Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pinewood Private?Upper Campus

Private | 7-12 | 304 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Altos Hills

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,745,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 30, 2014

Pinewood gave me a micron pen. Micron pens saved my life. Micron pens are a gift from japan.


Posted March 20, 2014

Fantastic school! College prep school that values the balance of academics, arts, and athletics. School has STEM offerings including and has a 1 to 1 IPad program K-12. Thrilled that my 2nd child was accepted!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2014

Pinewood is a gem! Nestled in the beautiful Los Altos Hills, this educational treasure is home to a wonderful community of academically motivated students and devoted faculty. Students work had and play hard. This is an interactive environment that encourages collaboration both in and outside the classroom. Love this school and can't say enough great things about it! Thank you Pinewood!!


Posted February 21, 2014

Pinewood is a terrific college prep private school. Two of our children currently attend Pinewood, but we have had a child graduate from our local public high school (a very highly ranked academic powerhouse), and the difference is immense. The small class size, high level of teacher involvement, and general ethic of Pinewood make for a much better learning experience for our children than the local public HS. In addition to academic benefits, the school is a refreshing oasis of kindness and caring in a world where sometimes those qualities get lost. I am so pleased that we discovered Pinewood School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2013

Not worth the money when compared to the excellent public schools and competing private schools in the area. The teachers are mostly competent and caring, but the students and parents have little diversity and create an exclusive social dynamic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2013

My daughter recently graduated from Pinewood. She thrived there and was admitted to all of her top choice colleges. The small class sizes (I'd say 8-10 is the average), supportive teachers and kind students made this a very wonderful experience for her. Teachers are very accessible and students get a great deal more personal attention than at other schools. There are many clubs and sports for a small school. There are some downsides to attending a small school (limited number of electives, etc) and it is not for everybody, but it worked for her. Pinewood's stats on AP tests and college admissions are available on the website, so draw your own conclusions about some of the recent reviews.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

I just graduated from pinewood after 8 years there. I am now going to a high ranking public university. However, it was not worth the money my parents spent on it. The arts department is extremely lacking focusing only on theatre and chorus with no dance and few variations of art courses. There are a select few very good teachers but the number is slowly diminishing. Many teachers simply assign homework and then correct that homework in class and this becomes the entire curriculum. Students are unprepared for the APs. Pinewood's school board is nowhere to be found despite making extremely conservative rules on dress code and conduct which are constantly becoming stricter. The principle seems more like a professional scheduler with little power. It's a luck of the draw. If you end up with the good teachers... which are few and dispersed... you learn and grow. If you end up with the bad ones (most of them) you waste away class time with off topic discussions and projects often with a teacher who doesn't seem interested in the first place. Pinewood shelters your children from bureaucracy and lots of large school drama but you still have cliques and illegal substances all the same.


Posted April 6, 2013

This school is going downhill fast. Founded as an afterschool arts program, the administration has chosen to generally ignore any arts-related curriculum besides the performing arts department, which continues to put on mediocre theater and choral performances, allocating funding to send these students on extravagant field trips to Rome and London while other departments suffer. Sports are uncompetitive and ignored except for Basketball. The student body is extremely non diverse and clique-y. Some quality teachers remain in the english and math departments. The school is more politically and religiously conservative than any catholic school in the bay area.


Posted February 20, 2013

Going to pinewood for 3 years has been an awful experience. It is a terrible school that I made the mistake of going to. It has biased, non-knowledgeble teachers who have taught me terribly. We waste away classes going off topic, watching videos, and ignoring what we are meant to learn. The faculty there encourage students to be victims and tell a higher authority if they are minority insulted and never to handle any problems on their own. The teachers make the subjects boring and not fun to learn, and they discourage going ahead. The principal believes whoever snitches, so many people fabricate stories to get other children in trouble. People at this school think they are superior to everyone else and exhibit rude behavior often. The athletics are poorly run and uncompetitive, and the teams rarely have winning seasons. They food served at lunch has given me food poisoning twice. It was a mistake to go there.


Posted April 1, 2009

Though most of the teachers are nice, they are incompetent. We often waste class time with watching movies, discussing unrelated material, or doing busy work. The homework load is pretty good at Pinewood--we have very little homework most of the time. The classes are generally very easy; however, many of the AP classes do not prepare students to take the AP's. The Pinewood school provides a friendly learning environment, but the quality of teaching could be vastly improved.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2009

I was a student there -- education was good. However, in retrospect not worth the amount of money, most of my friends in higher ed. came from public schools anyway. There is concern of a culture shock when students graduate and enter large universities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2007

I have an 8th grade daughter at Pinewood and feel so blessed that she is there! She transferred in last year and was immediately accepted in by the staff, and other students. The academic program is rigorous, accompanied by personal individualized support from the teachers. The extracurricular activities are many for a small school. If there is enough interest in a new activity, the staff seems to somehow find a way to add it. I have found that there is a very high level of parental involvement. Not living in the area, we have found Pinewood to be extremely welcoming to our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

I have a 7th grade son and 9th grade daughter at Pinewood. Pinewood provides a rigorous and caring learning experience. With class sizes ranging from 12 - 20 (and even smaller for some upper level courses) teachers know the students well. 25% of this year's graduating class (10 of 40 students) are National Merit Scholarship Finalists. The girls' varsity basketball team recently won the California State CCS championship (4 of the last 7 years). The school choral group, Pinewood Singers, recently won KFOX radio's 'Best Choral Group of Santa Clara County' vs. 32 schools. For a small private school (300 students in grades 7 - 12), it is indeed 'tiny but mighty.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2006

This is just a really great school. Much better than the school I used to go to. Everyone there is just a lot nicer and accepting. The inteligence level is also a lot higher than what I've seen at all the other schools I've been to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2006

Pinewood is an excellent school filled with smart, really nice students. Strong academics and focus on respectful behavior and mutual support. Small classes, good teachers and an online grade tracking system that allows you to know your child's grades on every assignment every day (no surprises).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2005

Great school with strong academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2005

Very high expectations placed on students of all ages. Many children appear stressed-out and unhappy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

Academia expectations are very high for the Pinewood students; lots of extracurricular activities; very low level of parental involvement as most of the Pinewood community is quite 'Stepford'ish. Absolutely no cultural diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

High academics. Great availabilty of extracuriculars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2004

I am not a parent, but a former student. I am very proud of this fact. My education at Pinewood High School (in the mid 80's) completely prepared me for college and carried me through my first 2 years. There was not a single subject that I took during my first two years in college that Pinewood curriculum did not touch upon. Parents, you are by no means wasting your money on this school! Your children will not be able to receive a better education in the entire area than they will at Pinewood. School is not just about books. It is also about moral fortitude and respect for parents, faculty, and peers. Pinewood reinforces this. Your children will not only receive the best education that the Bay Area has to offer, but also the self esteem, confidence, and structure to carry them through college and the 'real life'.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 30% 11%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Black 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Mark Gardner
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26800 Fremont Road
Los Altos Hills, CA 94022
Website: Click here
Phone: (650) 209-3010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Terman Middle School
Palo Alto, CA


Bullis Charter School
Los Altos, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT