Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
305 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 92 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Brendan 5

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
I love this school from it's teachers to the the principal, from the campus to the community. But really, it's all about the community here. I know that my children are making lifelong friendships in addition to preparing for admission to the best high schools in LA (and the students do matriculate to the very best of the best schools). You can spend more elsewhere, and perhaps have a smaller class size, but I have seen no noticeable benefit in terms of where the kids end up after elementary school. Parental involvement is a key component of the school culture. The athletics program is top-notch and allows for students to participate in many sports, and at varying levels of skill. The "middle school" classes (6th/7th/8th) have particularly excellent teachers, but the Kindergarten teacher is a bit of a local legend. While it is a Catholic school, it is just the right level of sincerity and simplicity - not judgy or "holier than thou", we are a VERY accepting school and parish. I consider myself and my children truly fortunate to have landed in such a fantastic place.

St. Brendan 5

Posted October 12, 2013
- a parent
St. Brendans has an amazing community of involved parents wonderful children and a excellent staff. I love that we are right in the middle of a huge city and yet we feel totally embraced by this fantastic school with a close knit down to earth small town feeling.


St. Brendan 4

Posted March 20, 2013
- a parent
I had one, 5-minute conversation with the teacher before school and got better quality homework and reading that day forward.

St. Brendan 4

Posted March 18, 2013
- a parent
K5 this year. Comparing apples to apples, this is a great school. Catholic school is slow growth in early years. Go to Citizens if you want project based education that, at first, seems more "advanced." Pack extra pants for the long hike to the bathroom though, assuming teacher/escort's not too busy with the many mainstreamed special Ed kids. 3rd Street expects 6 kinder classes. HP Elem, Page, Weho, Larchmont, or math magnet lacks funding. My son's high level reading/math but, he does 10 mins of same letter book he did when he was in JK/Pre-K. Meh, whatever. Real conversations with the teacher and other parents helped me work through it. Kinder teacher is standoffish but, she and all the teachers I spoke with are kind, open-minded, fair and consistent. Finally, the afterschool offered Lego, Chess, Soccer, Taekwondo all year and T-Ball starting up now. Want Echo Horizon abacus math? Rock climbing at St. James? Well, go pay for it, then. "Malignant influence" and high sugar content rendering kids violent. Really? Maybe wake up a little earlier and pack a lunch. Lunch vendor has changed recently with organic offerings, btw.

St. Brendan 2

Posted May 08, 2012
- a parent
My child went to Saint Brendan for a year, and my general impression was that the level of academic rigor was poor. For homework, my child received the exact same type of worksheet everyday for the entire school year. There is no cafeteria, but occasionally lunches extremely high in sugar are catered to the children rendering the students violent and disobedient. I did not perceive the diversity that previous reviewers proclaimed, as the school is predominately white and middle class, accompanied with the according hypocrisy. The principal is genuine, however, she is incapable of controlling the malignant influence that some teachers are exercising.


St. Brendan
no rating

Posted May 15, 2010
- a parent
good teacher, great community and very giving kids...

St. Brendan
no rating

Posted May 14, 2010
- a parent
Great education not just in the academics, but in how to be a good person

St. Brendan
no rating

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
Our special school in full of sweet hearts, generous acts of service, and hardworking parents &teachers! Go SBS!


St. Brendan
no rating

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
St. Brendans has an incredible community of involved parents, wonderful children and a great staff. We treasure the fact that we're smack dab in the middle of a huge city and yet we feel totally embraced by this wonderful school with a close knit, down to earth, small town feeling.

St. Brendan
no rating

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
My children are learning about life along with, reading and writing. They are happy and thriving.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Brendan
238 South Manhattan Place, Los Angeles, CA  90004
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 92 reviews. (213) 382-7401
Last modified St. Brendan is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top