Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
7-12
Private
Los Altos Hills, CA

4 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pinewood School Upper Campus 5

Posted June 30, 2014
- a community member
Pinewood gave me a micron pen. Micron pens saved my life. Micron pens are a gift from japan.

Pinewood School Upper Campus 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
Fantastic school! College prep school that values the balance of academics, arts, and athletics. School has STEM offerings including and has a 1 to 1 IPad program K-12. Thrilled that my 2nd child was accepted!


Pinewood School Upper Campus 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a community member
Pinewood is a gem! Nestled in the beautiful Los Altos Hills, this educational treasure is home to a wonderful community of academically motivated students and devoted faculty. Students work had and play hard. This is an interactive environment that encourages collaboration both in and outside the classroom. Love this school and can't say enough great things about it! Thank you Pinewood!!

Pinewood School Upper Campus 4

Posted February 21, 2014
- a parent
Pinewood is a terrific college prep private school. Two of our children currently attend Pinewood, but we have had a child graduate from our local public high school (a very highly ranked academic powerhouse), and the difference is immense. The small class size, high level of teacher involvement, and general ethic of Pinewood make for a much better learning experience for our children than the local public HS. In addition to academic benefits, the school is a refreshing oasis of kindness and caring in a world where sometimes those qualities get lost. I am so pleased that we discovered Pinewood School.

Pinewood School Upper Campus 3

Posted December 14, 2013
- a parent
Not worth the money when compared to the excellent public schools and competing private schools in the area. The teachers are mostly competent and caring, but the students and parents have little diversity and create an exclusive social dynamic.


Pinewood School Upper Campus 4

Posted July 21, 2013
- a parent
My daughter recently graduated from Pinewood. She thrived there and was admitted to all of her top choice colleges. The small class sizes (I'd say 8-10 is the average), supportive teachers and kind students made this a very wonderful experience for her. Teachers are very accessible and students get a great deal more personal attention than at other schools. There are many clubs and sports for a small school. There are some downsides to attending a small school (limited number of electives, etc) and it is not for everybody, but it worked for her. Pinewood's stats on AP tests and college admissions are available on the website, so draw your own conclusions about some of the recent reviews.

Pinewood School Upper Campus 3

Posted July 16, 2013
- a community member
I just graduated from pinewood after 8 years there. I am now going to a high ranking public university. However, it was not worth the money my parents spent on it. The arts department is extremely lacking focusing only on theatre and chorus with no dance and few variations of art courses. There are a select few very good teachers but the number is slowly diminishing. Many teachers simply assign homework and then correct that homework in class and this becomes the entire curriculum. Students are unprepared for the APs. Pinewood's school board is nowhere to be found despite making extremely conservative rules on dress code and conduct which are constantly becoming stricter. The principle seems more like a professional scheduler with little power. It's a luck of the draw. If you end up with the good teachers... which are few and dispersed... you learn and grow. If you end up with the bad ones (most of them) you waste away class time with off topic discussions and projects often with a teacher who doesn't seem interested in the first place. Pinewood shelters your children from bureaucracy and lots of large school drama but you still have cliques and illegal substances all the same.

Pinewood School Upper Campus 1

Posted April 06, 2013
- a community member
This school is going downhill fast. Founded as an afterschool arts program, the administration has chosen to generally ignore any arts-related curriculum besides the performing arts department, which continues to put on mediocre theater and choral performances, allocating funding to send these students on extravagant field trips to Rome and London while other departments suffer. Sports are uncompetitive and ignored except for Basketball. The student body is extremely non diverse and clique-y. Some quality teachers remain in the english and math departments. The school is more politically and religiously conservative than any catholic school in the bay area.


Pinewood School Upper Campus 1

Posted February 20, 2013
- a community member
Going to pinewood for 3 years has been an awful experience. It is a terrible school that I made the mistake of going to. It has biased, non-knowledgeble teachers who have taught me terribly. We waste away classes going off topic, watching videos, and ignoring what we are meant to learn. The faculty there encourage students to be victims and tell a higher authority if they are minority insulted and never to handle any problems on their own. The teachers make the subjects boring and not fun to learn, and they discourage going ahead. The principal believes whoever snitches, so many people fabricate stories to get other children in trouble. People at this school think they are superior to everyone else and exhibit rude behavior often. The athletics are poorly run and uncompetitive, and the teams rarely have winning seasons. They food served at lunch has given me food poisoning twice. It was a mistake to go there.

Pinewood School Upper Campus 1

Posted April 01, 2009
- a student
Though most of the teachers are nice, they are incompetent. We often waste class time with watching movies, discussing unrelated material, or doing busy work. The homework load is pretty good at Pinewood--we have very little homework most of the time. The classes are generally very easy; however, many of the AP classes do not prepare students to take the AP's. The Pinewood school provides a friendly learning environment, but the quality of teaching could be vastly improved.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pinewood School Upper Campus
26800 Fremont Road, Los Altos Hills, CA  94022
(650) 209-3010
Last modified Pinewood School Upper Campus is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Pinewood School Upper Campus Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top