Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 159
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shalhevet High School 5

Posted October 04, 2009
- a community member
Student empowerment and leadership development at it's best.

Shalhevet High School
no rating

Posted August 23, 2009
- a parent
Excellent School. The new head of shcool has really excelled in all he has done. Whatever the probelms were before this head of school, have either become much smaller or have gone totally. I am truly impressed by how the school has turned around for the better.


Shalhevet High School 2

Posted July 12, 2009
- a parent
I was very disappointed with the administration and the lack of discipline I saw throughout the school. The head of school has taken the warm atmosphere away and now it feels cold and unfriendly.

Shalhevet High School 1

Posted May 25, 2009
- a parent
If you like a school that is disorganized and chaotic this is the school for you. The discipline is very lax and most of the teachers dont care if the kids are supervised or not. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere.

Shalhevet High School
no rating

Posted April 17, 2008
- a parent
Great school, kids love it - warm and friendly - great education


Shalhevet High School
no rating

Posted December 31, 2007
- a parent
The administration has improved greatly in the past 6 months. The religious studies have become significantly more serious in the past 2 years. My daughter loves going to school everyday. Students have the opportunity to express themselves and get involved in a wide variety of extra-curricular activities.

Shalhevet High School 4

Posted March 15, 2007
- a parent
With a few exceptions, the administration is generally weak and has many shortcomings. It is particularly disorganized. (The notable exceptions are in the college guidance counselor, and in the director of admissions, which are led by two excellent women.) However, my children (I'm on my 3rd) have thrived at the school. They have mostly had excellent teachers, and the student body is friendly, enthusiastic and extremely intelligent, but not snobby or cliquish. The 11th and 12th graders can take many high level courses that are as intellectually challenging as anything they will have in college level. They have some great opportunities for extracurricular activities, including a stand-out drama department. A group of motivated, intelligent students, combined with outstanding teachers, will overcome the disorganized administration.

Shalhevet High School 5

Posted February 04, 2007
- a parent
I have 2 boys at Shalhevet, my boys will sleep at school is possible, they are very happy and they wake up every day exited to go to school, I think that is a great sign. Overall the school is good, they have great teachers and great activities.


Shalhevet High School 5

Posted November 01, 2006
- a parent
remarkably well designed school with a tight, up beat community- School year includes many great field trips- Moral values are emphasized- Outreach into the greater community is part of the routine. Excellent AP program. We have had multiple kids in this school go through the elementary school, middle and high school. Although there are problems sometimes with personal friction between staff and students (no surprise - it is a School!) the place is a testament to what committed, visionary educators can do.

Shalhevet High School 1

Posted October 13, 2004
- a parent
This is a private school that has great difficulty working with students who show any individuality or intiative. My child and her friend organised an extra curricular project. The school initially rejected the children, who went on to organize and arrange for support on their own. Once the project was a public success the school claimed credit. There are many excellent teachers at the school who are hampered by a self serving administration that is oriented toward Shalhevet the school rather than the students who make up the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shalhevet High School
910 South Fairfax Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90036
(323) 930-9333
Last modified Shalhevet High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Shalhevet High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top