Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Canterbury Christian School

Private | K-6 | 80 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Altos

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,745,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 14, 2012

This is a very small school tucked into a residential neighborhood. There is one class per grade and class size can be a small as a handful of students. So children receive very close instruction but sacrifice a larger space to play in. At Canterbury there is low teacher turnover and families tend to stay in the school all the way through sixth grade. As a result, they have a small but very friendly and cohesive community, with high parent participation. The whole school works together at school events to make them successful. If you want your child to have an academically rigorous and structured Christian education that challenges children to do their best, this is the school for you. The homework load in the upper grades is pretty large and children are very well prepared to think and write for middle school and beyond. They do a good job with the small space they have and offer extras throughout the year, Opera a la Carte, Latin, Handbells, Choir, Chapel, field trips. The price for a good private education is very reasonable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

Great combination of academic, arts, science, and life skills program. Teachers and the principal work closely with parents to ensure that children develop as complete persons. Moved my children from highly rated public schools to Canterbury in order to ensure that they develop good habits and a sense of integrity. They are flourishing in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

Lovely and friendly school. Although it is a small size school, but it make all students and staff closed and help each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2011

Great school with excellent academic program, rigor, and christian values. The families as well as the staff are very involved and supportive. My 4 children went to Canterbury for some years. my older one is now majoring at Berkeley in International Studies. Her training in language art at Canterbury gave her a strong foundation. Unfortunately, the school cannot accommodate kids with learning issues. For my son, everything went too fast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

Character building based on Christian values. Discipline with love & grace producing responsible young men & women.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2011

We came to know Canterbury Christian School through attendance at St. Paul's Anglican Church and via a work colleague whose two boys had attended Canterbury. We have never looked back after almost 9 years of involvement with the school, as our daughters have each gone from K through 6. The education received is top-notch, with Pr-Algebra taught in 6th Grade and a very strong Shurley English grammar curriculum. The children also get to study Latin, Bells, Music and Art. In 4th Grade, there is an informative day-trip to Sacramento; in 5th Grade, a 5-day Science camp at Mission Springs; and in 6th Grade, the fantastic ACTS-tour of Washington, D.C. and surrounding area. The teachers do a super job of educating the children to the best of their abilities, as well as teaching them the Christian faith. When the children move on to Junior High School from Canterbury, they are polite, respectful to others and academically strong. Canterbury is a true gem; schools like Canterbury are a rare find these days and I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2011

We are so glad we chose this school even though we live in Palo Alto and is within a few blocks of one neighborhood school. We are not disappointed and got more than we expected. The school seeks to educate the whole child while maintaining high academic standards. Our oldest child now in 4th grade is not only strong in academics but also he has matured in a way that delights our heart. We started to see growth in his relations with his peers and siblings, discipline and responsibility. He was a very distracted child at first but all his teachers never left him behind. His K teacher at times even stayed for one hour after school to help him with seatwork. All teachers are committed here. My child blossomed under their care and prayer. Many parents told us their graduates are way ahead of their peers in language art even in prominent schools like Castalia. Kids learn mostly in class from their teachers not from push Tiger Moms . We observed at first hand how children could be happy and learn so much more within a discipline environment. Canterbury is also a loving family and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2011

My two children attended this school for 6 years. They never complained once going to school. They loved to learn and played with their friends. Teachers are so faithful in what God had called them to do. Their love toward students and passion for teaching really touched my heart. The school taught them how to be a good citizen for God and for their community. They instilled important biblical value into their mind which last for life long. Nothing can compare the education they had at Canterbury!!! Going to Canterbury was the best decision both me and my husband had made for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2011

My son graduated from kindergarten in Canterbury and started his first grade there, he really enjoys the school and teachers. Before Canterbury, we already toured both Challenger and Stratford, eventually we picked Canterbury. Now we are happy we made a right decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2011

My daughter had been attending public schools until we found Canterbury. This is truely a hidden-gem! The teachers here are true believers and they love what they do! They are not teaching Bible at the intellectual level. Instead, they are teaching kids how to live out Christ-centered life. The class size is unbeatable - on the average 10 kids per class, much much better than what public schools can provide. The community is well bonded. Great parenting involvement and support! We absolutely love it! From Zhou family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2011

We enrolled our boys in Fall 2010 and each day, we are so glad they are attending Canterbury Christian School. Not only are the academics standards higher than our Palo Alto neighborhood school, the Principal provides leadership and cares for ALL students. The teachers are very caring, the students are focused on learning and the parents are involved. Over the past several months, our boys have grown not only in academic knowledge, but in character, compassion and spirit. My only regret is we didn't discover this wonderful school years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

Better school than we had ever hoped to find! My daughter is learning things in Kindergarten that I learned in second and third grades! The best part is, she loves every minute of it. On weekends she asks constantly how much longer til she can go to school again. I especially like the 1/2 day kindergarten. A whole day is too long for little kids. The teachers are kind, caring, very involved, patient, motivating--I could go on forever. They are just wonderful. Nice, too, that it's small and the parents have a community with each other. Loving Christian atmosphere. My daughter is an entirely different person, and for the better, since she started attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

Excellent and quality education. The school provides art, latin, music, bells, PE, Bible, 5th grade science camp, and 6th grade trip to Washington DC, in addition to the regular curriculum. It is rigorous, structured and highly disciplined.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 52%
Asian 36%
Black 6%
Hispanic 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Rev. Ronald Johnson
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 North El Monte Avenue
Los Altos, CA 94022
Website: Click here
Phone: (650) 949-0909

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sanyu Learning Center
Mountain View, CA


St. Joseph Catholic
Mountain View, CA


Quantum Camp
Mountain View, CA



Springer Elementary School
Mountain View, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT