Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Maria Goretti

Private | K-8 | 134 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Long Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $425,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 19, 2013

St. Maria Goretti School has a faith and friendly environment. The community is united to serve so that their children may soar in faith and academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2012

We are really happy at SMG! My son is loving it here and looks forward to going to school. The athletic fields are fantastic with plenty of room for the kids to play,(with real grass)! He gets to play in all the sports and is having a great time. They work them hard in the classroom and give them plenty to do. Teachers are always willing to meet and discuss performance. Overall a great school and a good value!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2012

We love this school. We just finished our first year at SMG and we are beyond happy to be at this school. The teachers are excellent and enthusiastic. They incorporate technology in the class room, which is important in this super technological world we live in. My child's self esteem is at all time high from being around awesome Christian educators and classmates. The campus is enormous with a field/grass area, trees and a baseball field, which we love. The sports programs are great and all the kids participate. The SMG community of people are friendly, welcoming and always willing to volunteer for events and functions. The Principal is an amazing educational leader. The academic programs are challenging. Several of the eighth grade graduates made it into the University Scholars Program at SJB, thanks to the great educators at our school. If you are looking for a great school, this is it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

A blessing in Long Beach! This school has great academic programs, technology, green play area, religious education, and community service. I have seen a lot of progress with my son since he has started at SMG four years ago. But what I love most about the school is the safe, caring environment and community of learners from the Kinder students to the 8th graders. The faculty and staff are wonderful and welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

Our daughter enjoys going to Saint Maria Goretti (SMG) and we could not be happier. The principal, teachers, other staff, and parents we ve met are excellent. When we attend various SMG events, we definitely get a sense of community. We feel fortunate to find a school that not only has high academic standards, but also high behavioral standards as well. It s gratifying to watch our daughter gain a solid foundation in education and values. We also like that SMG has one of the most diverse student populations (based on the various schools we visited in the area), something we considered very important to assist our daughter in her ability to relate to and understand the cultural experiences and values of others. If you are looking for a good private school, we highly recommend you check out SMG.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2011

St. Maria Goretti offers small class sizes and a community feel for an affordable price. The teachers work well with parents and the principal is supportive. My child is happy at this school. Families are involved and kids get along well. All classrooms are equipped with laptops, LCD projectors and students use the technology frequently. Overall, a smart choice for elementary and middle school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

I am very pleased to be sending my kids to such a wonderful school! They have small classes - enabling the teachers to give the kids more individual attention. The teachers are outstanding, the principal is the best (she knows every child by name!). There is a great sense of community here. After our experience with public school, I wouldn't even consider leaving St. Maria Goretti!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2010

Not only do children learn academics at this school, they also learn how to be in the world. SMG students are intelligent, tech savvy, friendly, kind to one another and to the earth. My son is in 2nd grade and we are very happy to have made this investment in his future. SMG offers small class sizes, which means more hands on and individualized learning. They have a lot of green space, so health and fitness are part of the school day. And also, the added benefit of the close-knit community where teachers and parents know each other is priceless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2010

Three of my kids have attended to St Maria Goretti and I am very greatfull for finding this school, the teachers are awsome they are very dedicated, the Principal is very careing and the kids love her, the classes are very small compared to other schools. Academics are great and they also have all kinds of sports including golf, track, volleyball,baseball, football, basketball. They have computers in the classrooms, and I could go on and on, all I can say is a family enviroment, and most important they teach good morals and religion which to me is the fundament of everything. Thank you St Maria Goretti you rock.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

I'm so blessed to have had a parent refer my child to SMG. Small school, very dedicated teachers and a great principal. My child has a great balance of academics, religion and friends. I'm confident she will excel in HS and beyond because of her education at SMG.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

My only child is a student at St. Maria Goretti and I thank God for the blessings he bestowed upon our family by helping us find this school. All the teachers are dedicated and caring. I am sure they put in many hours with all the students. The principal is at every event and knows every child by name. I highly reccomend St. Maria Goretti.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2008

I also have a child that graduated and is doing very well in High School. But that was before the cuurent principal took over. I have a child that is graduating and her stardadized test score have declined the past 2 years. I suspect that this is true across the board among students the past 2 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2008

St. Maria Goretti provides a second home for my 2 kids. I have one daughter that has already graduated, and is very successful at a demanding private high school in the area. St. Maria Goretti has a perfect balance between a caring heart, high expectations, and discipline. The principal is extremely dedicated, and the teachers provide our kids with quality time, understanding that each child has different needs that should be addressed, and do this without lowering the high standards of the entire class. They are examples of catholic teaching by providing a loving environment and exemplifying what a Catholic should be in everyday life (morals, ethics, dress codes, no tattoos, conduct, etc)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2008

My son is the 8th from our family to attend SMG. He went to public school for kindergarten/speech last year. There is no comparison. SMG is the best it's ever been. The principal and staff are wonderful, available and open to new ideas. The classroom experiences are quite unique. Our extra curricular activities are the best. My son has learned so much this year and has the best first grade teacher that I could ask for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2008

I am a former student of Saint Maria Goretti School and like many of the students i didn't appreciate what it had to offer. i got in a lot of trouble there and was nearing being expelled. I had problems with a former principal that cared more for rules and dress codes than he did about the students. I am now finishing my Junior year in Saint John Bosco High School and look at my younger brother who is in first grade at SMG. He loves the school, and in just a couple of years the new principal, Mrs. Fitzpatrick, has done a wonderful job turning the school around. I only wish that I could of had the same experience as him. But I am grateful my brother gets to experience an amazingly new school than I did


Posted May 21, 2008

SMG is an excellent school that I highly recommend. They have finally got the right principal and the staff is outstanding. Not to mention the beautiful campus, family environment, and the great relationship between the school and parish. Everyone works together as one, and everyone is welcome. My child has been going to SMG since Kindergarten and will be graduating this year, and I would like to say thank you SMG for the outstanding education my chid has received. God Bless SMG.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

SMG is an excellent school both academically and spiritually. The current principal is ALWAYS available, reasonable, and fair. (My son has had to visit her a couple of times.) This is a principal that spends more time at the school than she does her own home. She is always there trying and succeeding at making SMG the best school in Long Beach. The largest class has 20 students enrolled. The teachers are able to work with all of the students giving instruction in a way that fits all learning styles. The teachers love our kids or at least they make us feel like they do. <ggg> SMG has offered our family a small school environment that builds character and has allowed my son to excel academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

I highly recommend SMG. I drive my kids 30 min. just to get them there. The diversity, small class size, spacious campus and weekly mass are just a few of the reasons we love SMG. As for the education, my child is entering high school at an above average level along with many others that have attended SMG K-8th grade!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

All 3 of my children graduated from SMG and have gone on to be stellar students and prepared, informed young adults. We chose the school because of the warm, caring environment and were not dissapointed. SMG honestly cares about each and every child and their personal development- hard to find these days. The teachers go out of their way to support the kids and all their extra cirricular activites. Send your child to Goretti and you wont be dissapointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

I have two children attending SMG. They transfered from one of the best public schools in Long Beach. I firmly believe that SMG is one of the best schools in the area, and wish we had put both of our children in the school from the first day of kindergarten. The quality of education far exceeds that of our public schools. Additionally, the sense of community and a positive hands on attitude among the other parents is beyond measure.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 52% 52%
White 25% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 11%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Black 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kathleen Hernandez
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3950 Palo Verde Avenue
Long Beach, CA 90808
Phone: (562) 425-5112

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Henry K-8
Long Beach, CA


Monroe K-8
Lakewood, CA



Keller Elementary
Long Beach, CA



Cubberley K-8
Long Beach, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT