Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2013
- a parent
We love this little school in Los Alamitos. This school feels like school should feel like. The work is not so challenging that kids and parents are stressed out, but it is challenging in different areas depending on the child. The principal is so nice and friendly and says hello to kids and parents. The vice principal is nice too. The families are friendly and nice too and there are different types of families to choose from to be friends with--some variety in all realms (socio-economic, ethnic, geography, etc). They have PE which is great and really focus on character education. The culture here is so kind and everyone in the administration works with the parents as partners to be successful. Older kids seem so well-mannered by 8th grade and are friendship partners to little ones. Great school of sensitive children and great school for kids who can learn how to be more caring and sensitive.

St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
So far so good. People are so nice here. It's such a kind school filled with people who seem like they want to do good in the world and to teach their children how to give back. The kids seem very well-behaved! Curriculum is filled with great things like character education and it's not a push kids at all costs kind of environment which is great.


St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2012
- a parent
This is our first year at St. Hedwig and we absolutely love this school. We live in Los Alamitos and struggled with the decision on sending our daughter to private school, especially considering that the public schools in our district are amazing. What convinced us to go with St. Hedwig was 1) Only 2 classes per grade, 2) goes through middle school, 3) uniforms, 4) strong academics, 5) the teachings of our Catholic faith, 6) PE, sports and music classes, and finally 7) a REAL library with lots of books - not just a "media center". St. Hedwig is worth every penny of our very modest income. Also, in regards to the comment dated Feb. 8th about kinder students leaving because of the teacher, I can say that the only student who left this year moved out of state. They must be referring to a different year, I guess. In my experience both teachers are attentive and caring. Go Celtics!

St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2012
- a parent
Great school, principal, and curriculum!! No comparison to public schools. We highly recommend St. Hedwig if you are serious about your children's education.

St. Hedwig Elementary School 1

Posted February 08, 2012
- a parent
Great group of parents at this school. The principal and vice-principal, however, not so great. My child's kindergarten teacher - absolutely, not great. I pulled my child out mid-year (another child's parents did the same - their child was in the same kindergarten class) due to this teachers behavior - and the lack of reponse from the principal and vice-principal. I'm glad I did. I expected a higher level of integrity at a private Catholic school, and they just did not deliver. I did not want their influence in my child's life during her most formative years.


St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2012
- a parent
Fantastic School! Such a loving enviroment for growing children. The families that attend this school are very focus on getting the best, one on one education in every aspect for their children. It is stuning to see the graduating children being super polite, caring and loving individuals. They learn at a very young age to care for others and to make this world a better place for all of us. The humanity its what separates this children from public school. Academically fantastic, my neighbors daughter is graduating Harvad University this spring after attending St Hedwig School! Hands down one of the best schools in Souther California!

St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2010
- a parent
St. Hedwig has been a godsend for our family! We could not have found a better place for our son and I really credit his teacher, the principal, who I might add has always made us feel warm and welcome, and the other parents! Our son really enjoys going to school each and every day! We could not be happier! He is getting a solid foundation in academics as well as a strong foundation in wonderful morals and values. We would highly recommend this school to everyone!

St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school! Great choice for our kids.


St. Hedwig Elementary School 5

Posted March 08, 2010
- a parent
St. Hedwig is a great school. Our children love going to school. It has great academics, great extracurricular activities like kickball, sports, cheerleading, and academic decathlon. Also great music program, advanced math, spanish program, computer program, PE program, and an accelerated reader/library program. It teaches great morals, values and a wonderful religious instruction. We recommend the school to everyone.

St. Hedwig Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 02, 2010
- a community member
It scares me that the children are getting little supervision on the playground!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Hedwig Elementary School
3591 Orangewood Avenue, Los Alamitos, CA  90720
(562) 296-9060
Last modified St. Hedwig Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Hedwig Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top