Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

View Park Preparatory Accelerated Charter School

Charter | K-5

 
 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $253,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

Although I am not a long-time parent of a student at VPP, I have been very fortunate that my child has had two great teachers and I couldn't be more pleased with the academic strength of my child based on those teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2013

My daughter attends View Park High she been going to the School since 7th grade and I never had problem...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2013

I really wanted to like this school for my kindergartener, and overall I felt she learned alot this past year. However, with that said, the issues this school has from an organizational standpoint are huge. The tests scores for View Park sink a little with each passing year and it is easy to see why. There is lack of skill set and experience among its adiminstrators, teachers and volunteers. I realize that alot of this stems from the school's budget problems; not being able to hire experienced and skilled staff is the main problem I encountered this year. This school was once a thriving resource for education in the community it serves, but that was under a different administration. Currently, its director and support staff are an unorganized and somewhat unprofessional team that appear to be trying to do their best (they do try), but without the proper skill set and experience lack the ability to give the school what it needs most--effective management. My child won't be returning back for first grade and under View Park's current director, I can only see the school's tests scores dropping even further next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2012

It pains me to rate this school as just "average." But I have no choice. This was a terrific school when Mrs. Robin Harris was the Director. But under the administration(s) since she left, the school has been on an absolute downward plummet. Last year's test scores are indicative of the administration's anti-intellectual and completely non-data-driven approach to education. Combine that with a dictatorial, 100%-top-down management style and a ridiculous level of micromanagement, and you see why so many experienced teachers have left, to be replaced by 1st year intern teachers... Although the API score hasn't yet been posted, the CST scores from last year tell the story. It is a chilling sign for ICEF as an educational organization that the Principal who oversaw the precipitous drop in test scores last year was *promoted* to Chief Academic Officer of the entire Charter Management Organization, leaving the old Vice Principal -- who received questionable test results in his years as an educator, and is one of the worst staff managers you could imagine -- in charge. Really, truly sad...
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 13, 2012

Apparently, the bullying starts in the elementary school and is not dealt with by the teachers or administration. My granddaughter was bullied in the View Park Middle School by children who were jealous of her high academic intersts and skills. The bullying was verbal and physical. She is not continuing at View Park.


Posted July 12, 2012

I love View Park Elementary. I feel that the teachers here and at the middle school go above and beyond to help your child succeed. I have a 2nd grader, 4th and a 9th grader, that attend View Park I feel that this is an Excellent school, as a single parent it is very important that my children are in an Environment that wants them to succeed as well as gives them encouragement. this was Our 1st year here at View Park and it was Great! Mrs Gaska was my sons 1st grade teacher she is very caring and patient I feel that for my son she was a great fit she helped him to have a great 1st year. all of the teacher were great Mrs Woods the director is Kind and very Knowledgable I Believe in View Park and look forward to All of my Children Graduating from High School here and off to Great Universities!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2011

K-2nd is as far as I'll go with this school. VPP use to be a great school. Unfortunately, the constant changes with ICEF has affected VPP in a negative way. Larger classes (30), loss of quality teachers, no computer class, $$ issues that just seem to not end..... Every year that goes by, VPP gets worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2010

my daughter attended this school in third grade and I removed her during the first semister of fourth grade. The staff on the fourth and fifth grade campus are the most unprofessional teachers I have ever encountered. There is NO postive reforcement given to the students. The staff yells and screams at the students. In 2009 a teacher was fired for duct taping a third grade student to a chair and taping his mouth closed because the student misbehaved. Also given the new issues with the ceo of icef this school is not what it use to be. Dont put your children in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

The school has very high standards for even the kindergarten children. Parents must actively participate and volunteer a minimum amount of hours per year. In other words parents, teachers, community members all work together to foster an overall positive and nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

excellent caring staff with great academics
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

My little sister went to VPP. She was the first generation of students to attend the school K-8th grade. The elementary school offers great teachers, and topics for students and is academically challenging. She learned so much, and was very good at all subjects. She now goes to Bishop Montgomery and has maintained a 4.0 GPA since she started (10th grade). Most of the students that go to VVP elementary continue on into middle school there, but leave for private High Schools such as Brentwood, Bishop Montgomery, Archer, and Campbell Hall. The school consists of mostly African American students and Hispanic student numbers are also rising. It requires a lot of parent volunteering, but I loved the school, the culture,and the time, energy, and care the teachers put into the students, (as if they were their own). The only bad thing about the school is the high population of rowdy children.


Posted August 5, 2009

What a fantastic first year it's been for us at View Park. The school came highly recommended and did not disappoint. I was told that one area of concern was that the school administration failed to communicate with the parents effectively. And if that was ever a true concern, you've certainly addressed and corrected the problem. I felt fully informed of everything happening at the school. I was even braced for an onslaught of fundraising and found that it wasn't excessive. The first grade teachers were all very effective at the jobs and extended love, patience and compassion to the children. My son's teacher, Mrs. Walker, was always available whenever I reached out to her. Great suprises were dance, yoga, art, spelling bees, speech contests and weekly library trips. My one area of concern-onboarding new families-has already been addressed in the handbook that I received at the 2009-10 orientation. Great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

I must say my daughter is soaring in this school. I am seeing so much of her potential being pulled out in a challenging yet fun way. As a parent you always want to know that your second grader is being nurtured rather than babied, challenged rather than scolded, and I must say that this year has been everything I had hoped for. Mrs. Fife has been so awesome. She's available to answer my questions, give me tools to help my child excel and grow and is so much fun. Thank you so much for offering an amazing education in MY community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

My son has been part of tthe ICEF (View Park) system since Kinder. he is now in the 6th grade. While the school has excellent benefits, it has been on a slippery slope and contrary to popular belieft it is not due the 'new' students lowering the classroom performance. The school does need better communication for new families and integration of newer students. When 75% of a class gets invited to a party and the new kids are rarely if ever included in outside events that is a problem and not an attitude we should be allowing our kids to promote. But too often we as parents are not doing our part. The school can be a little high schoolish, but as a concerned parent, remember you are there for the kids and let it just roll off the back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

View Park Prep is an exceptional school. Thery have caring teachers, prinicipals and administrators, and really strive to make their students successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2008

I was very concerned about the experiences one of the parents had at VPP. We are a close school community, however there are probably parent cliques at any school where the parents have been together for a long time. I personally go out of my way to welcome new families and try to make their transition smooth. I think maybe we should implement a parent/partner program where new parents are assigned a returning family as a buddy. I will talk to the parent liason about this. In regards to the teachers they are all passionate. Anyone can have a bad day, maybe you caught the teacher on one. VPPACS ES may not be for everyone, but my son has continued to excel. He is in his 7th year in the VPP family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

My child has attended VPPACS for two years now and is entering the 6th grade this Sept.During the past 2 years, I was diappointed in the school academically. There are some good teachers and the rest seem to put on a front like they really care. I've talked to parents on all of the different campuses from k-12 and it doesn't look to good for VPP anymore. The staff is rude and the parents are very 'clicky'. If you haven't been there since the beginning, you are looked upon as beneath the others. I have decided NOT to send my daughter back for middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

I have one child attending VPP. When he first da first came to the school 2 years ago I considered myself blessed to be involved with this school. My opinion has totally changed as a result of many things that have occured over the past school year. ICEF really needs to invest its time, energy, resources, and talents back into VPP Elementary school. The ICEF foundation is so concerned with opening new schools that they are forgetting about thier former star school. Scores have gone down drastically in the last two years. Overall I am no longer happy with the quality of education at VPP, and will be exploring other opportunities for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

This is our first year at View Park and my daughter has enjoyed herself, meeting new friends and have such a loving environment to be educated in. Her fourth grade teacher, and the Liasion, made her school year very interesting and exciting. Kudos to her teacher and the staff at View Park 4th & 5th grade campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

View Park Prep Elementary is overall a good school. Improvement is needed just like any other school. There was a large turnover of teachers and administration when school began September 2007 and before Christmas break. There is a positive change that is reflected in this school on the K -3 campus. There are teachers who really care and spend a lot of time making sure the students learn. I have observed a lot this year and there is a genuine love for teaching that is visible in the classroom. Mrs. Robin Harris is the newly appointed principal who comes with a wealth of experience in administration. She is the former principal of Inglewood Christian School. It takes a year for someone to come in and clean up former administrators actions.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

816

Change from
2012 to 2013

-18

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

816

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-18

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females69%
Males55%
African American63%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state100%

Math

All Students60%
Females64%
Males55%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Females56%
Males43%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate48%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate54%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students58%
Females64%
Males52%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate57%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate54%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Females60%
Males57%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students45%
Females44%
Males48%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability46%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only46%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate30%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Females68%
Males67%
African American70%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students46%
Females44%
Males48%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)30%
Parent education - college graduate44%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students45%
Females28%
Males58%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability46%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only45%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduate44%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate55%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 89%
Hispanic 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2%
Two or more races 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/AN/A
English language learners 1%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3751 West 54th Street
Los Angeles, CA 90043
Website: Click here
Phone: (323) 290-6950

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ccdc Of Little Angels
Los Angeles, CA


Junior Blind Of America
Los Angeles, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT