Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 542
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Paul The Apostle
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
The classes are large- every class is just over 30 students. 1 teacher and 1 aid in every class. Some teachers are really good but the level of integrity, honesty and fairness is dependent on your socioeconomic level. The wealthy kids can get away with a lot of misbehavior and there is a problem with the constant bullying.

St. Paul The Apostle
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
The classrooms are just to large to be able to teach effectively. Many of the children, get lost in all the confusion of the classroom.


St. Paul The Apostle 3

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
My eldest child struggled socially at the school but she graduated. The cliques are pretty strong at this school. And they gang up against someone often. My second child came home one day and declared that she would not return to the school- she went to another private school and that opened my eyes to what is available in terms of education. My third child was having nightmares about the bullying from her classmates. I complained to the teachers and the principle- nothing was done. We just decided to leave and not deal with it anymore.

St. Paul The Apostle 5

Posted February 05, 2015
- a parent
St. Paul's is a really great school academically and has a lovely community of families. The faculty is constantly striving to improve and incorporate new ways of teaching. Are there a few teachers who have lost their inspiration? Yes, of course, but you find that everywhere. We love the strong tradition and the willingness to be innovative. The former principal, Sr. Stella, was a gem -- an amazing spiritual leader and a great administrator. We are thrilled she is still around campus. The new principal seems really great as well. He is enthusiastic, a very spiritual man, and has a good vision of how to continue the tradition and innovation at St. Paul's into the next part of the 21st century. In addition to all of this, the families are really nice. There is more of a range of economic backgrounds than many people think and it is a place where you can find your little niche of friends and enjoy your time there.

St. Paul The Apostle 3

Posted August 06, 2014
- a parent
The school is strong in academics. The community is not warm or welcoming. Bullying is a huge problem at the school especially by the girls. The girls are mean and their moms are even meaner. . Sad that a Catholic school allows bullying to happen. They tried to implement an anti-bullying program but it did not do any good. The teachers are nice but some of the people who work directly with the children are so rigid and hard to deal with. Their is no diversity at the school. Many wealthy parents who think they run the school. We are glad to be out of there.


St. Paul The Apostle 4

Posted May 24, 2014
- a parent
Very good academically--I wrote the review above where I said "academics seem good". That was 3 or 4 years ago. Now I would say it is very good academically. Some students transfered in from good public schools (api 900) and found St Paul's harder. I am impressed at what my daughter is learning-- complex numbers and algebra in 6th grade. As for my comments about the parents social class-- Our daughter likes the school. She has enough friends, though it took a couple of years. It depends on what you are like- we (the parents) are shy and not the best at making friends ourselves. For some people even though not rich it would be fine. And a bunch of parents are friendly towards me. I don't know anyone well but I haven't made a big effort either. As for the review "This is a very old fashion traditional catholic school", I think it is exagerrated though partly true. This is not a Catholic school from the 50s (probably nowhere is, since almost none of the teachers are nuns). The very long serving and elderly principal is retiring this year (2014) and changes may be in store.

St. Paul The Apostle 3

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
This is a very old fashion traditional catholic school in many ways. Many legacy families who are happy to keep things as they were back when they were in this very school treasure the past and keep in alive for better and worse. There is still coloring inside the lines, and all the kids art projects look basically the same. Not a lot of space for the individual to spread his or her wings and fly. Behavior cards (green yellow orange red etc) used, tardies still punished severely with children being held out of class with the nun/principal even if their parents were the ones who got them there late--lets face it, kids don't walk to school and make themselves late these days. Lots of emphasis on tradition, but not enough on progression. Remains to be seen if culture change will come with the updates in the campus itself. Handwriting and coloring inside the lines may not be the best foundation for life in the 21 century for this generation. Parent involvement great in fundraising etc, but the school is has cliques, bullies, and there is a clear pecking order here amongst the parents, and well as with the administration.

St. Paul The Apostle 1

Posted March 29, 2012
- a community member
This is a school that you DO NOT want to send your children. I graduated from this travesty last year, and although it may look like the perfect, nice environment for your children, it is not. The upper school science and music programs are atrocious, and the entire staff is mediocre at best. I learned Spanish for nine years there and did not even pass a Spanish I entrance exam. There are barley any sports and extracurricular activities offered, and the coaches are mostly parents that play their own children. No one cares about one another, as there is no "family like" bond as advertised. People are always excluded and cliques are always present. Bullying occurs constantly and nothing is ever done about it. I received an education with many fundamental holes in it, and it in no way prepares students for high school. There are no electives or schedule choices for upper grade students, and the student council is merely a popularity contest. The mothers are extremely mean and excluding, and this school is merely a tool in the Catholic aristocracy. All of these other reviews are from parents, but hear it from the horse's mouth that this school stunk. DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILDREN HERE.


St. Paul The Apostle 5

Posted April 30, 2011
- a community member
This school gave me the inspiration and educational foundation that has helped me become a successful doctor. It is an excellent school that guarantees your child's success.

St. Paul The Apostle 5

Posted April 29, 2011
- a parent
This is an amazing school with a thorough academic program and a excellent teachers. It has a large amount of resources and a great array of associated programs. I have known many students at this school that have become doctors, lawyers, PhDs, or have achieved other great successes. This school will help your child on the road to greatness.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Paul The Apostle
1536 Selby Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90024
(310) 474-1588
Last modified St. Paul The Apostle is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Paul The Apostle Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top