Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Precious Blood

Private | K-8 | 125 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $263,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 24, 2013

This school is EXCELLENT ! My son tells me every day about his wonderful learning experience in his class, excited for getting "a gold fish" as a reward in math games, telling me great stories of America history, what a Catholic means, etc. His teacher is very committed to the students. She takes her time to teach the kids. The principal is awesome. She is new, but she listens to kids and parent to make PBS better. The staff are awesome ! We are extremelly happy to call Precious Blood School as our precious school ! The best school in Los Angeles !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

My daughter Sydney has been gong to school there since Kindergarten. Compared to other children her age (which is 12yrs in September)she has beyond far excelled and matured and is very comprehensive in her studies. She does not have to share her text books with others and the faculty make time for their students. It definitely shows in many ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

This school is a good school and new principal or not the children are still learning much more than the local public schools teach. The students still remain good children with a strong values. Unfortunately, the parents that have been use to running the school are planting negativity and promoting division amongst themselves and the administration. My advice to all interested is, visit the classrooms and just observe the happiness on the children's faces. Shame on you parents for bringing non Catholic values to PBS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2012

This school is horrible. When I first came here it was an average school. However, when the new principal came in, everything went downhill. Students aren't learning anything. The teachers here are horrible.


Posted October 24, 2011

small classroom size and excellent support from the faculty and parents. A family oriented community. A must choice for parents who are looking to enroll children in a small, nurturing community of faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

My two children graduated last year and we have one more in middle school. My two boys are in high school and doing extremely well, while our daughter in middle school is advancing. My husband and I have seen the good changes. This little wonderful school has a great principal and devoted teachers. I think it's a little hidden jewel in our community. Like the person below me said, 'Excellent Excellent School'!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

Excellent Excellent school. What can I say? the teachers are great, my boy has learned a lot, has gone into honors, and I am very proud of the academics. This school, like how the kids say it, is the bomb.


Posted August 24, 2009

The teachers are great but there is an instability of teachers. There has been at least two new teachers every year since the new principal took over the school. The fundraising and extra money they ask for is ridiculous. My child is no longer at this school for these reasons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

I am a parent of my two boys at Precious Blood School. The academics are great! My oldest son graduated and got accepted to Loyola. His reading and study skills improved drastically since he enrolled. Yet, this school may be little, it has a real family feel to it. My son's were always a priority! Thank You.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2008

Many many changes in the past 3 years and all good. Terrific principal and teachers. Chess club, Book club, Student Council, Pep and Cheer Squad, Volleyball and Basketball, Art and Music, New Technology, Spirit Afternoons, etc Two of my sons are at top high schools now and my son at PBS loves it there. Parents are friendly and this is a family school where character is taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

This school has had many changes for the better. Quality education, high standards, great administration and teachers. Lots of homework but it is ok with me because my eldest got into the best high school. Family involvement could be more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2007

Wonderful 'family' school for my kids. Students get into great high schools. Dedicated faculty and principal. New computer lab and lots of renovating inside and outside going on. Commited to excellence. I am very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

This is a great school, I went there for my elementary years, from 1st grade to 8th and graduated in the class of 2005. For me, it had become a 2nd home to me. I really enjoyed the friends I made and the home the school provided from home. I now benefit from what i learned there as a student, im number 5 out of 700 students in my high school :]
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2005

Catholic School. Quality of academic education not up to par with other catholic schools, and even some public schools. Not much extracurricular activities. Limited facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 57% 1%
Hispanic 33% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 11%
Black 3% 6%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
White 0% 26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Miss Maria Cunanan
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

307 South Occidental Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90057
Phone: (213) 382-3345

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pilgrim School
Los Angeles, CA


Equitas Academy Charter
Los Angeles, CA


Mid-Wilshire Christian
Los Angeles, CA



New Covenant Academy
Los Angeles, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT