Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Cyprian Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
I have 3 kids enrolled in this school and we are very happy with the education they are receiving. The school is small and everyone knows the students. My 4th and 2nd grader are both reading above their grades and are challenged academically. My preschooler has a full day curriculum that focuses on socialization and academics. I would recommend this school to everyone.

St. Cyprian Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a community member
St. Cyprian Parish school has been the foundation on which a great education has been set for my son. He has just entered second grade there and the tools he has learned from pre-k -1st grade have prepared him for an awesome year in 2nd grade. The faculty are like a family to all who attend.


St. Cyprian Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a community member
My grandkids are enrolled at St. Cyprian and I have had the opportunity to pick them up at times. I've observed a very family oriented environment, a lot of parental involvement and respect for everybody. I am very proud of my grandkids achievements and the way they are academically challenged to bring up the best of them. I like this school and I believe my grandkids are receiving a high quality education.

St. Cyprian Elementary School 5

Posted November 29, 2012
- a parent
I love this school, the teachers and all the complete environment .really make you feel as a home, as a family . The students respect each other and the big "brothers" care for the smallest one. My son is learning about God, respect , sciences, accelerate reading , dance .... really i feel SUPER comfortable my son be in a secure school, where adult people treat well kids and cares for the, I can feel it!

St. Cyprian Elementary School 1

Posted October 28, 2012
- a community member
The quality of this school is not what it used to be under the previous administration. Enrollment has dropped considerably and is no where near 248, as posted here. The administration has removed the word CATHOLIC from their official school name. One example of what the school is currently involved with: The 7th grade is doing a fundraiser for Susan G. Komen foundation - an organization which is known to provide abortions and birth control - clearly against the teachings of the Roman Catholic Church.


St. Cyprian Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2012
- a parent
St. Cyprian Is an amazing community of learners. The students are challenged academically every day and the faculty and administration strive to educate the whole child. Catholic religion is taught daily and faith and and compassion are modeled at all times. Students receive music, computer, and PE from specialized teachers. Spanish was added this year to the junior high classes. I have always found the principal to be willing to take the time to listen to the students and the parents and from that work to continually improve and grow the school. Accelerated Reader, Accelerated Math, Mad Science, Meet the Masters, and the list goes on. My children are definitely getting a complete education.

St. Cyprian Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2012
- a parent
This is an amazing school. The teachers are very supportive of each and every student and take the time to communicate with you regarding your child's individual needs. The principal is enthusiastic and works hard to involve parents and the community in every aspect of making sure that the children many opportunities available to them. The after-school staff is wonderful and cares for every child as if they were there own. Due to the great teaching my child is reading 2 years above grade level and is excited about going to school each and every day.

St. Cyprian Elementary School 1

Posted December 31, 2011
- a parent
We had a terrible experience at this school. The teachers are not monitored by the administration, there is no professional development, the teachers teach in archaic ways and the campus is small and needs multiple renovations. The administration is not supportive of the parents and lacks in leadership. I would not recommend this school.


St. Cyprian Elementary School 5

Posted July 02, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has been at St. Cyprians for two years and it has been a great experience. As more and more programs are being cut from public schools more are being added to St. Cyprians. The principal is dynamic and leads from the front. A wonderful school that is challaging academically and intensely faith based.

St. Cyprian Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 28, 2010
- a parent
After-school-care is awesome. This is a safe school and bullying isn't tolerated. Some teachers are phenomenal, but there are a few horribly medicore ones. The pre-alegbra teacher is very talented--don't understand why he isn't teaching all the middle school math classes. There's a new rule asking parents to donate 30 hours of time--single parents must put in the same hours as a husband-wife. Service hours can be purchased, but that would push the overall yearly cash donation to about $850.00 ($400 is required outside the service hours. Cash donations are standard at Catholic schools). The librarian -- an amazing individual and positive and caring force at the school -- was let go this year due to budget problems. Teachers can take children to the library to check out books, but it's sad to see what once an incredible library otherwise closed.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Cyprian Elementary School
5133 East Arbor Road, Long Beach, CA  90808
(562) 425-7341
Last modified St. Cyprian Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Cyprian Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top