if the child is experiencing problems in their class. So you end up finding out when it's too late to do anything about it. Three of my child's teachers had an attitude like I should have known what was going on in their classes. How could I have known if they didn't tell me? Most of them don't use SchoolLoop for posting assignments. This is just wrong. And then they take weeks to update the grades. There's a lot that needs work at this "Great School."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

My daughter is going into the 8th grade at Rogers. She has liked all of her teachers but one and I have liked all but one (different from the teacher she didn't like. Hence, 4 stars -pretty good odds, though). The administration has been fantastic. They actually hold the kids accountable for their actions! As a parent of a middle school kid (and one who has been a substitute teacher in the district), I, too, love Rogers. My daughter did not go to one of the nearby elementary schools, but has never felt like an outsider. She has made many new friends, most of whom I like as well. The office personnel has always been very nice and accommodating. We are quite happy with the staff, the faculty, and the student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2012

As a parent of an 8th grader I have seen the "boring" assignments aka worksheets and copying definitions as well as many opportunities and even requirements for creativity.. There are many projects which allow for individualized work. We are in he GATE program so I can't speak for the whole school. In GATE there are often options for the way the child wants to learn. I believe it is usually the class size that inhibits individualized teaching (and sometimes even teacher grading-- I understand having your peers grade your paper in math where there is one right answer,. But in english to have a weak writer critique a strong writer's paper?). Like any school there are some stronger and weaker teachers and some that are a good fit for one kid and not another. And even a good teacher can have a bad year (ever had a parent with cancer? Kind of affects your work). I have found the teachers to be VERY open to my questions and concerns. Except one....who is (drumroll) now gone. Yes, parent concerns were addressed! I have also gotten immediate action on both academic and peer concerns from administrators who listened very respectfully.they were also responsive to my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2012

After reading the review from 2/21, I felt compelled to respond. I am one of those office workers that the writer thinks is rude. I think we have one of the best office staffs in the district and this is constantly confirmed by visitors. My only advise to this parent is that if you are this unhappy, why are you still here. We have a very long waiting list of students who would like to attend this awesome school, so we could use the space.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 5, 2012

It's such a shame that more parents don't have time to post reviews here, because one unhappy parent with plenty of time on their hands can completely skew the ratings. Rogers is an amazing school, the administration and staff are very caring, ESPECIALLY the office workers. The teachers work very hard to engage the kids in learning and provide opportunities for creativity and self expression throughout the year. The school's budget has been more impacted than many other schools during this time of crisis because of a loss of funding due to a slight socioeconomic shift in the population, and yet the level of education has remained the same or improved. The music program is phenomenal and a very small portion of the parents work very, very hard to raise the money necessary to provide the opportunities for all of the music students to be able to travel and participate in competitions. Of course, those parents are the ones who are too busy to post here, and those who have enough time to post negative reviews clearly are not involved enough in their child's education to know what is actually happening at Rogers. It is hands down the best middle school in Long Beach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

If you are stuck with a kid in this school, be assured that it seems not to be typical of LBUSD. The teachers give boring assignments. The administration is uncaring. Even the secretaries in the office are rude to parents and students alike. The emphasis is on discipline, keeping kids in line and passing standardized tests. Assignments discourage creativity; more often than not my kids are asked to do an assignment by filling out a template. Any variation from the template will bring them a bad grade. The music instruction in this school is great, but favoritism, often purchased through an annual fundraiser, is obvious and reigns. So you can have a kid who is talented, but if you aren't a music administrator in LBUSD, your kid will not be in a prominent position. You can buy your kid a good chair in the orchestra by bidding on a day with the music teacher at Disneyland. I have other children in elementary and high schools in LBUSD where there are caring teachers, kind administrators and even coaches who demonstrate profound interest in students. It is very, very hard to find anything like that at Rogers Middle School. If you can, stay away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2011

I am currently a student at Rogers Middle school and it is such a wonderful and amazing school! The teachers are so helpful and provide you with a wonderful educational experience! The teachers have so many excellent ways to teach us in a fun, but educational way! I love this school. I wouldn't want to be in any school other than Rogers.


Posted November 30, 2010

Rogers MIddle School is amazing! I luv it and am currently an eight grader and am so depressed to be leaving this great school. The gate program is awesome and the campus, although smaller than Stanford is acceptable with the huge field of grass. Our girl, boys soccer is the best and so are our girls volleyball. If you are advance in these sports and even track and field than i recommend that you attend Rogers. WE took it to the nationals all three years that i was here. The teachers are great especially the music teacher. All of his students love him and they advance day after day after attending his music class. I HIGHLY recommend him if you are interested in music. The teachers are great although some would need a little more effort than usual, but that is why you have your mates to talk to. :) You will instantly make new friends i guarantee it! The academic program is terrific and the neighborhood is amazing with Lowell Elementary right next door.


Posted March 25, 2010

Rogers is a great school. i'm currently a 7th grader. Some of the teachers are mean and strict but there are some awesome teachers. they are really good teachers too, i learn a lot. i really hate the uniform. overall i definitely recomend rogers. ive had kinda fun for the 2 years ive been here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2010

I hate this school it is a horrible enviornment the teachers are unexxperienced and un caring and the uniforms do not allow us to express our creativity i understand uniforms are to eliminate the 'my clothes ate better than yours' but still i think it reppresses students creativity there are also too many chick cliques so rude any way i do not recommend this school dont be fooled by its 'small school charm' that adds insult to injury.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2010

I have just joined Rogers Middle School as a 6th grader, and honestly, THIS SCHOOL ROCKS! We have sooo much fun there, and I highly recommend the school. And if, parents, you have a child who isn't in the age of middle school years, it is literally right next to the elementary school- Lowell. I also went there and it is so cool as well. At Rogers, the principal is so nice and kind, and so is every other staff. This is the middle school you should choose.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2010

I've just joined rogers as a 6th grader, its been truly amazing and fun! I might never want to leave! If you are looking for a good music program, this is the best place! The music teacher this year is the best. He is so funny and awesome! HE ROCKS! I think I've said too much, come see for yourself!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2009

I love my school! this year our sports teams were undefeated and our test scores were above our average! if u are looking for great teachers, sports teams, after school programs, or music programs we have them!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2009

I love this school. Everybody is nice and care about each other. But the people who takes the bus to come here aren't nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2009

Middle School can be scary as a parent. But at Rogers the safety and well-being of every child is top priority. Teachers greet students with a smile, and the students respond instantly. I have wandered the halls frequently this past year and find the teaching to be engaging and challenging. (And I wonder how these other parents know about the teachers, because I am there a lot and don't see many parents!) Fantastic administration, great teachers, and an atmosphere for learning that is both comfortable and inviting, even to the most apathetic teen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2009

this is the best school in the world! it is better than stanford! it has the best teachers in the world, who are educated and super duper nice!! there is nothing more that to say i am left speechless!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

927

Change from
2012 to 2013

+6

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

927

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+6

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
53%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

279 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Females87%
Males85%
African American62%
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disability53%
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate73%
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state85%

Math

All Students78%
Females81%
Males76%
African American62%
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability40%
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduate64%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to state73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Females90%
Males88%
African American75%
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate85%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females79%
Males78%
African American53%
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students90%
Females89%
Males90%
African American75%
Asian88%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state92%

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Females84%
Males85%
African American74%
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate72%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to state78%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students56%
Females48%
Males61%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disability25%
Students with no reported disability64%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)39%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state27%

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students82%
Females79%
Males84%
African American50%
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate80%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to state65%

Science

All Students90%
Females91%
Males90%
African American75%
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate86%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 27%
Hispanic 27% 51%
Black 10% 7%
Asian 8% 11%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Thomas Huff
Fax number
  • (562) 434-0581

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

365 Monrovia Avenue
Long Beach, CA 90803
Phone: (562) 434-7411

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bay Shore School
Long Beach, CA



Zinsmeyer Academy
Long Beach, CA




Bethany School
Long Beach, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT