Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
70 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Star Prep Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
The peer group is fantastic as kids are working together to find their way. The staff supports the students with creative ways to build character.

Star Prep Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
Zahir Robb has been so passionate towards his efforts to help my son as Head of School. He has made this school what it is. The addition of Tery Arnold has been great as she brings a lot to the school as well. A great team.


Star Prep Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
Thomas Valencia is great, Christine Bruno is wonderful, Mr. C builds kids self confidence, I could go on and on about this great staff. They have always worked to find the best teachers.

Star Prep Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
I like that the school talks a lot about perseverance and how you can grow through struggle. They don't hand you answers, they make my child work for them.

Star Prep Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
They really support the kids to grow both as students and individuals. The kids care about each other and the greater world around them.


Star Prep Academy 5

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
My child has transformed over the last three years. His curiosity has been met with answers and more questions to get him to push beyond what he already knows. Zahir Robb is the best leader any school could wish for and teacher Thomas Valencia is fantastic. These are just two highlights from an amazing, caring staff.

Star Prep Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
The leadership at the school was amazing. Mr. Robb made it possible for my child to find their place and succeed.

Star Prep Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
The school does a great job of building character education into the curriculum, but not in an oppressive manner that the kids would reject.


Star Prep Academy 5

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
Star Prep Academy has really provided a foundation for success for my child. Now that he is in college, I can see the impact the school had on his academic and social development. He is well adjusted and happy with himself and where he is today. I was nervous about having him sent to such a small school, but in the end, the opportunities were amazing for any program, let alone a school of their size. I am so happy we made the choice to send him to Star and wish he had done it sooner.

Star Prep Academy 5

Posted June 01, 2015
- a community member
We are really impressed by what STAR Prep Academy has been able to offer despite its small size. Our daughter has been intellectually stimulated and academically challenged by her coursework, which this year has included Zoology, Philosophy and Creative Writing in addition to English, Algebra and Geography. The teachers, staff and administration are smart, but also kind and caring and go above and beyond to provide an enriching environment for their students. The parents are also very supportive of the school and do a great deal to enhance school offerings. Elementary school parents interested in a small and creative learning environment for their middle schoolers should definitely check it out.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Star Prep Academy
1518 S. Robertson Blvd., Los Angeles, CA  90035
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. (310) 842-8808
Last modified Star Prep Academy is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Top