Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ribet Academy College Preparatory

Private | PK-12 | 500 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $339,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

57 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2008

Ribet is an excellent school. There are some people that will criticize the school that do not step up to the plate to be involved with improving things they are not happy with. The new owner is very receptive to implementing changes requested by parents. As a whole, Ribet offers a well adjusted whole-child curriculum. My children are happy, love their school and are doing far more than they would in public school. That is all the reassurance I need. Can't wait for the British Invasion music program this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

This school used to be an excellent school. The founder of the school intended this school to be a place where children could get the best education REGARDLESS of socioeconomic background. The school and current administration have completely lost sight of this - now it is all about the power of the almighty dollar. And dollar for dollar, the high cost of tuition is not worth the education your child will receive. A real disappointment....and a disservice to Jacques Ribet's original dream.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

I work at Ribet and I also have children that attend Ribet, As a whole Ribet is an excellent school. No school is perfect, you can pick apart every school, need more AP courses, more athletic programs, this or that. but this is a college prep school, and it does what it says it will do...It prepares you for college!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

Ive worked at Ribet Academy for 28 years...at this point I'm the veteran of the place. I've read all of the posted reviews and feel that each is valid. Education is personal, and each individual's opinion of the experience is informed by a unique frame of reference. Ribet has a history of consistent improvement motivated by a desire to compete with older, more established schools (those which typically have endowments and/or funding apart from tuition)in order to provide the students an increasingly excellent program. Those who might not have been here for a year or two might find that changes they thought would improve the school have been implemented since then! Our seniors' acceptances into universities has been 100% in the past couple of years, and we're happy with the accomplishments that we've achieved. New owners seem commited to original Ribet philosophy. Nec pluribus impar - we shall never be stopped!
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted May 11, 2007

I have been a Teacher at Ribet for almost 10 years. I love teaching at Ribet for 1 main reason, the Students. The Students are nice, respectful and interested in learning. We have many excellent Programs such as Science, Art and Debate which have achieved exceptional success at the County, State and National levels. Our seniors have been accepted to universities such as Harvard, Stanford, UCLA, UPenn, Berkeley, Johns Hopkins, Pomona College, USC, Syracuse, Purdue and that was just the last two years. Every school has things that need work and Ribet is no different. Whether Ribet has a pay scale or not, results are achieved. I am confident that after a student has passed through my classes they have been exposed to the material in a way that has well prepared them for college.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 24, 2007

I have had a very disapointing experience as a faculty member at Ribet Academy. Though Ribet promises class sizes of under 25 students, I had several classes of over 30 students, making it very difficult to provide students with the individual attention that parents are promised. Additionally, most teachers here have more than four classes to prep for daily which makes it necessary to make sacrifices in teaching and curriculum on a daily basis. Students are thought of and refered to as 'customers' by the administration, and though I do believe that everyone on the faculty and admin genuinly cares about the students, the mindset of the administration is mostly on making and saving money. Teacher turnover rate is shockingly high because teachers are paid at the poverty line, there is not a pay scale, they are not given benefits, and are given very little support and guidance from the administration.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 18, 2007

We left Ribet to send our child to a local public school and found this to be a mistake. In comparison to other private schools, Ribet's tuition is much more affordable for a similar curriculum. The principal and staff are very friendly and helpful. The Kindergarten teacher is one of the best one could come by. Children go on several educational field trips and the curriculum is balanced with art, music, PE and spanish starting in PreK. These subjects are not offered in public school. I have found myself running around all over town supplementing all of this when my child could have stayed at Ribet and experienced these subjects with his classmates. As someone said previously, there is some teacher turnover, but there are many that have been there for a long time as well. Mr. Daly has been there for quite a while and is EXCELLENT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2006

Ribet Academy does not have their administration in place. They always seem to be trying to do the right and impressive thing but fall short. I wish they had been more selective in their student admissions. It seems like everyone who wants to pay for it can get in. I'm not sure that the academics are much better than a public school. Teachers change all the time only a few have been there for a long period of time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2005

I am impressed with the good energy I feel at Ribet as well as the diverse student population which reflects real life in Los Angeles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2005

I enjoyed going to school here.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 2, 2005

My child has been attending this school for two years now. The teachers have worked one-on-one to help my child be her best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

The debate program was very good. Class size was good. Web site to keep parents informed was excellent. School assignments due and past assignments with grades was available on the web.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2005

The tuition is quite high. The extracurricular activitites (sports and performing arts, especially the band) is lacking. The building is old and in need of a remodel. There a a handful of very qualified teachers but the majority is very average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

Ribet Academy provided a temporary haven from the bureaucracy of public high school. Ribet has a very strong history and science dept but is very weak in the English Dept, unless if they will have improved miraculously in the next few years.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 15, 2005

I have been working as an independent counselor for many students at Ribet Academy for about 6 years. I am so pleased with the school's administration and staff. The administrators are so willing to work with and for each student that I have represented and the teachers really care about their students. I am planning to send my daughter to Ribet in the Fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

I went to this school from preschool-12th. The academics for elementary age children are wonderful. It is not a school I would recommend, however for Jr.High-High School. You don't get the quality you would expect for what you're paying.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 8, 2005

very limited resources considering the tuition costs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 26%
Hispanic 24% 52%
Black 10% 6%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Armenian
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Teresa Ruiz, Principal
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (323) 344-4339

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • College preparatory
  • Honors track
Foreign languages taught
  • Armenian
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Students at Ribét engage in a number of community service projects. They participate in community clean-ups like the Los Angeles River Day, run a Thanksgiving Food Drive for a local homeless children’s center, the Shoebox Drive provides women a the Downtown Women’s Shelter with toiletries and personal items. The children were asked to split their Halloween candy and brought in over 10,000 pieces that went to incarcerated women to give to their children.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of California system
California State University system
Private Universities
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2911 North San Fernando Road
Los Angeles, CA 90065
Website: Click here
Phone: (323) 344-4330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT