Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Almond Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Nguyen goes above and beyond! with great field trips and teaching great STEM skills. wow!! I wish she could be a master teacher, and observe and teach other teachers her super skills.

Almond Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are really nice.Some are incredibly innovative and inspiring. I just haven't seen them stimulate those that excel above others.


Almond Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
They have project cornerstone which teaches socio-emotional-learning. Though despite this teaching my child was bullied in 2nd grade. "Queen Bee"

Almond Elementary School 2

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
They rely too heavily on parents volunteers. As more families become 2 income families, this becomes a problem. They are good at stimulating the lowest performers but they let the brightest sit around in boredom. My child has been here 5 years and they keep telling me it will get better, but it hasn't. They do not believe in recognizing achievement. They got rid of the 1 student government position that uses math - the treasurer and instead have 2 social chairs. Their communications system is top down rather than a community/forum. For lunch, they do not recycle. They do not compost. They have an unhealthy food vendor.

Almond Elementary School 5

Posted November 08, 2014
- a parent
I have 2 kids at Almond and this is our 6th year at the school. We absolutely love the strong sense of community, the strong academic curriculum but most of all, we have the most amazing Principal. She is a true leader who inspires her staff and the entire community to want to be their best and she is a wonderful role model for our children. She teaches and models life skills like compassion, perseverence and bravery. We are very proud to call Almond our school!


Almond Elementary School 3

Posted June 14, 2014
- a parent
The parents who just posted before, can you please elabrate what you mean by saying "a small group of people can have so much power and see only their own interests."

Almond Elementary School 2

Posted June 14, 2014
- a parent
Hello Great schools, I already send a review, I might like to be more specific and extend. The school needs to change. It has been sad not too se a democratic type of education. I would like to re-write my post. Could I have the previous one that I sent? Thanks

Almond Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2012
- a parent
Teachers are so good my daughter was in tears when she graduated. Great music and theater program as well as strong academics. Parents are involved as their time permits and have a very strong sense of community. School is very diverse and students are given the opportunity to excel.


Almond Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2011
- a parent
My children and I love this school. Overall, we have had wonderful and caring teachers. They work hard to help our children learn.

Almond Elementary School 4

Posted March 24, 2010
- a parent
Yes, the parent involvement is very high, but I pretty enjoyed it. Not all the teachers are the best for sure. My kids had some bad expirence and hope they can keep the good teachers even they're young. Old doesn't mean good.

Nearby schools

Almond Elementary School
550 Almond Avenue, Los Altos, CA  94022-2312
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (650) 917-5400
Last modified Almond Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top