Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cleophas Oliver Learning Academy

Private | K-5 | 28 students

 
 

Living in Los Angeles

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $210,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,220.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2009

I love this school my son has learned so much its amazing!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

All of my children have attended this school over the last ten years. All of my childern have excelled enough that I felt compelled to write this review. My children were each placed on the honor roll in middle school. My childrens teachers were always open to my opinion and thats important to me ! my youngest child was born with a disability and never once did they treat him with anything but concern. That makes a mother feel at ease Thank You ! Thank You! I will always be great ful and continue to volunteer for years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

this was a great school. i went there for about 8 years and i am a straight a student. this is a great school. -Stefanie Jordan
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2009

My son has went to this school since he was about 4 years old. I can say that as a parent I feel very bad due to the fact that my child is in the 5th grade and I am thinking about putting my child back a grade because he is not reading on a 5th grade level. As a parent and a loving mother I should have removed my child from this school. If I had another child this would be the last place on earth where I would send my child or any other child. This is my son's last year there and I would never take him back there even if they offered me money to come back. Sincerly yours, A very loving and concerned parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

This is an excellent school. I have never seen such growth in my son. The teachers are caring and excellent. I have never seen the place 'sad' or 'messy'. They dont make the children eat outside in the cold, only on nice sunny days. There is an indoor area where they eat when its cold weather. I am proud to have my son there, learning so many things, quickly and he never experienced that at the other schools he was at. My mother is a teacher, and I know in my heart this is an excellent school. I only have to listen to my son's growth every day, learning new things to know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

i love the school because my daughter when my daughter attended she was really learning because when we moved out of state and went to another school they moved her to the 1st grade and she was in the kindergarden, so that alone lets you know that the school is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2004

I am a student that attended this school. I went there from 1998-2000 and the time I been there I learned alot from each teacher that work there at the time. Education came before anything else, I was happy to go there. Everybody was welcome if they visit, went, or worked there. The friends I went to school there are still my friends till this day and I am in the 11th grade now so I think Cleophas Oliver was a great school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 19, 2003

This is a very sad place. The toddler room smells like urine all the time. There is no place for the children to eat when it is cold, they have to sit outside and freeze. Some of the teachers have less than 12 units required to work in a school, one teacher who I know personally was working under someone else's units and the school never checked or turned their heads. I recently saw one of the so-called 'teachers' working at chucky cheese as a cashier. They have more children there than what the law requires, and they constantly move children around to circumvent the law. I am sad that I subjected my son to this environment as well as ashamed. There are more decent and loving environments to place you child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 100% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 52%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. stacey jenkins
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1902 West Florence Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90047
Phone: (323) 751-3906

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Citizen Learning Academy
Los Angeles, CA


Young Achiever's Center
Los Angeles, CA




KIPP Empower Academy
Los Angeles, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT