Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Hedwig Elementary School
Develops empathy: no rating

Posted June 15, 2015
- a school leader
The school works to guide student's development of these virtues through its spiritual component. They learn these things through the service learning program and the friendship partner program.

St. Hedwig Elementary School
Develops honesty: no rating

Posted June 15, 2015
- a school leader
Yes, the school's character education program focuses on these virtues each month and these are reinforced through classroom lessons, daily activities, and school assemblies.


St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2015
- a parent
When my husband and I were researching schools for our first child entering school we attended this school's tour and parent information night. We immediately knew that this was the school for our children to attend. We had previously looked at our public, private and the faith based schools in our area. No other school had what this school could offer. St. Hedwig provides excellent education in a faith based atmosphere. The Administration is forward thinking, responsive, and provide strong leadership. The staff is helpful and knowledgeable. The teachers are credentialed and dedicated. The parent community is supportive, strong, and caring. Lastly, the students were friendly and demonstrated a cohesiveness that bonds children together. Eight years and two children later we still feel the same way and in fact, we have even more positive feelings than when we first enrolled our children. If you want your child to excel academically, be physically fit, morally sound, and have a feeling of being a part of a positive community then do not hesitate to schedule an interview and school tour at St. Hedwig.

St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
Our priority was finding a school that is as strong in the Catholic faith as it is in academics. We found both at St. Hedwig School (SHS). At SHS, Catholic values are woven into all parts of the children s experience the curriculum, students behavior expectations, and the examples set by the adults who teach and interact with them during the school day. The curriculum utilizes various learning strategies and mediums. The children are given authentic learning experiences. The faculty stays current with learning standards yet they have not lost sight of traditional skills that students need to succeed. The writing program is especially solid across all grades. A true physical education program and an artistic music program are each offered several times a week. How will this benefit the children? is the focus of all that is done at SHS. The administration, faculty and staff are caring individuals who are genuinely concerned for the well being of the students. The school is safe, clean and well kept. After 3 years, we are still as pleased as ever with our decision.

St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2015
- a parent
St. Hedwig school is a thriving, energetic, passionate community in all areas. I am impressed with their dedication to making our children the best they can possibly be at everything & anything they do. It's small enough for them to have the one-on-one attention needed to thrive, and big enough to have the benefits of a variety of students. I researched various schools in the area and in Long Beach, and made my decision not only based the data, but the wonderful caring environment that makes St. Hedwig School best in class.


St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2015
- a parent
When it was time to select a school for our children, we had a few great schools around us to choose from. After touring three public and private schools, there was little doubt that St. Hedwig was the right choice. Having been there for two years now we couldn't be more pleased with the well-rounded education our son is getting. The teachers are caring and knowledgeable. Any time we've needed to contact them they have responded promptly and helped us with what we needed. They do not "teach to the test" but rather provide a strong academic foundation and developmentally appropriate curriculum that includes the arts and technology. The sense of community among the families is amazing. We feel so lucky to be at St. Hedwig!

St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2015
- a parent
We have been a part of the school for 9 years and feel like St. Hedwig is a second home for our children. From the teachers and staff to the other parents, we have witnessed the entire community care for our children. We have been very pleased with the academic program. Our oldest child was very well prepared for the High School Placement Test and qualified for honors courses in high school. The Advanced Math program, the science fair and the Academic Decathlon program provide academic challenges for students, while the competitive sports programs and kickball league provide a positive athletic environment. Our children have grown stronger in their faith through their class retreats, masses and service projects, as well as their religion classes. Overall we have been pleased with the experience our children have had at St. Hedwig and would recommend it to families looking for more than just a school.

St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2013
- a parent
We love this little school in Los Alamitos. This school feels like school should feel like. The work is not so challenging that kids and parents are stressed out, but it is challenging in different areas depending on the child. The principal is so nice and friendly and says hello to kids and parents. The vice principal is nice too. The families are friendly and nice too and there are different types of families to choose from to be friends with--some variety in all realms (socio-economic, ethnic, geography, etc). They have PE which is great and really focus on character education. The culture here is so kind and everyone in the administration works with the parents as partners to be successful. Older kids seem so well-mannered by 8th grade and are friendship partners to little ones. Great school of sensitive children and great school for kids who can learn how to be more caring and sensitive.


St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
So far so good. People are so nice here. It's such a kind school filled with people who seem like they want to do good in the world and to teach their children how to give back. The kids seem very well-behaved! Curriculum is filled with great things like character education and it's not a push kids at all costs kind of environment which is great.

St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2012
- a parent
This is our first year at St. Hedwig and we absolutely love this school. We live in Los Alamitos and struggled with the decision on sending our daughter to private school, especially considering that the public schools in our district are amazing. What convinced us to go with St. Hedwig was 1) Only 2 classes per grade, 2) goes through middle school, 3) uniforms, 4) strong academics, 5) the teachings of our Catholic faith, 6) PE, sports and music classes, and finally 7) a REAL library with lots of books - not just a "media center". St. Hedwig is worth every penny of our very modest income. Also, in regards to the comment dated Feb. 8th about kinder students leaving because of the teacher, I can say that the only student who left this year moved out of state. They must be referring to a different year, I guess. In my experience both teachers are attentive and caring. Go Celtics!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Hedwig Elementary School
3591 Orangewood Avenue, Los Alamitos, CA  90720
(562) 296-9060
Last modified St. Hedwig Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Hedwig Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top