Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
419 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
I hesitate to comment on sites like this because everyone's experience is going to be different even at the very best of schools. The one variable for every family rating a school is the INDIVIDUAL child. If the child is not having a good experience parents seem to blame the school and not look at their own child; the child maybe difficult to get along with, has a chip on their shoulder, feel entitled and therefore blames those around them, etc...The comment on Nov 1 prompted me to respond. I have had children at St Hedwig for 11 years and have NEVER BEEN ASKED TO RATE St Hedwig on any website! I have been on the Parent Association and have been as involved as a parent can be with regards to volunteering. I feel sorry for this parent and especially their child. And since I am commenting, I have had two children graduate and I think they are better people---excelling in high school, but more importantly, good people! Not every school is for all children.

St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
My wife and I are Los Alamitos residents that transferred our son from a Los Alamitos elementary school to St. Hedwig a few years ago. We are not Catholic. Although our son excelled academically in public school, we wanted a school that focused not only on academics but also responsible behavior and good study habits. We also wanted smaller class sizes and to avoid a large middle school in Los Alamitos. Our experience at St Hedwig has been great. Their writing program is excellent. My son’s 4th grade teacher is also an adjunct in the English department at a local college, and it shows in the quality of the curriculum. We are looking forward to the advanced mathematics course offered in 5th grade; but we are most impressed with the culture of the school – the discipline, which is reinforced in the school’s awards program, and the activities (e.g. Autumn Fest and Christmas Show) and school spirit that is fostered within the kids. One of my son’s first experiences was in the school’s mentoring program, where a student from 6-8th grade mentors a younger student during activities and events. It was a very welcoming and positive experience. We’ve learned that as students progress through K-8 at St. Hedwig, they are given more and more responsibility in overseeing events (e.g. Autumn Fest), organizing activities and mentoring. Leadership training and responsibility are embedded in the curriculum, culminating in the 7th and 8th grades. We looking forward to seeing our son graduate from St. Hedwig.


St. Hedwig Elementary School 2

Posted November 01, 2015
- a parent
Please know that parents are asked to review the school positively every few months to increase our rating. The truth is that this school is perfect for you if you are affluent, spend extra money on athletic training and have a strong student. This school is VERY competitive and an average child will never feel or reach their potential. Parents pay the way to success for their child. After our "Harvest Festival" it was sad to see the girl cliques all in the same costumes right after we spent a week talking about all being friends. We are all NOT friends. A culture of mean girls, no chance of playing sports if your just a regular child, parets who are more interested in their social standing than in raising good hearted children, no functioning library or AR program and low math scores. Most graduates from this school having trouble testing into Freshman math at private high schools and at Los Alamitos High School. And most were in "advanced math" here. A problem, no one wants to talk about. Children are not equal at this school. 6 teachers/coaches left at the end of last year because the parents and principal are unbearable. More and more families are leaving. St. Hedwig looks like a caring christain culture but it is just an affordable private school with no soul. Parents have tried to address the situation with cliques but the parental clique is also so strong that the administation does whatever these parents want. It is a culture that I only thought existed in movies and on tv. That is the truth that no one wants to discuss. The last parent that reviewed is new. She has no idea what is in store for her. Your child will not become a better person here. They will learn to feel intitled and arrogant and will graduate feeling as if they are the best but all not coming from a good heart or humility.

St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
Initially, we attended the highly coveted Los Alamitos schools and were initially very happy with the education. We sent our children to Weaver Elementary but by my third child, I started to notice a shift in culture at the schools. They seemed to be focused only on the state tests and not about teaching the whole child. My kids were practicing the STAR tests all the time, and if questions in the class came up that were not on the "test," then they did not want to cover it and go off "topic". We decided to try St. Hedwig, where they focus on teaching the whole child. We are very happy here and so are our children. In today's world it not only takes IQ but EQ to be successful. We feel that the strong moral values, ethics, faith and sense of giving to others, as well as the strong education help our children grow to be better human beings and successful in the real world with career, family, friends and faith. Success to me in not defined by money earned but with what you do with your life and how you impact the world and others. We feel that Saint Hedwig is giving our children this opportunity to grow. -- a current parent

St. Hedwig Elementary School
Develops empathy: no rating

Posted June 15, 2015
- a school leader
The school works to guide student's development of these virtues through its spiritual component. They learn these things through the service learning program and the friendship partner program.


St. Hedwig Elementary School
Develops honesty: no rating

Posted June 15, 2015
- a school leader
Yes, the school's character education program focuses on these virtues each month and these are reinforced through classroom lessons, daily activities, and school assemblies.

St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2015
- a parent
When my husband and I were researching schools for our first child entering school we attended this school's tour and parent information night. We immediately knew that this was the school for our children to attend. We had previously looked at our public, private and the faith based schools in our area. No other school had what this school could offer. St. Hedwig provides excellent education in a faith based atmosphere. The Administration is forward thinking, responsive, and provide strong leadership. The staff is helpful and knowledgeable. The teachers are credentialed and dedicated. The parent community is supportive, strong, and caring. Lastly, the students were friendly and demonstrated a cohesiveness that bonds children together. Eight years and two children later we still feel the same way and in fact, we have even more positive feelings than when we first enrolled our children. If you want your child to excel academically, be physically fit, morally sound, and have a feeling of being a part of a positive community then do not hesitate to schedule an interview and school tour at St. Hedwig.

St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
Our priority was finding a school that is as strong in the Catholic faith as it is in academics. We found both at St. Hedwig School (SHS). At SHS, Catholic values are woven into all parts of the children s experience the curriculum, students behavior expectations, and the examples set by the adults who teach and interact with them during the school day. The curriculum utilizes various learning strategies and mediums. The children are given authentic learning experiences. The faculty stays current with learning standards yet they have not lost sight of traditional skills that students need to succeed. The writing program is especially solid across all grades. A true physical education program and an artistic music program are each offered several times a week. How will this benefit the children? is the focus of all that is done at SHS. The administration, faculty and staff are caring individuals who are genuinely concerned for the well being of the students. The school is safe, clean and well kept. After 3 years, we are still as pleased as ever with our decision.


St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2015
- a parent
St. Hedwig school is a thriving, energetic, passionate community in all areas. I am impressed with their dedication to making our children the best they can possibly be at everything & anything they do. It's small enough for them to have the one-on-one attention needed to thrive, and big enough to have the benefits of a variety of students. I researched various schools in the area and in Long Beach, and made my decision not only based the data, but the wonderful caring environment that makes St. Hedwig School best in class.

St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2015
- a parent
When it was time to select a school for our children, we had a few great schools around us to choose from. After touring three public and private schools, there was little doubt that St. Hedwig was the right choice. Having been there for two years now we couldn't be more pleased with the well-rounded education our son is getting. The teachers are caring and knowledgeable. Any time we've needed to contact them they have responded promptly and helped us with what we needed. They do not "teach to the test" but rather provide a strong academic foundation and developmentally appropriate curriculum that includes the arts and technology. The sense of community among the families is amazing. We feel so lucky to be at St. Hedwig!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Hedwig Elementary School
3591 Orangewood Avenue, Los Alamitos, CA  90720
(562) 296-9060
Last modified St. Hedwig Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Hedwig Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top