Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
7-12
Private
Los Altos Hills, CA
Students enrolled: 304
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pinewood School Upper Campus 1

Posted May 14, 2015
- a parent
horrible experience overall, with my son ending up hating school. Very traditional with no room for being out of the box or creative. My son had a LD and was constantly punished. None of the teachers tried to work with him or understand what his needs were. The math department is plain awful, the Geometry teacher does not believe in explaining anything. His motto is figure it out by yourself, no questions asked. I had to hire a geometry teacher for the entire year, in addition to paying close to 30K in tuition ! Lots of homework in middle school, mostly busy work. Some teachers don't even bother to grade it or end up loosing it. Stay away really... Not worth the money compared to other private schools in the area.

Pinewood School Upper Campus 5

Posted April 10, 2015
- a parent
Education and Ethics! Community Service and awareness. I always say the best years were the Pinewood years. The faculty, staff, coaches and students were proud of their school. A brilliant idea was to teach English and Literature as separate classes. I envy the quality of education my children received which led them to fine colleges. Although there were Mormons, one would never have never known, to address a negative comment on this site. There was diversification and honestly the integrity is unmatched.


Pinewood School Upper Campus 5

Posted June 30, 2014
- a community member
Pinewood gave me a micron pen. Micron pens saved my life. Micron pens are a gift from japan.

Pinewood School Upper Campus 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
Fantastic school! College prep school that values the balance of academics, arts, and athletics. School has STEM offerings including and has a 1 to 1 IPad program K-12. Thrilled that my 2nd child was accepted!

Pinewood School Upper Campus 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a community member
Pinewood is a gem! Nestled in the beautiful Los Altos Hills, this educational treasure is home to a wonderful community of academically motivated students and devoted faculty. Students work had and play hard. This is an interactive environment that encourages collaboration both in and outside the classroom. Love this school and can't say enough great things about it! Thank you Pinewood!!


Pinewood School Upper Campus 4

Posted February 21, 2014
- a parent
Pinewood is a terrific college prep private school. Two of our children currently attend Pinewood, but we have had a child graduate from our local public high school (a very highly ranked academic powerhouse), and the difference is immense. The small class size, high level of teacher involvement, and general ethic of Pinewood make for a much better learning experience for our children than the local public HS. In addition to academic benefits, the school is a refreshing oasis of kindness and caring in a world where sometimes those qualities get lost. I am so pleased that we discovered Pinewood School.

Pinewood School Upper Campus 3

Posted December 14, 2013
- a parent
Not worth the money when compared to the excellent public schools and competing private schools in the area. The teachers are mostly competent and caring, but the students and parents have little diversity and create an exclusive social dynamic.

Pinewood School Upper Campus 4

Posted July 21, 2013
- a parent
My daughter recently graduated from Pinewood. She thrived there and was admitted to all of her top choice colleges. The small class sizes (I'd say 8-10 is the average), supportive teachers and kind students made this a very wonderful experience for her. Teachers are very accessible and students get a great deal more personal attention than at other schools. There are many clubs and sports for a small school. There are some downsides to attending a small school (limited number of electives, etc) and it is not for everybody, but it worked for her. Pinewood's stats on AP tests and college admissions are available on the website, so draw your own conclusions about some of the recent reviews.


Pinewood School Upper Campus 3

Posted July 16, 2013
- a community member
I just graduated from pinewood after 8 years there. I am now going to a high ranking public university. However, it was not worth the money my parents spent on it. The arts department is extremely lacking focusing only on theatre and chorus with no dance and few variations of art courses. There are a select few very good teachers but the number is slowly diminishing. Many teachers simply assign homework and then correct that homework in class and this becomes the entire curriculum. Students are unprepared for the APs. Pinewood's school board is nowhere to be found despite making extremely conservative rules on dress code and conduct which are constantly becoming stricter. The principle seems more like a professional scheduler with little power. It's a luck of the draw. If you end up with the good teachers... which are few and dispersed... you learn and grow. If you end up with the bad ones (most of them) you waste away class time with off topic discussions and projects often with a teacher who doesn't seem interested in the first place. Pinewood shelters your children from bureaucracy and lots of large school drama but you still have cliques and illegal substances all the same.

Pinewood School Upper Campus 1

Posted April 06, 2013
- a community member
This school is going downhill fast. Founded as an afterschool arts program, the administration has chosen to generally ignore any arts-related curriculum besides the performing arts department, which continues to put on mediocre theater and choral performances, allocating funding to send these students on extravagant field trips to Rome and London while other departments suffer. Sports are uncompetitive and ignored except for Basketball. The student body is extremely non diverse and clique-y. Some quality teachers remain in the english and math departments. The school is more politically and religiously conservative than any catholic school in the bay area.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pinewood School Upper Campus
26800 Fremont Road, Los Altos Hills, CA  94022
(650) 209-3010
Last modified Pinewood School Upper Campus is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Pinewood School Upper Campus Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top