Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Page Private-Hancock Park
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 28, 2015
- a parent
This place is not really what they make it out to be. The teaching staff is scared at the chance they may lose their job around every winter and summer break. Attendance is dwindling, and this place is on hard times! Outside of the occasional Asbestos removal sign and junk food lunch program, it's still not a positive environment for learning, especially when the teachers are more focused on keeping the admin happy and stress free so not to run the risk if losing their job rather than focusing on the children's needs. God forbid your child falls behind in one single area on development or learning, they admin staff will be quick to blame the parents without really realizing your child was with them for 6-7hr 5 days a week for the past 1-2yrs. I doubt anyone here actually has any teaching degrees and once your child is above preschool the teachers only favor children who are introvert, unexpressive and follow orders to a T. If you want to pay $1275/month for your 2-3 yr old sit at a desk and do worksheets and play outside for hours on end, lesson plans are a joke, then this is your school. If your child acts different in any way outside of the norm compared to their peers the staff confronts you as if it is something you have done wrong, yet the problem really isn't a problem or anything other than a normal toddler being a toddler... This is not a preschool, it is a school trying to teach young minds as if they were adolescent. Above that they fee you to death with silly programs and text books, text books for 3yr olds, laughable, it's a binder with construction and computer paper. This is a for profit school seeking only profits... One hick up in your child's behavior or development and the staff goes hands off and does whatever they can to not be bothered or burdened by the issue. Don't bother looking into this school for your child if you value expression, positive growth or the beautiful reality that a toddler is only a toddler once and sitting at a desk doing ditto sheets and playing on the playground for hours and hours until pick up time does not achieve successful future growth. All in all the preschool teachers are amazing, the staff is horrendous and the pre- k teachers have no business teaching. Awful place, really is!

Page Private-Hancock Park 1

Posted June 28, 2015
- a parent
This place is not really what they make it out to be. The teaching staff is scared at the chance they may lose their job around every winter and summer break. Attendance is dwindling, and this place is on hard times! Outside of the occasional Asbestos removal sign and junk food lunch program, it's still not a positive environment for learning, especially when the teachers are more focused on keeping the admin happy and stress free so not to run the risk if losing their job rather than focusing on the children's needs. God forbid your child falls behind in one single area on development or learning, they admin staff will be quick to blame the parents without really realizing your child was with them for 6-7hr 5 days a week for the past 1-2yrs. I doubt anyone here actually has any teaching degrees and once your child is above preschool the teachers only favor children who are introvert, unexpressive and follow orders to a T. If you want to pay $1275/month for your 2-3 yr old sit at a desk and do worksheets and play outside for hours on end, lesson plans are a joke, then this is your school. If your child acts different in any way outside of the norm compared to their peers the staff confronts you as if it is something you have done wrong, yet the problem really isn't a problem or anything other than a normal toddler being a toddler... This is not a preschool, it is a school trying to teach young minds as if they were adolescent. Above that they fee you to death with silly programs and text books, text books for 3yr olds, laughable, it's a binder with construction and computer paper. This is a for profit school seeking only profits... One hick up in your child's behavior or development and the staff goes hands off and does whatever they can to not be bothered or burdened by the issue. Don't bother looking into this school for your child if you value expression, positive growth or the beautiful reality that a toddler is only a toddler once and sitting at a desk doing ditto sheets and playing on the playground for hours and hours until pick up time does not achieve successful future growth. All in all the preschool teachers are amazing, the staff is horrendous and the pre- k teachers have no business teaching. Awful place, really is!


Page Private-Hancock Park 5

Posted May 18, 2015
- a parent
My husband and I attended open house April 2015. We were impressed with the front office, teachers we met and well mannered polite students at Page. Our daughter will start preschool at Page in June 2015. Today i took my daughter for a practice/trial day at the school. I planned to stay with her from 9-12 noon. BUT 10 minutes after we arrived to her classroom she said "Bye Mom". She obviously was comfortable, happy and safe. Its the best feeling for a parent to know that your precious child feels comfortable somewhere without you. All the kids were happy and all the staff i encountered were delightful. We are very excited for our future at Page.
1 person found this helpful

Page Private-Hancock Park 5

Posted September 13, 2013
- a parent
I'm so lucky to have found Page. You can't beat the hours (6:30-6:30) and the pricing (about $1,100/mo) for the quality. They start at age 2 and go up to 5th grade. They have amazing outdoor play areas, all kinds of activities available either in class, such as music, art, Spanish, gardening, swimming, and after school programs such as advanced art, cooking, piano, dance, etc. There are field trips, and a lot of fun summer activities. The administration is awesome, so kind, personable, and professional. The teachers are very involved, supportive, and really focus on creating a positive environment. I've learned a lot of great parenting skills just from learning how the teachers work with the kids. My daughter's in PreK, and the curriculum is strong, but not overwhelming, and it respects their intelligence while allowing plenty of organized and free play as well. There is such a diverse group of families across many racial backgrounds, a lot of working parents, and just overall good, normal people; it creates a great culture for the school. Page schools are all slightly different, and Larchmont seems a tad bit better than BH on multiple levels. I would recommend it to anyone.
1 person found this helpful

Page Private-Hancock Park 5

Posted October 16, 2012
- a parent
great academics, really friendly environmental. Both my kids love their respective teachers and the ones they had in the previous years (4th year at Page). Extra activities, play grounds, pool, field trips etc. We are very happy and we will continue at Page-Larchmont.
1 person found this helpful


Page Private-Hancock Park 5

Posted June 12, 2012
- a parent
My twin boys have been going to Page since they were three. Next year they will enter first grade. They absolutely love the school. And when one was struggling this year, we were able to sit down with his teacher and the principal and devise a plan of attack to help him out. He has made tremendous improvement since then. Page is a small school with a wonderful ethnic diversity and a family-type atmosphere that stresses traditional academics (the three R's) while offering lots of play time and playground areas. The school also tests well, and a year ago one child went directly from Page (8th grade) to college. And while I would not recommend this jump to anyone, it certainly shows me that the school was able to keep up with this child's curiousity for learning, and that they never hit an academic ceiling. If you want a small, hands-on school for your child that is suprisingly affordable, I recommend Page.
1 person found this helpful

Page Private-Hancock Park 1

Posted April 30, 2012
- a parent
I can see the lack of honesty in the reviews posted immediately after mine.(on April 3 and 4) They wanted the stars not the truth to be posted. Why don't we see test scores? This is how we teach children to be honest !

Page Private-Hancock Park 4

Posted April 04, 2012
- a parent
My children have attended Page school for the last 5 years. My kids rank a grade level higher in their state testing, they have study hall with their teachers after school, taking an interest in their homework and instilling study habits. At the end of each school year, my kids have bonded with each of their teachers and connects. Every teacher has taken an active role in mentoring my kids. For working professionals that want a higher education for their children, Page school is the place. Most schools in LA only go to 5th or 6th grade, Page is through 8th grade, this is a huge plus in the school portfolio for Los Angeles. The teachers and administrative staff will assist you in securing a high school and your child's transition can be smooth based upon their higher level of learning.


Page Private-Hancock Park 5

Posted April 04, 2012
- a parent
great school, great teachers. class sizes are small, but that is a plus. many teachers and administrators have been there for 10+ years, and that is a real plus. If you are trying to figure out how to negotiate elementary and middle school...go to Page Private in Larchmont, they solve that problem!
1 person found this helpful

Page Private-Hancock Park 4

Posted April 03, 2012
- a parent
This school is small, and has been another home for my children for the past three years (since pre-school). The staff, students and their parents are like family to us. The campus is big and has four separate playgrounds dedicated to different grades, for safe play. They even have an outdoor swimming pool that is used in the summer. This is definitely a high achieving school and the students are challenged to push themselves. The reward is that most are testing a grade higher in reading and math. My own children felt pressured at first, but now they are motivated and eager to do well. If you're two working parents, like my husband and I, they offer care before and after school hours, which has been a tremendous help. Arts are lacking (hence the four stars not five), but they do have a computer lab and after school options for arts and crafts and cooking. Spanish is introduced as early as Pre-K, and basketball, volleyball and soccer are played, as well as P.E. classes with the coach (everyone loves Coach Shepherd!). We love this school and feel that it will only get better :)
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Page Private-Hancock Park
565 North Larchmont Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  90004
(323) 463-5118
Last modified Page Private-Hancock Park is a Private school that serves grades K-5
Page Private-Hancock Park Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top