Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ardis G. Egan Junior High School 5

Posted July 20, 2014
- a community member
Among the best middle school in the area after doing much research and excellent community feel.
1 person found this helpful

Ardis G. Egan Junior High School 3

Posted April 19, 2014
- a parent
This school has some stellar teachers who really care. However the principal has proven to be worthless. She does not care about students as demonstrated by the fact that she allows many low performers to be funneled into remedial math classes only to languish there with little to no instruction. This is a dire problem with 8th grade. Talking her to her is maddening because she simply does not care what you think and fails to honor the opinions of those receiving the "services". She thinks she knows more than anyone else about everything at Egan. She suffers from a terrible case of "certainty" and it's high time she and her damaging practices be retired.
1 person found this helpful


Ardis G. Egan Junior High School 5

Posted May 06, 2013
- a community member
This school is definitely a school that your kid should go to. This is the best school I've ever been to.

Ardis G. Egan Junior High School 3

Posted December 17, 2012
- a parent
Egan provides a calm and comfortable place for most children. They focus on the API score. It fits in with the lifestyle of Los Altos. Pleasant and not so challenging. Few clubs and extra curricular activities. The teachers are competent and experienced but the school is not cutting edge. However for the average student, its a safe place to be . For the curious child, it is not very stimulating. Most LASD schools are faced with stiff competition from a local charter school which should serve as a wake up call. The charter has lots of problems otherwise they could take over Egan.

Ardis G. Egan Junior High School 5

Posted June 09, 2012
- a parent
Egan is a jewel of a school and a model of the public system for middle school. It is demanding, the teachers are passionate and inspiring, but it is an environment in which the expected student difficulties are supported by a senior staff that just "gets" what it is like to be a young teenager at a key life transition. This is a place where it is expected to make mistakes, and you will find the support and true learning of that experience. It is not just about academics, but about growing the individual. Our son is not a high-flier, flirted with F for a variety of reasons,but I have no doubt that this experience at Egan will set him up in the best way for high school and beyond.


Ardis G. Egan Junior High School 5

Posted October 20, 2011
- a community member
Egan is an absolutely wonderful school. The transition into the seventh grade can be difficult for some students but as long as you keep up with the work, everything is excellent. Egan was by far the best experience I have ever had during my adolescence. The transition from Egan to LAHSflowed very well and I was well prepared in every one of my classes. Beware that Egan can set the bar too high because some of its teachers are so incredible!

Ardis G. Egan Junior High School 5

Posted June 01, 2011
- a parent
I am very proud that my kid was a studet of this school! I am looking forward to be have a look on thid school again.

Ardis G. Egan Junior High School 1

Posted June 15, 2010
- a parent
Mrs Dyckman is very discriminatory about kids requiring special ed. She does everything in her power not to accept enrollment of any kids who requires special ed: In our case, she did this by being extremely non-cooperative. When we insisted, she threatened us about taking the issue to the court so that the judge can force the kid to attend some other school "which can provide better support for the kid". She did not strike me as a principle who cares the best interest of the kids. She is only interested in kids who can fit her standard of "normal". The worst part is my kid is not even challenged academically (gets all As and Bs). Even though she did not even know my kid, she did not even bothered to learn/ask about my kid.


Ardis G. Egan Junior High School 5

Posted January 29, 2010
- a student
By far my greatest experience I have had during my entire schooling process. The teachers are well educated, connected to one another, and interactive with the students. There is no group exclusions and the school activities really help unify the school. Egan has healthy food products and offer great preparation classes to the students preparing them for high school in tremendous ways. Everyone takes their work seriously and I had so much fun being able to meet new people. There are so many great classes offered at this school and I had such an amazing experience.

Ardis G. Egan Junior High School 5

Posted April 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ardis G. Egan Junior High School
100 West Portola Avenue, Los Altos, CA  94022
(650) 917-2200
Last modified Ardis G. Egan Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ardis G. Egan Junior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top