Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


First Street Elementary School 4

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
I like that some of the teachers that I had the pleasure of volenteering for were very attentive to each individual and had great control of the classroom. There way of teaching was to me a wonderful suprise because of how the children adapted and enjoyed it.

First Street Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
with the exception of one teacher I think all the teachers that I've had the pleasure of meeting they are excellent and yes very effective


First Street Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
I have to admit that at first I thought it was outrageous amount, but when I saw how well my child did I was really impressed and I wouldn't change a thing .

First Street Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
Yes i do. Some of these teachers have such an effective way of making the students thrive with persistence. eagerness to do better and they love the rewards

First Street Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
Yes I do very much so with the exception of one single teacher who showed me as a parents that if a child has an issue she was uncaring in my eyes she was more like she didn't have time for this. But all that done and said Yes the school develops respect with the great tough and strict teachers that we need. Love the tough, strict teachers


First Street Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
Yes just as I mentioned in the prevous topic both go hand in hand. In compassion and honesty, and Integrity

First Street Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
It's getting better, it all start at the top. What I'm trying to say is, from the Principal to the staff, the teachers and fo course Parents. I am exceptionally pleased with the Principal at First Street School, Mr. Navar who seems to really care for the childs well being as well as there academics and rally listens to parents.

First Street Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 09, 2007
- a parent
This is a really good school my kids loved going here. We recently moved to south gate and no one school over here compares to this school. This school gives alot of love to there students.


First Street Elementary School 4

Posted September 01, 2007
- a parent
I love this school since my kids started going to first st. elemantary they just have a boost to learn the teachers pay so much attention to them. and my kids are exited to go back to school. first st is the best

First Street Elementary School 4

Posted September 17, 2004
- a teacher
Children at this school benefit from a dedicated professional staff that strives to provide a safe and challenging educational environment. Although located in a predominantly low-income area, First Street is one of the safest and best organized elementary in the state. Parents and community members are welcome and are supported by a variety of continuing education programs. As a learn school, all stakeholders have a voice in how the school is run and provide leadership within the community. A great school for all children.

Nearby schools

First Street Elementary School
2820 East First Street, Los Angeles, CA  90033-3636
(323) 269-0138
Last modified First Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top