Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Public charter
Los Angeles, CA
Students enrolled: 401
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Xinaxcalmecac Academia Semillas Del Pueblo School 1

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
How do this school got a 1 rating???why are parents gave good reviews while their kids can't even do simple math or language art?

Xinaxcalmecac Academia Semillas Del Pueblo School 1

Posted May 15, 2014
- a community member
Check out the schools near West LA, Brentwood and the Palisades. Almost all of them have a 9 or 10. You guys need to think outside the box. Even though I have not been there, I know by reviews that this is the last school you would want to go to.


Xinaxcalmecac Academia Semillas Del Pueblo School 5

Posted March 14, 2014
- a teacher
Official News : API will be suspended this year and next year by decision of the California State Board of Education - schools must have local measures instead.

Xinaxcalmecac Academia Semillas Del Pueblo School 5

Posted September 22, 2013
- a parent
Im a parent at Academia Semillas. I have a daughter in kindergarten and I love the Nauhtl and Spanish teachings. I hope they bring back Chinese. It pushes parents to be involved in your children's life by having many meetings and emphasizing the importance of encouragement at home. I recommend this school to every body. I know LACOE should be proud of having this school in their district.

Xinaxcalmecac Academia Semillas Del Pueblo School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
At Semilla s my children are instructed and encouraged to become what an International Baccalaureate Learner is. The IB student profile is a risk taker, communicator, well balanced, caring, reflective, and open minded. They are truly building them to be leaders.The teachers have been directed by an administration that values tradition and works collectively. Semilla s was able to speed through the process of becoming an IB school because the school was already structured in a circular (collaborative) way. In addition to this, the students education is supplemented with Indigenous circular values, teachings, and language in Nahuatl which is a large American Native language that is spoken traditionally throughout North America. The children at Semillas also receive reflective teachings from other native nations. My children come home excited about Nahuatl and teachings from the Hopi, Zuni, Navajo, Tongva, Shoshoni, Chumash, Maya, Zapoteca, Perepucha, Tarahumara, Inca, and more. My children are receiving an incomparable education. I receive a rubric at the start of each unit, along with it the focus inquiry, and the expected final project that needs to to be accomplish.


Xinaxcalmecac Academia Semillas Del Pueblo School 1

Posted December 01, 2011
- a parent
It's true the school is far from teaching students anything about leadership. The school is overcrowded, and not well organized. The teachers are great, staff is unprofessional, those who think they are leaders are far from it, and the school is a mess. I believed in the school, and its intentions to continue to teach dual languages, our culture, and roots. I trusted this school with my children, but they failed miserably in promoting independent thinking. The school is test driven. One more thing, the school does have a lice problem. The person who wrote "an uneducated idiotic bigot" is a staff from Semillas, and so this is what you have to deal with. We are simply giving our opinions from a parents perspective, and should be respected without being attacked. My daughter was always getting sent home with lice notices. She was infected many time, now in her new school she hasn't had a problem.

Xinaxcalmecac Academia Semillas Del Pueblo School 5

Posted November 27, 2011
- a parent
Great school, if your looking for the traditional LAUSD school this isn't your choice. This is not a test driven school and encourages kids to be independent thinkers.

Xinaxcalmecac Academia Semillas Del Pueblo School 5

Posted November 19, 2011
- a community member
The lice comment was posted on Sept 07 an uneducated idiotic bigot and I can imagine what the posters children are like. Thank god my children won't have engage with them there anymore.


Xinaxcalmecac Academia Semillas Del Pueblo School 1

Posted September 24, 2011
- a parent
Worst School EVER! Beware of poor leadership. No follow up by any administrator. We are truly disappointed with the quality of education provided by this school.

Xinaxcalmecac Academia Semillas Del Pueblo School 0
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
they have teachers who really care about the students. Teachers are not just there to collect a paycheck

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Xinaxcalmecac Academia Semillas Del Pueblo School
4736 Huntington Drive South, Los Angeles, CA  90032
(323) 352-3148
Last modified Xinaxcalmecac Academia Semillas Del Pueblo School is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Xinaxcalmecac Academia Semillas Del Pueblo School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top