Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

KIPP Academy of Opportunity

Charter | 5-8 | 356 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 28, 2009

I agree with the post from 3/2/09. I am a 5th grade parent, and my child does ok as well. But at KIPP KAO all praise goes to the star students. These are the students who attend field trips, and receive extra incentives. Sometimes, it leaves a student feeling defeated. The teacher's set high achieveing students apart from the others, it is not unusual to go to a class a find A/B students on one side of the class, and C/D students on the other side. The teacher;s often make examples out of the students who are not star, (no one wants to be like.....she is not doing well), or (who do you think will get a beter grade.....or....). I think the goal of the program is good, however KIPP KAO needs to recognize that students are motivated differently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

My experience w/KIPP is at an OKAY point, yes my child has done well since attending this school back in 5th grade. Now a 7th grader, I know my child loves the school but I have notice the school and it's goal has leaned more towards the star students and that bothers me. Me being a parent of a child that hold between a 3.0 and a 3.4 GPA, I just feel they should not allow the kids to feel a discomfort. I am in it to praise my child and others for their hard work but let not leave behind the other children that has tried to do their best. especially if their is no behavioral problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

Im 9th grader and im the first class to graduate from KIPP KAO and the school has prepare me to do every well in high school plus in life. KAO is one the best school out there and if you spend your child there you will not regret it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2008

My child is a fifth grader at KAO and I have worked for LAUSD for 8 years and out of the 90 middle schools in LAUSD KAO outperforms no less than 80.Keep in mind it has only been around since '03.My child is as happy as I have ever seen him.The behavior issues at other schools are dealt with in a better way than I have ever seen.I hear alot of comments about the number of hours they spend in school and we as Americans have to stop making excuses and get back to being one of the top educations systems in the world. We cannot successfully compete with countries like Japan if we don't set our sights as high as possilbe.Not only does my son love the experience he is learning more about responsibility and community.He misses school when he is away.As for me and mine I support KAO fully.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

My child has been at Kipp since the 5th grade and he is now in the 8th grade. I am sure my son will be ready for 9th grade, if he can graduate from Kipp. The curiculum is hard, but they give the kids the resources that they need to accomplish their goals. It is totally up to the individual child how far they will go. My son would love for me to take him out of Kipp, but as a single parent raising boys, my motto is there is no shortcuts in life, deal with it! To all parents thinking about putting your child in a school like Kipp, I advise you to read not only parent reviews, but also reviews of former Kipp students. Also, visit the school, you will see that they have a tremenous amount of students that went on to great boarding, private and charter high schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

My child attends KIPPAO, overall I believe the structure of the school is good. I believe if other schools would start to model themselves after this style of teaching we would see a great deal of improvement in our children and their approach to education. But there are a couple of setbacks that I've noticed in the current school year. There seems to be a great deal of behavioral and disciplinary problems here. My child has come home with complaints of substitute teachers leaving in tears, student's claiming gang affiliations and other disturbing behaviors. As for the teachers at this school there are some very dedicated teachers, but I have had the experience of dealing with a couple who left a lot to be desired. I believe this school has the right idea, and needs to focus on the quality of students being admitted. My rating is 5.5.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

KIPP is an outstanding goal orientated school. I love the teachers commitment and grassroots approach to not only teaching but also incorporating the parents. KIPP is an ideal school environment giving the students the challenges needed to be competitive not only in high school but in life. I only hope that LAUSD begin to model their schools after this outstanding example. You will not find a deeper commitment from the school director, teachers and the students themselves. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2007

This school is the best school ever! I will say it is a rigorous program but the children will definitely benefit in the end. I am glad I made the decision to place my child here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

I'd give KIPP Academy of Opportunity a 9. I'd give this rate because as a student, the teachers give us a hands-on experience that keeps us interested while they teach! The teachers are close and they get to know the students! And most importantly, the teachers are not just teachers! But they are our consolers, our therapists, and our friends!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2006

Very challenging program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2005

Everyone is united around the same goal. Work hard. Be nice. No shortcuts. No excuses. Do whatever it takes. Look for a solution... so all of our kids can go to college.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted October 21, 2005

My son came to this very shy, with no initiative. After attending two years, he has become very goal oriented. He is now clear the sky is the limit, and is very eager to go to school. Some of the teachers make it apparent in thier action, their true dedication. I love the change in my son's attitude toward learning. My has been in public, private, and now this charter school, and I can see he striving for excellence. The academic program is above level, and the best I've seen in this area. The extracurricular activities are choosen by the the child, and are numerous depending on the childs interests. Parental involvement is encouraged
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2005

Unbelievable individual attention, wide range of music, art and sports education and plenty of extracurricular activities, such as, drama, chess and the like. Parents are apparently very active in the daily school life of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2005

I think Kipp Academy is an extrodinary school. The school is very structured academically. The Kipp program makes each student accountable for the actions by teaching them team work, and responsibility. I love this school. I believe that the public school system should adopt 'KAO's' philosopy, to help more students to be successful in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2005

The best decision I could have made for my child. Excellent school, excellent teachers, excellent environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2004

Kipp has achieved in attaining my daughter's interest. She is excelling in her studies and has maintained enthusiasm. I am very satisfied with the staff and the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

789

Change from
2012 to 2013

-34

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

789

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-34

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
40%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
60%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females58%
Males61%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students60%
Females58%
Males61%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students76%
Females74%
Males77%
African American76%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students44%
Females43%
Males46%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability46%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only45%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate32%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate39%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate72%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students36%
Females35%
Males37%
African American34%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability36%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only36%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate22%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)39%
Parent education - college graduate22%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate61%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females54%
Males47%
African American49%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)51%
Parent education - college graduate45%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students55%
Females52%
Males58%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate64%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students65%
Females64%
Males67%
African American63%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state58%

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females60%
Males67%
African American61%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state58%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students64%
Females58%
Males68%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state50%

Science

All Students93%
Females88%
Males97%
African American93%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)95%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 86% 7%
Hispanic 11% 51%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
White 0% 27%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Nickia Ross-Greene
Fax number
  • (323) 778-0162

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7019 South Van Ness Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90047
Website: Click here
Phone: (323) 778-0125

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Citizen Learning Academy
Los Angeles, CA



Young Achiever's Center
Los Angeles, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT