Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Los Alamitos, CA
Students enrolled: 1,284

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sharon Christa Mcauliffe Middle School 1

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
The school administration does not go "above and beyond" for any student. They do not help students with grade or behavioral problems. Anyone who says differently has never had a student with a problem that any other school district would assist with. There is no counseling, there are no opportunities for academic assistance, there is no sympathy or assistance for any child ---- unless that child already came into the school with high academics and no issues. But the purpose of a school is to help students grow and progress. Keeping the students that make that school look good, and doing nothing -- if not ignoring, expelling and failing to interact with students that require some assistance, is wrong. It is wrong on so many levels. There are other parents on this site who have experienced this. You don't treat kids differently, regardless of their needs. That is discriminatory. No parent should accept this.

Sharon Christa Mcauliffe Middle School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
I am not sure what others refer to meaning "expulsion" of children with issues. I know of several instances where there have been issues but the school has went above and beyond to try to help the student. The school is and should be proud of their academic record. Does the school have high expectations? Yes, but the school district has high recommendations and as a parent, I accept this.


Sharon Christa Mcauliffe Middle School 5

Posted May 05, 2013
- a community member
McAuliffe is a great middle school for a child to learn. They provide on campus clubs and many opportunities for a middle school student to put himself or herself out there. As a former student, the experience was very fun. They push you academically and provide fun electives. I am a proud former Eagle.

Sharon Christa Mcauliffe Middle School 4

Posted February 07, 2013
- a parent
The school gets high test score - good for property value. In reality, the students are not encouraged to check their grades on-line, they do math in science classes and language arts in history. This school is not really project based unless you call posters projects. I guess I expected it to blow the kids socks off with reasons why learning is important. The school is safe and you child will learn their math and language arts. They may not be inspired to save the world. I would like to see some STEM and community service projects to get the kids plugged into their world and not just the video games. I could be wishing for something that does not exist.

Sharon Christa Mcauliffe Middle School 1

Posted October 04, 2012
- a parent
I believe McAuliffe students receive a high-quality education. It's a great school, UNTIL, a student or parent does not agree COMPLETELY with the administration's values of how middle school students should be treated. If you have any important issues occur that need to be discussed with the principal/other office staff, you may not have a positive experience getting those issues resolved. I've found the administration to be complacent, insensitive, irrational, inconsistent, & disorganized. This conclusion is a result of a handful of issues that have occurred over several years. A true test of one's character is revealed when things are not going well, & how one reacts to those situations. Based on the collective experiences I've had attempting to communicate with the office staff, principal, vice-principal, etc., I am not convinced that this administration truly has the students' best interests in mind. Rather, their own interests seem to be the priority. Again, a wonderful school, mostly because many of the teachers are amazing. However, I feel the administrative staff needs to be more proactive with truly listening to the concerns of the families who make up this community.


Sharon Christa Mcauliffe Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 17, 2010
- a parent
Our daughter went through McAuliffe and especially loved working with Mr. Rose, Miss Tajima, Mrs. Davidson--among the best teachers she has ever had! Principal Sackett is a stellar principal. He is ever-present and visible on campus. The teachers have high standards, and the students rise to the occasion. I am so impressed with the climate of the school whenever I am there. These are middle schoolers who know how to behave.

Sharon Christa Mcauliffe Middle School 5

Posted February 13, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sharon Christa Mcauliffe Middle School 3

Posted January 18, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Sharon Christa Mcauliffe Middle School 0
no rating

Posted January 17, 2010
- a student
I go to McAuliffe Middle School! Mrs. McGovney is the best computers teacher ever!

Sharon Christa Mcauliffe Middle School 5

Posted December 22, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is a student at McAuliffe and we love it! The teachers are excellent and she loves them. As a result, she enjoys doing her homework.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sharon Christa Mcauliffe Middle School
4112 Cerritos Avenue, Los Alamitos, CA  90720
(714) 816-3320
Last modified Sharon Christa Mcauliffe Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sharon Christa Mcauliffe Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top