Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oak Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to all of the Oak staff that we have come had the pleasure to encounter!

Oak Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
The school held a Kindness Week where students were greeted by their principal, teachers, guidance counselors, and staff holding signs of encouragement. Phrases like "You are enough," "You are loved," and "Your potential is limitless" were amongst the words that students started the day reading. WOW!


Oak Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
Oak Middle School creates a feeling of community by engaging students in a variety of activities: lunch time activities (the dance parties are a big hit), after school events, performing arts, family nights (Lion Pride Day, Open House), dances, and interesting electives. Students are invested in their school and surroundings. Teachers care. Erin Kominsky is involved. Parents are active on campus. By creating a sense of community, honesty, integrity and fairness come more naturally.

Oak Middle School 5

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
Oak Middle School has proven to be an excellent choice for our family. My son's teachers offer innovative and engaging lessons, provide frequent communication, and offer extra support when necessary. Oak has an amazing performing arts program; my son's participation in the musical, Suessical, has inspired him to continue in the choral arts. Erin Kominsky, the new school principal, is visible, approachable and hands-on. She has created several campus events and activities that promote community. The campus is pristine and clean; the staff is polite and helpful. Oak is an academically rigorous school that promotes cooperative learning and ignites students' curiosities. Students are encouraged to explore different interests, have fun on campus, and learn through a variety of modalities. I am so pleased with this middle school!

Oak Middle School 5

Posted September 05, 2012
- a parent
Oak middle school made my child feel comfortable before even stepping into the school. he loves his teachers,and the principal was very welcoming.I love that the teachers are open to communication with the parents. This is very important. We are looking forward to our year here at Oak


Oak Middle School 5

Posted July 16, 2012
- a parent
I am very pleased with Oak! It is well structured, with 6th graders having lunch separately from older kids, allowing them a year to transition. My child was identified very early in the year as needing additional help in a subject, and her schedule was promptly changed to allow a second period of that class! There is a teacher who comes every Saturday to tutor students at no additional cost. My ONLY complaints about Oak are that PTA meetings are always at 8:30am, not giving the working parents a chance to participate. Also, there seem to be minimal opportunities to volunteer/participate. Emails are minimal. All teachers I've encountered so far have been great, even the Vice Principal. I've had minimal interaction with the Principal, perhaps because I'm not on campus all the time. Love that all teachers comply with Aeries, so I can stay on top of my child's work. I've dealt with schools where it wasn't enforced and most teachers didn't keep it current. I know it's a lot of work, but it keeps parents up to date and kids from slipping between the cracks. Nice to catch things before they snowball. Mrs. Gardner is the best! Mr. Hill works really hard too. Even PE is fun, archery, etc!

Oak Middle School 5

Posted July 09, 2011
- a parent
Both my kids attended Oak Middle School. I have found it to be a wonderful, supportive and stimulating learning environment. I love how the teachers keep the kids engaged and challenged, and how the principal knows the students and is connected to what is going on in the school. My kids were (and are) both involved in the Choir program which added a wonderful dimension to their middle school experience. Thank you Oak!

Oak Middle School 5

Posted May 10, 2011
- a parent
I couldn't be happier with this school. I am a teacher also, and have worked in many schools. This is the most positive and caring teaching staff I have ever had encountered. The quality of instruction is wonderful, but the best part about this school is the positive and respectful environment that has been created by the staff. Both of my sons actually look forward to going to school because they have made good friends there in a variety of fun clubs/chior, and that speaks volumes to me.


Oak Middle School 5

Posted July 05, 2010
- a parent
My son just finished 3 great years at Oak. It is a GREAT school - Love the principal, and the interaction between the wonderful teachers, parents and administration make it a well run organization. Loved the choir program too.

Oak Middle School
no rating

Posted March 27, 2010
- a parent
The school is great. There are so many caring teachers that go the extra mile. The music program ROCKS!!! Mr. Padilla is so dynamic and the kids are responding. The Jazz Band is an award winning one and continues to impress everyone it plays for. Go LIONS!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oak Middle School
10821 Oak Street, Los Alamitos, CA  90720-2313
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (562) 799-4740
Last modified Oak Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top