Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 415
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 60 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


65 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ribet Academy College Preparatory 5

Posted August 31, 2014
- a parent
We came to this school from a, top 100 public school, that only teaches to state tests. The quality of education my daughter has received is well rounded. Her classes are very challenging and the students seriousness about education is positive. We have the #1 math student in the nation and have won many science awards. The athletic programs ares on the rise. The girls basketball team won CIF, the girls volleyball team made it to the CIF playoffs. If you want bougie, this is not the place to go. This is not a fancy private school that WOWs you because of all of it s amenities, it s average. What they do have is a lot of support to be successful in the classroom. What you get out of an education, is what you are willing to put in. I don't place too much emphasis on "teacher credentials", because I have known way too many "credentialed teachers" who are horrible. I look at quality not quantity and my daughters SAT scores say quality . Ribet is in the "business" of teaching students and timely tuition payments are necessary. Being several months late on tuition could cause your child to loose privileges. This is a private school, not a public school.

Ribet Academy College Preparatory 5

Posted August 26, 2014
- a teacher
This school is awesome! Best place to work, best students to work with! Love my job!!


Ribet Academy College Preparatory 1

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
Worst school ever! We all make fun of this supposed academy up here in Mt Washington. Yes, I have tried the school... Yuck.

Ribet Academy College Preparatory 1

Posted June 23, 2014
- a community member
Bottom line - this place is a BUSINESS and the main driving force is to make money. Providing children with a quality education is secondary, if that. The well-being of children is definitely not a priority here (there is no school nurse on campus). The program for international students is full of false claims made by administration. For example, the Ribet website claims students have access to a college style dining hall. In actuality, international students are given donuts every morning for breakfast (and this is not done in any sort of dining hall - they place a box of donuts in the office for students to come get their "breakfast"). Classes are taught by non-credentialed teachers. Tuition costs are comparable to college tuition costs. If a student is late in paying tuition, they are denied access to school. If they haven't already lost their accreditation, they will be losing it soon. Save your money, and go somewhere else!

Ribet Academy College Preparatory 3

Posted January 21, 2014
- a parent
Love this school. Friendly staff. Specially the Kinder program. It has wonderful enriched activities like yoga, Spanish, PE, dance and events to help the kids have fun learning. It would be nice to have more parents participate, and help to make a difference instead of just dropping off their children and criticizing the administration. Submitted by a Parent


Ribet Academy College Preparatory 1

Posted October 03, 2013
- a parent
The best part of Ribet use to be the kindergarten program. This year the kinder program has been downgraded immensely. Wonderful, experienced, teachers were replaced with inexperienced, less costly staff. The teacher to student ratio increased and the enrichment and activities that made the kinder program the amazing program it once was are all gone. After just one month into the school year two families have left.

Ribet Academy College Preparatory 1

Posted October 01, 2013
- a parent
Amazing that this school has any accreditation. This school has no direction and offers little anything more a big bill

Ribet Academy College Preparatory 1

Posted August 20, 2013
- a community member
This school is HORRIBLE! They need a new admin asap or that school is going under! You have to see it to believe it!


Ribet Academy College Preparatory 5

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
At the school a year now and really happy we're there. Great staff and a terrific community atmosphere. We left public school and the cost was tough to swing, but so far really well worth every cent.

Ribet Academy College Preparatory 5

Posted April 27, 2013
- a parent
Ribet finally got it right! The change in administration is amazing! I think the other parents feel the same. The new principal is awesome! She holds the students accoutable and they love her. She makes a point of getting involved in all of the activities. Great change in the athletic department as well. New positive energy going through the school. My family looks forward to many more years at Ribet Academy!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ribet Academy College Preparatory
2911 North San Fernando Road, Los Angeles, CA  90065
(323) 344-4330
Last modified Ribet Academy College Preparatory is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Ribet Academy College Preparatory Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 65 reviews. Top