Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

3 stars
Based on 62 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


67 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ribet Academy College Preparatory 1

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
Worst school on the world! Students use offensive language in front of teachers. Poor quality education. Refuse to refund students wanting to leave. Inferior education. Oversized classes students have to stand against the wall due to lack of space. Rude admin staff. Claim they own students
5 people found this helpful

Ribet Academy College Preparatory 1

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is an international student who passed grade 9. She started school in the second semester. My daughter was told that she had to repeat grade 9 for 1 semester. After paying $26 000 for one semester we were horrified to see what was on offer. As core subjects they offered art, drama, dancing and English as a second language. Our home language is English. We opted to leave the school. The teachers were mostly unavailable for lessons. Students use vulgar language. In U.S. history class there were no desks available for her. They had to stand against the wall. A nearby Christian school accepted her for grade 10 after assessment. When the host mother went to Ribet to get my daughter's transfer documents & refund they refused to give it & told my daughter she had no right leaving the school because they own her. They told her that she couldn t be promoted to grade 10 because she didn t pass grade 9 in the U.S? They attacked the host mother & told her to evict my daughter. She has a contract with them & shouldn t accept a student who is no longer @ their school. They told her that they Owned her too. She refused to evict my daughter. They keep students by refusing refunds
4 people found this helpful


Ribet Academy College Preparatory 5

Posted August 31, 2014
- a parent
We came to this school from a, top 100 public school, that only teaches to state tests. The quality of education my daughter has received is well rounded. Her classes are very challenging and the students seriousness about education is positive. We have the #1 math student in the nation and have won many science awards. The athletic programs ares on the rise. The girls basketball team won CIF, the girls volleyball team made it to the CIF playoffs. If you want bougie, this is not the place to go. This is not a fancy private school that WOWs you because of all of it s amenities, it s average. What they do have is a lot of support to be successful in the classroom. What you get out of an education, is what you are willing to put in. I don't place too much emphasis on "teacher credentials", because I have known way too many "credentialed teachers" who are horrible. I look at quality not quantity and my daughters SAT scores say quality . Ribet is in the "business" of teaching students and timely tuition payments are necessary. Being several months late on tuition could cause your child to loose privileges. This is a private school, not a public school.
4 people found this helpful

Ribet Academy College Preparatory 5

Posted August 26, 2014
- a teacher
This school is awesome! Best place to work, best students to work with! Love my job!!
4 people found this helpful

Ribet Academy College Preparatory 1

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
Worst school ever! We all make fun of this supposed academy up here in Mt Washington. Yes, I have tried the school... Yuck.
5 people found this helpful


Ribet Academy College Preparatory 1

Posted June 23, 2014
- a community member
Bottom line - this place is a BUSINESS and the main driving force is to make money. Providing children with a quality education is secondary, if that. The well-being of children is definitely not a priority here (there is no school nurse on campus). The program for international students is full of false claims made by administration. For example, the Ribet website claims students have access to a college style dining hall. In actuality, international students are given donuts every morning for breakfast (and this is not done in any sort of dining hall - they place a box of donuts in the office for students to come get their "breakfast"). Classes are taught by non-credentialed teachers. Tuition costs are comparable to college tuition costs. If a student is late in paying tuition, they are denied access to school. If they haven't already lost their accreditation, they will be losing it soon. Save your money, and go somewhere else!
5 people found this helpful

Ribet Academy College Preparatory 3

Posted January 21, 2014
- a parent
Love this school. Friendly staff. Specially the Kinder program. It has wonderful enriched activities like yoga, Spanish, PE, dance and events to help the kids have fun learning. It would be nice to have more parents participate, and help to make a difference instead of just dropping off their children and criticizing the administration. Submitted by a Parent

Ribet Academy College Preparatory 1

Posted October 03, 2013
- a parent
The best part of Ribet use to be the kindergarten program. This year the kinder program has been downgraded immensely. Wonderful, experienced, teachers were replaced with inexperienced, less costly staff. The teacher to student ratio increased and the enrichment and activities that made the kinder program the amazing program it once was are all gone. After just one month into the school year two families have left.
4 people found this helpful


Ribet Academy College Preparatory 1

Posted October 01, 2013
- a parent
Amazing that this school has any accreditation. This school has no direction and offers little anything more a big bill
4 people found this helpful

Ribet Academy College Preparatory 1

Posted August 20, 2013
- a community member
This school is HORRIBLE! They need a new admin asap or that school is going under! You have to see it to believe it!
6 people found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ribet Academy College Preparatory
2911 North San Fernando Road, Los Angeles, CA  90065
(323) 344-4330
Last modified Ribet Academy College Preparatory is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Ribet Academy College Preparatory Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 67 reviews. Top