Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
47 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


KIPP Academy Of Opportunity 1

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are really trying, but the staff CANNOT handle the students there. The dean, Mr. Washington seems too stressed out to do his job well. My child doesn't even want to go to school because of the bullying by other students. I don't even feel safe going to this campus with the number of fights and problems they have. I will NOT recommend this school ever again!

KIPP Academy Of Opportunity
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
This school doesn't even care whether the students complete their work. I have asked for my child's work, emailed teachers and don't so much as get a response.


KIPP Academy Of Opportunity
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
The students at this school do not respect parents, staff, each other or themselves. Stay away from this school.

KIPP Academy Of Opportunity
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
The students fight very often. I've even had a child run full speed into my arm, chasing another student. And the staff member never even acknowledged this.

KIPP Academy Of Opportunity
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
Children aren't disciplined when they are dishonest or take other people's things. There is no consequence for many behaviors.


KIPP Academy Of Opportunity 1

Posted April 03, 2016
- a community member
I worked as a substitute. The classes were dirty, student screamed and curse at the staff. No one attempted the work. I was threatened three times and then sent home when a student jumped on my back and threatened to shoot me, because I took a belt he was whipping two female students with in the classroom. Shut this school down!

KIPP Academy Of Opportunity 1

Posted November 25, 2014
- a parent
I've been at this school for 4 years and it has gotten worse each year. This year is the worse by far. EVERY teacher left after the 2013-2014 year, including Ms. Patel. There is no discipline. There are numerous fights every day. There is no consequence for wrongdoing. There don't even have detention anymore. I have sent numerous emails to the school "leader", admins, teachers and the executive board. I would STRONGLY urge you to not go to this school or, at the very least, just show up and see for yourself. Go to the office and see how the kids act and decide for yourself. If I could do it over again, I would NOT choose this school for my child.

KIPP Academy Of Opportunity 4

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
This is my 6th grade daughter's first year at KAO and i am impressed with the academics for sure. Her teacher are very involved and I NEVER have an issue with communication. Some of the office staff could stand some attitude tweaking, but for the most part...I can't complain.


KIPP Academy Of Opportunity 5

Posted January 07, 2014
- a community member
Great school with hard working staff that is committed to their KIPPsters. They go above and beyond to make sure their students get to and through college.

KIPP Academy Of Opportunity 5

Posted February 24, 2013
- a parent
KIPP Academy of opportunity has an excellent curriculum. I have a 5th grader that has learned so much in such a small amount of time. My daughter transferred out of Bennett Kew School in Inglewood with all A's. She says she felt like she didn't know anything when she arrived at KIPP. She has different teachers for every subject. They change classes like high school students. I love the teachers! They are beautiful, professional & young with fresh ideas & learning techniques. Very diverse staff. My daughter is excited every day and she teaches me what she has learned. She never wants to leave when I pick her up. They learn Science, History, Math, English, Art, PE. They have after school program for homework/dance/acting/karate. (according to grade) Reading Program rocks! The school shares the building with YMCA. You enter on 99th Street/Vermont. Look for the banner at the side entrance. It is a closed campus. Enrollment is easy and I am well informed about my child's progress. They wear uniforms and are strict so order the correct uniform shirts/jackets/pants. NO EXCEPTIONS! I love the school because I see big improvements in my daughter's passion for learning.

Nearby schools

KIPP Academy Of Opportunity
7019 South Van Ness Avenue, Los Angeles, CA  90047-1659
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. (323) 778-0125
Last modified KIPP Academy Of Opportunity is a Charter school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top