Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Waldorf School Of The Peninsula

Private | K-5 | 166 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Altos

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,525,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 16, 2013

This is wonderful school. The staff and faculty are very caring and hold the well-being of every child highly. They work hard to meet the needs of all the students, and assess regularly (in a fun manner) the children and teachers to make sure they are succeeding. Though Waldorf schools seem to be known for their art & music curriculum, it has strong academics, too, it's just not taught in the usual bland manner. This school has a strong parent-participatory community. This is not our first Waldorf experience so though we do believe strongly in the educational philosophy, I am aware not all schools are created equally. I can say with confidence this school is very healthy and works hard at staying so. We are so grateful to have found WSP for our children and family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

I personally went to this school from 5th through 8th grade and I'm currently now in there High school. I have learned so much in the years I have been going to this school. This school is completely different from public school. I love this school and I know that anyone who comes will love it also. In my opinion this school has the best education around.


Posted October 16, 2010

Waldorf staff and teachers are caring, dedicated, and responsive to the needs of their students. They foster and encourage learning and curiosity. The student develops both mentality, spiritually, and physically.


Posted September 21, 2010

If you are looking for an alternative to a mainstream school this is definitely an alternative. It is a participatory school, so if you like to volunteer in activities in your child's classroom or for the community this would be a perfect option. The strengths of the system lie in the liberal arts emphasis, the call for creativity, and a strong maths program in the middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2006

My child went to WSP from kindergarten through 2nd grade. We then moved away. For years our child mourned the loss of his beloved WSP. We loved the teachers, the staff and his class. We have since been involved with several other Waldorf Schools elsewhere, but no other so successfully embraces the love and respect for others that this one does. They also truly desire to have a diverse community and show this by embracing other cultures, colors and lifestyles. The devotion that the entire school community expresses towards the wellbeing of every child is a gift that your child will carry through their life. While I too was concerned because I wasn't sure my child was learning enough to be successful in more mainstream schools, I worried for naught. My child is on the honor roll, taking honors classes and thriving at a rigorously academic middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

This school is one of the best school for early childhood. My daughter is in preschool now, and teacher is amazing. Very child centered, and the classroom is a sunctuary. My conceren is about higher graders. I would say, it would depends on a teacher, since one teacher take care of child whole 8 years (From 1st through 8th grade.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

I cannot recommend this school any higher for care and attention to child development (intellectual, spiritual, emotional) and support in nurturing confident, compassionate, independent, mature and healthy individuals who are ready to fulfill an active and responsible role in society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2005

I am very happy with this school for my children. I provides an alternative, holistic approach to education. As well as strong academics, the school provides arts, movement, music, handwork, gardening and games, all woven into the curriculum in a way that is appropriate for the child's age. Tests are not imposed on the children and there is certainly no teaching to the tests. Tests are only done to give the teachers and parents an indication of where the child falls relative to what their standard should be at that point. There is one class per grade, very strong sense of community. The teachers are incredibly dedicated to their role, and commit to stay with the same class all the way through from 1st to 8th grade. As a result, the teacher knows each child very well, and can act almost as a third parent during the storms of adolescence.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 11%
Black 3% 6%
Hispanic 2% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Stephanie Rynas
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AWSNA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Waldorf
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11311 Mora Drive
Los Altos, CA 94024
Phone: (650) 209-9400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT