Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Canterbury Christian School 5

Posted December 14, 2012
- a parent
This is a very small school tucked into a residential neighborhood. There is one class per grade and class size can be a small as a handful of students. So children receive very close instruction but sacrifice a larger space to play in. At Canterbury there is low teacher turnover and families tend to stay in the school all the way through sixth grade. As a result, they have a small but very friendly and cohesive community, with high parent participation. The whole school works together at school events to make them successful. If you want your child to have an academically rigorous and structured Christian education that challenges children to do their best, this is the school for you. The homework load in the upper grades is pretty large and children are very well prepared to think and write for middle school and beyond. They do a good job with the small space they have and offer extras throughout the year, Opera a la Carte, Latin, Handbells, Choir, Chapel, field trips. The price for a good private education is very reasonable.

Canterbury Christian School 5

Posted November 10, 2011
- a parent
Great combination of academic, arts, science, and life skills program. Teachers and the principal work closely with parents to ensure that children develop as complete persons. Moved my children from highly rated public schools to Canterbury in order to ensure that they develop good habits and a sense of integrity. They are flourishing in this school.


Canterbury Christian School 5

Posted November 01, 2011
- a parent
Lovely and friendly school. Although it is a small size school, but it make all students and staff closed and help each other.

Canterbury Christian School 4

Posted October 14, 2011
- a parent
Great school with excellent academic program, rigor, and christian values. The families as well as the staff are very involved and supportive. My 4 children went to Canterbury for some years. my older one is now majoring at Berkeley in International Studies. Her training in language art at Canterbury gave her a strong foundation. Unfortunately, the school cannot accommodate kids with learning issues. For my son, everything went too fast.

Canterbury Christian School 5

Posted October 13, 2011
- a parent
Character building based on Christian values. Discipline with love & grace producing responsible young men & women.


Canterbury Christian School 5

Posted October 03, 2011
- a parent
We came to know Canterbury Christian School through attendance at St. Paul's Anglican Church and via a work colleague whose two boys had attended Canterbury. We have never looked back after almost 9 years of involvement with the school, as our daughters have each gone from K through 6. The education received is top-notch, with Pr-Algebra taught in 6th Grade and a very strong Shurley English grammar curriculum. The children also get to study Latin, Bells, Music and Art. In 4th Grade, there is an informative day-trip to Sacramento; in 5th Grade, a 5-day Science camp at Mission Springs; and in 6th Grade, the fantastic ACTS-tour of Washington, D.C. and surrounding area. The teachers do a super job of educating the children to the best of their abilities, as well as teaching them the Christian faith. When the children move on to Junior High School from Canterbury, they are polite, respectful to others and academically strong. Canterbury is a true gem; schools like Canterbury are a rare find these days and I highly recommend it.

Canterbury Christian School 5

Posted September 26, 2011
- a parent
We are so glad we chose this school even though we live in Palo Alto and is within a few blocks of one neighborhood school. We are not disappointed and got more than we expected. The school seeks to educate the whole child while maintaining high academic standards. Our oldest child now in 4th grade is not only strong in academics but also he has matured in a way that delights our heart. We started to see growth in his relations with his peers and siblings, discipline and responsibility. He was a very distracted child at first but all his teachers never left him behind. His K teacher at times even stayed for one hour after school to help him with seatwork. All teachers are committed here. My child blossomed under their care and prayer. Many parents told us their graduates are way ahead of their peers in language art even in prominent schools like Castalia. Kids learn mostly in class from their teachers not from push Tiger Moms . We observed at first hand how children could be happy and learn so much more within a discipline environment. Canterbury is also a loving family and community.

Canterbury Christian School 5

Posted September 15, 2011
- a parent
My two children attended this school for 6 years. They never complained once going to school. They loved to learn and played with their friends. Teachers are so faithful in what God had called them to do. Their love toward students and passion for teaching really touched my heart. The school taught them how to be a good citizen for God and for their community. They instilled important biblical value into their mind which last for life long. Nothing can compare the education they had at Canterbury!!! Going to Canterbury was the best decision both me and my husband had made for them.


Canterbury Christian School 5

Posted September 15, 2011
- a parent
My son graduated from kindergarten in Canterbury and started his first grade there, he really enjoys the school and teachers. Before Canterbury, we already toured both Challenger and Stratford, eventually we picked Canterbury. Now we are happy we made a right decision.

Canterbury Christian School 5

Posted September 07, 2011
- a parent
My daughter had been attending public schools until we found Canterbury. This is truely a hidden-gem! The teachers here are true believers and they love what they do! They are not teaching Bible at the intellectual level. Instead, they are teaching kids how to live out Christ-centered life. The class size is unbeatable - on the average 10 kids per class, much much better than what public schools can provide. The community is well bonded. Great parenting involvement and support! We absolutely love it! From Zhou family

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Canterbury Christian School
101 North El Monte Avenue, Los Altos, CA  94022
(650) 949-0909
Last modified Canterbury Christian School is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Canterbury Christian School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top