Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
180 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bethany Lutheran School 5

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
We love Bethany! It is an amazing school! My children are receiving a top-notch education and are daily encouraged and loved as children of God. The teachers are knowledgeable and caring and the programs are exploratory! We would very highly recommend Bethany to all!

Bethany Lutheran School 5

Posted February 01, 2016
- a community member
Both of my children were educated at Bethany Lutheran K-8 grade. They would not be the people they are today without attending this school and receiving a well-rounded Christian education that provides a family like atmosphere. Every teacher, volunteer and staff member is committed to doing what is best for the individual child.


Bethany Lutheran School 5

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
I feel very blessed to have found this school for my children (now in Grade 2 and 5). The integration of Christian values in every subject is invaluable, and their Student Success program has given my children one-on-one reading intervention that they wouldn't have gotten anywhere else.

Bethany Lutheran School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
They have a good mix of both younger teachers and veteran teachers. I wish that they had some male teachers, as all of the teachers are female.

Bethany Lutheran School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
There is not an excess amount of homework. Wednesday is "family night" where no new homework is assigned that is due Thursday.


Bethany Lutheran School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
We visited 3 private schools in the area before deciding to place our 2 girls at Bethany. We made a great choice. There are many afterschool programs available, Bethany is a great school! I have 1 in Pre-school and another in Kinder. The Preschool is located in the back of the school, off Clark so it's very safe. No need to worry about your children playing off a main street. The teachers and parents are very involved. There is always something going on at the school. I love that! My girls are always coming home telling me what projects they are working on. In 2012/2013 all classrooms had an iPad to aid in teaching, but for the 2013/2014 school year all students in grades k-8th will have their own and the older children get to take theirs home! How great is that! Even my pre-schooler had computer lab. Now she knows my PC is not a toy and treats it with great care. Bethany offers before and after school care that is extremely affordable. Fee's are calculated by how many hours of care you require and not a flat fee, so it was perfect for us, as we don't need care every day. There's also study hall after school, where my kinder got help with her homework.

Bethany Lutheran School 5

Posted November 18, 2011
- a parent
My son attended Bethany from kindergarten through 8th grade. We loved the school and are very happy that we chose to send him there for his elementary and middle school education.

Bethany Lutheran School 5

Posted November 17, 2011
- a parent
My son began Bethany Lutheran School in his 6th grade year. He is currently in the 7th grade and flourishing! The teachers and staff are full of love and respect at this school. The principal is the BEST. I really enjoy watching my son, who has always "hated" school never want to miss a day! It is such a warm and loving environment. I enjoy seeing my child smile when he talks about his day... I could have never imagined what a blessing Bethany has been to our family. I highly recommend Bethany. I wish I would have enrolled him in Kindergarten!


Bethany Lutheran School 5

Posted November 13, 2011
- a community member
I am a former student of Bethany now in the Long Beach Poly P.A.C.E. program. Although P.A.C.E. is a brand new challenge I feel I was well prepared by Bethany. The great teachers and even greater principal made sure that everything we did prepared us for the future. Now in P.A.C.E. in whatever we do I'm say "Wow, Bethany gave me a sneak peak to this before so now I know that I was prepared and ready for any academic as well as moral choices." Which brings me to a concern you may have about it being 'Lutheran'. They don't stress one specific sort of christianity.What they stress is the bible and what the bible says, then let's you determine what you think it means. All-in-all Bethany, the teachers, and the overall essence of the school is just wondeful.

Bethany Lutheran School 5

Posted November 08, 2011
- a parent
We are very happy with Bethany. We are not Lutheran and shopped schools when our child was going into kindergarten (too bad we didn't find them for preschool-it is excellent). When we meet the lead kdg teacher we knew our search was over, then met the principal and it sealed the deal. Now, four years later, we are happy, our child is happy and blossoming. It is a well rounded environment where everybody knows each other. The faculty are skilled and genuine. The sports, music, art, science, dance, chess options after school are wonderful as well as having a safe, friendly place to leave my kiddoe before or after school (extended day care 6:30 am-6pm) is a comfort. The optional hot lunch program could use some remodeling-but I hear that is in the works and it is only optional. It would be nice to have Spanish for all grade levels, but for now at least the older grades have Spanish built into their schedule and it has been an after school option for the younger kids in the past. Overall, our family loves Bethany and it has become a part of our family. Definitely worth checking out.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bethany Lutheran School
5100 East Arbor Road, Long Beach, CA  90808
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. (562) 420-7783
Last modified Bethany Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top