Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public district
Loomis, CA
Students enrolled: 400
 

5 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

15 reviews of this school


H. Clarke Powers Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
We are new to H. Clarke Powers this year and have been nothing but impressed since our very first interaction with the Principal, Glenn Lockwood. We were warmly welcomed from the minute we walked in. Mr. Lockwood stopped what he was doing and sat down with us to get to know our children. Mr. Lockwood is more involved and hands on than any Principal we have ever encountered before, and we have been to public, charter and private schools. The teachers are excellent and highly qualified, caring, knowledgeable and communicative. This school offers extracurricular activities and sports that past private schools we have attended did not offer. P.E. is offered three times a week for all grades as well as music class once a week for all grades. My kids are thriving and getting involved and trying new things they never have before. This school has an amazing garden tended to by garden docents and regular farmers markets. We have an incredible PTO and a very involved parent body. H. Clarke Powers is hands down the best public school around with undoubtedly the most amazing principal, teachers and office staff. We feel very blessed to be a part of this school. :-)

H. Clarke Powers Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a community member
My granddaughter goes there and she is a 4.0 student. It is a great school. She is very well rounded and very bright. It keeps her challenged.


H. Clarke Powers Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
Parent participation is phenomenal. From my daughter's class parents alone we have one mother who started a class garden program and school farmer's market, one who heard about cuts to PE and is starting a fundraiser to save the program (the PE teacher, btw is the most amazing I've come across), one mother who started a school-wide clothes swap, and another who is organizing beauticians to start a hair-cutting fundraiser. We're so thrilled to be a part.

H. Clarke Powers Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 25, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers, great facility, great parent participation, overall working hard to provide a great education in very tough times. Whole school system from Principle to Janitors working to provide great education and environment for the kids and families. Very interactive with all entities.

H. Clarke Powers Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2009
- a community member
Grandchildren getting the greatest one on one training with love and understanding. Making learning fun


H. Clarke Powers Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 24, 2009
- a parent
The principal and teachers care about the students. you can tell the impact he principal has on the students by the reactions i see when they see him. I know my child adores him, he is active and involved in everything that goes on in that school

H. Clarke Powers Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
H. Clarke Powers is an amazing school with an amazing staff. It is a private school feel in a public school.

H. Clarke Powers Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2009
- a parent
H. Clarke Powers is a fabulous elementary school. Teachers, principal and staff are focused on the education, growth, health and happiness of each student. Respect and caring is nurtured among the students. There is tremendous parent involvement and collaboration with the teachers. Students have the opportunity for sports, art, performing arts, community volunteerism and other activities that help make a well-rounded person. There is tremendous pride in everyone affiliated with the school. Kids respect each other, the teachers and the campus. Our children are very happy and thriving.


H. Clarke Powers Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 27, 2009
- a parent
We love this school! The teachers are wonderful and the principal Mr.Lockwood is very involved,has a big heart, and is an excellent leader! We are so fortunate to live in a small town with such a great school! OUR KIDS LOVE THE SCHOOL TOO!

H. Clarke Powers Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 14, 2008
- a parent
My son was a part of the very first class of H. Clarke Powers. It was a wonderful experience for him and for my wife and I. Glenn Lockwood is the best Principal in Placer County....I have no idea what 'submitted by a parent' is talking about.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

H. Clarke Powers Elementary School
3296 Humphrey Road, Loomis, CA  95650
(916) 652-2635
Last modified H. Clarke Powers Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
H. Clarke Powers Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top