Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 84 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


91 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Los Angeles Center For Enriched Studies 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
My son's school is LACES and the day we received our acceptance letter we all felt like we hit the lottery. My son enjoys going to school and is thriving there. In most LAUSD schools there is room for improvement esp in class size. LACES and their teachers do an amazing job with what they have to work with.

Los Angeles Center For Enriched Studies 5

Posted April 14, 2014
- a parent
I have twin boys who are 6th graders at LACES. Despite their differing strengths and learning styles, LACES has proven to be an excellent educational environment for both of them. The administration and teachers make an effort to focus on individuality and bring out the best in each student. We are almost finished with "Year 1" and i am still enamored with the school. LACES fosters curiosity and a desire for learning - which is invaluable.


Los Angeles Center For Enriched Studies 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
I feel very proud and fortuned that my kids are attending LACES having said this just like anywhere else there always room for improvement. For those teachers, staff, and parents that go above and beyond thank you, thank you, for all your dedication and hard work.

Los Angeles Center For Enriched Studies 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Being new to LACES and having heard so many things about middle school in general we were unsure what to expect. We have been very pleasantly surprised with the LACES experience. The teachers are great, supportive and warm, the counselors are terrific and very understanding of the middle school transition and the principal is inspiring! The parent community is very involved and there are lots of ways to get to know other parents and be involved. My child enjoys school and is thrilled by the nber of clubs and other opportunities there are for her. The academics are very good, not nearly as hard and scary as I had read about. My child does very well and is only working slightly harder than she did in 5th grade! Overall we are very happy and hope to send our younger child here as well!

Los Angeles Center For Enriched Studies 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Our son is just finishing first year at LACES. We had to decide between LACES and New West. For us, the decision was difficult, because we thought the middle school experience might be better at New West (our friends with kids there are having good experiences). But we went with LACES because of the high school, and because a friend who is an education professor who knows the area schools recommended it as the choice he would make. Our son's first month was challenging -- the kids get about 1 to 1.5 hours of homework, and the atmosphere was initially intimidating for him. BUT, by maybe midway through the second month, he was totally adjusted and having fun. He has learned so much -- I am amazed. Our son is a bit nerdy, and he fits right in. I don't know where else you can find an open public school (as in, not application-based) with a culture that is so academic. The kids seem generally proud/ happy with the school. The principal and teachers have been responsive the couple times we emailed this year. So, for us the bottom line is that after years of worrying about where our kids would go after Westwood Charter (which we love) we now feel lucky to have wound up at LACES.


Los Angeles Center For Enriched Studies 4

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
We are new to LACES. Our son started 6th grade in Fall. We have been happy so far. Our son is a good student but not a 'wiz' in any subject. He has stepped up his game both in studying, learning and homework. He seems to enjoy what is asked of him and where he has stumbled we've gotten support from teachers. It really is a matter of beefing up his study skills which is exactly what 6th grade should be about. The classes do have 30+ kids but again he has stepped out of his shell and made his own connection to each teacher. Which makes us proud since it is a 'life skill' that will serve him later. We have had a number of MIddle school family dinners which a lot of our fellow sixth grade parents and kids have attended. There is a real effort to build up the middle school and the community which we appreciate. Our previous elementary school was very warm and cozy and we weren't sure how we'd fair in the new 1500 student school but the truth is 1500 is small considering it is both a middle and high school and we're finding the cozy. Is every class perfect? Nope. But we can see an evolution taking place and are happy to be here for improvements on an already terrific school.

Los Angeles Center For Enriched Studies 5

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
When my son was admitted we were unsure whether he would find the focus on traditional academics and college preparation to be too much of a departure from what he was used to at his project based and nurturing charter elementary. Our concerns were totally unfounded. He is thriving both academically and socially. Our son has made friends with not only other middle schoolers, but some high schoolers as well. We have seen no bullying or other negative behavior: just an environment where everyone is devoted to doing their very best and helping each other. The teachers and administration here are approachable and take all concerns seriously. There are hard working parents, including middle school parents who are working to establish a greater sense of community for the middle school. I am so relieved to know that my son is provided for until he is ready to go off to college.

Los Angeles Center For Enriched Studies 5

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
My son started this year as a 6th grader at LACES. He LOVES it. He LOVES going to school! He entered this fall an average student and, although the academics are challenging, he has learned study, writing and work skills that have earned him A's and B's. Talk about self esteem...LACES has given him this great gift! He has forged relationships with all his teachers, all of whom have taken a personal interest in him and his success. He loves his new friends in all grades and takes advantage of the athletic activites LACES offers for middle school at lunch. Bullies? His biggest fear! Quickly dashed when older students went out of their way (and continue ) to welcome him and even high five him this fall. As parents, we could not be happier with the approachable, fair and fabulous principal, Mr. Boger, and his faculty and staff. Without a doubt, the students are always their priority. There are also very active parent groups at LACES which foster a lovely sense of community and inclusion...LACES loves parent volunteers and welcomes all time and talent. We are so grateful our son is at LACES.


Los Angeles Center For Enriched Studies 2

Posted November 13, 2013
- a parent
LACES is over rated. Free yes but if your student is not a math and science whiz he will be made to feel miserable and dumb. Worst mistake was going here. Classes are large and kids with wealthy parents and tutors do well. Than there is everyone else. Creative, artistic, social science minded will not find anything at this school.

Los Angeles Center For Enriched Studies 4

Posted September 14, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter is in 8th grade and we're very happy with the education she's received at LACES over the last two years. The principal is very approachable and the administration are friendly and efficient. On the whole we feel the teachers are good and the campus is a pleasant place to visit. There is a strong parent body and a variety of ways to be involved, with PTA and school meetings scheduled at different times so that most parents can attend if they choose. Even though it's a middle and high school it doesn't feel like a big school, and the majority of the students we've met are polite and seem keen to do well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Los Angeles Center For Enriched Studies
5931 West 18th Street, Los Angeles, CA  90035
(323) 938-1620
Last modified Los Angeles Center For Enriched Studies is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Los Angeles Center For Enriched Studies Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 91 reviews. Top