Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
159 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shalhevet High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
Noam Weismann is a wonderful human being who cares about his students as if they are his own children, I thank Gd every day for his support and loving care of my child.

Shalhevet High School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
Shalhevet changed my daughters life. She is now in her senior year at Shalhevet and I am eternally grateful for the INDIVIDUAL care , love and support my daughter receives on a daily basis. She has a learning challenge and within the loving community of teachers she has blossomed into an excited enthused young woman who actually enjoys the subjects that seemed so daunting in Freshman year. Shalhevet is a gift. a gift that will benefit your child for the rest of their lives.


Shalhevet High School 5

Posted October 04, 2009
- a community member
Student empowerment and leadership development at it's best.

Shalhevet High School
no rating

Posted August 23, 2009
- a parent
Excellent School. The new head of shcool has really excelled in all he has done. Whatever the probelms were before this head of school, have either become much smaller or have gone totally. I am truly impressed by how the school has turned around for the better.

Shalhevet High School 2

Posted July 12, 2009
- a parent
I was very disappointed with the administration and the lack of discipline I saw throughout the school. The head of school has taken the warm atmosphere away and now it feels cold and unfriendly.


Shalhevet High School 1

Posted May 25, 2009
- a parent
If you like a school that is disorganized and chaotic this is the school for you. The discipline is very lax and most of the teachers dont care if the kids are supervised or not. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere.

Shalhevet High School
no rating

Posted April 17, 2008
- a parent
Great school, kids love it - warm and friendly - great education

Shalhevet High School
no rating

Posted December 31, 2007
- a parent
The administration has improved greatly in the past 6 months. The religious studies have become significantly more serious in the past 2 years. My daughter loves going to school everyday. Students have the opportunity to express themselves and get involved in a wide variety of extra-curricular activities.


Shalhevet High School 4

Posted March 15, 2007
- a parent
With a few exceptions, the administration is generally weak and has many shortcomings. It is particularly disorganized. (The notable exceptions are in the college guidance counselor, and in the director of admissions, which are led by two excellent women.) However, my children (I'm on my 3rd) have thrived at the school. They have mostly had excellent teachers, and the student body is friendly, enthusiastic and extremely intelligent, but not snobby or cliquish. The 11th and 12th graders can take many high level courses that are as intellectually challenging as anything they will have in college level. They have some great opportunities for extracurricular activities, including a stand-out drama department. A group of motivated, intelligent students, combined with outstanding teachers, will overcome the disorganized administration.

Shalhevet High School 5

Posted February 04, 2007
- a parent
I have 2 boys at Shalhevet, my boys will sleep at school is possible, they are very happy and they wake up every day exited to go to school, I think that is a great sign. Overall the school is good, they have great teachers and great activities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shalhevet High School
910 South Fairfax Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90036
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (323) 930-9333
Last modified Shalhevet High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top